Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Brigadoon, Western Australia
    Posts
    899

    Default 2 versions of Applications folder?

    Just recently I've noticed that when I install an app it doesn't update both version of the Applications Folder. I've just done a compare of the User folder versus the folder under Macintosh HD. Generally the ones in HD are fine but the copy in the User folder are corrupt.

    Also if I get an app that opens it's own window with an arrow to drag the app to the apps folder it only goes in the Macintosh HD folder. Whereas if I drag it down to the app folder in the dock it only goes in the User app folder. What is going on?
    iMac 27" i7, 16GB RAM Late 2009 running El Capitan, iPhone 6 64GB and iPad Air 128GB WiFi + 4G, ATV2

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    A quiet suburb in Melbourne
    Posts
    20

    Default

    I've got the same going on:

    home/applications


    macintoshhd/applications


    I reckon the apps in the Home folder are only installed for this particular user, while the apps under Macintosh HD are available to all users, but Team Fortress 2 is missing from home/appilcations, and it went through the same install method as the other Steam games.

  3. #3

    Default

    My HD Application Folder is empty and all the apps are in the users App Folder and shared in all the accounts on the Mac, so different again....
    27inch 2011 i7 12GB Ram iMac
    What Else Could I Ask For?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    A quiet suburb in Melbourne
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Hmm I might have an idea regarding my situation.
    Since the only icons contained in the home/applications folder are games bought on Steam, I'm thinking that's the location where Steam creates the game shortcuts if you select the option to do so during installation.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Outback Queensland
    Posts
    2,061

    Default

    There's two separate Applications folders.

    The one in your user folder installs the applications just for your use - another user on your computer won't (necessarily) have access to those applications. The other is a global applications folder and all users will have access.

    If you want to be sure an application is available to all users then you have to make sure you install it in the global applications folder. Different applications will do this in different ways.

    If there's only one user on your computer then it probably doesn't matter much which folder something gets installed into.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    A quiet suburb in Melbourne
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Ah thanks for clearing that up.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Brigadoon, Western Australia
    Posts
    899

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glacierdave;
    There's two separate Applications folders.

    The one in your user folder installs the applications just for your use - another user on your computer won't (necessarily) have access to those applications. The other is a global applications folder and all users will have access.

    If you want to be sure an application is available to all users then you have to make sure you install it in the global applications folder. Different applications will do this in different ways.

    If there's only one user on your computer then it probably doesn't matter much which folder something gets installed into.
    Thanks for that. The problem with that is with updates. I noticed, for instance, that Handbrake in my user folder was a newer version than the Mac HD folder. Presumably because I dragged the update into my Dock app folder. But it didn't automatically update the main one.

    Next update I'm going to do the reverse and see if it updates my dock folder which I presume is from my user folder. Maybe I should trash the dock one and make a new dock one from the Mac HD one and then always add apps to the main Mac HD folder and then hope it duplicates it in the dock folder. Will try it today and get back.
    iMac 27" i7, 16GB RAM Late 2009 running El Capitan, iPhone 6 64GB and iPad Air 128GB WiFi + 4G, ATV2

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Internet, WWW
    Posts
    4,422

    Default

    Unless you specifically place or install something in your Mac HD/ Applications folder nothing will automatically go in there, they are not linked in any way. Steam puts all it's apps into your user folder. An item in your dock can be located anywhere, it has nothing to do with where the app is located

  9. #9

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Brigadoon, Western Australia
    Posts
    899

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by moto51 View Post
    Unless you specifically place or install something in your Mac HD/ Applications folder nothing will automatically go in there, they are not linked in any way. Steam puts all it's apps into your user folder. An item in your dock can be located anywhere, it has nothing to do with where the app is located
    Maybe I wasn't clear. In the Dock I have a copy of the Applications folder. So are you saying that even though I put an app in the MacHD Application Folder it won't also be in the same Application Folder in the Dock on the right of the receding dotted lines? Do I need to put it in both to make sure they are both equal. Seems a little backward to me.
    iMac 27" i7, 16GB RAM Late 2009 running El Capitan, iPhone 6 64GB and iPad Air 128GB WiFi + 4G, ATV2

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Internet, WWW
    Posts
    4,422

    Default

    Sorry my bad didn't read it properly, yes if you have a folder to the right of the dotted line that is for the mac HD apps folder anything in it will be in the actual applications folder, same thing of you were to put the other apps folder in the dock

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hervey Bay
    Posts
    3,467

    Default

    It sounds to me like the shortcut in your dock is actually your User>Applications folder.
    In which case, adding or updating something to the MacHD Applications folder will have no bearing on the Applications shortcut in your dock as they are not linked in any way.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Brigadoon, Western Australia
    Posts
    899

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grfxninja;
    It sounds to me like the shortcut in your dock is actually your User>Applications folder.
    In which case, adding or updating something to the MacHD Applications folder will have no bearing on the Applications shortcut in your dock as they are not linked in any way.
    Yes I think that was the problem. I got rid of the Dock link and went to the root of the MacHD and dragged that Application Folder to the Dock. So should it now be ok to put it either in the main MacHD one or in the shortcut of that folder in the Dock and they will update correctly either way?
    iMac 27" i7, 16GB RAM Late 2009 running El Capitan, iPhone 6 64GB and iPad Air 128GB WiFi + 4G, ATV2

  13. #13

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Brigadoon, Western Australia
    Posts
    899

    Default

    This morning I installed an update for an app called WePrintServer. First I used Appzapper to remove the old version from the User App Folder, The MacHD App Folder and the Dock App Folder which is now a mirror of the MacHD App Folder. Then I installed WePrintServer. It didn't give me the option to drag it anywhere so it just installed it. So I checked the MacHD App Folder and the one in the Dock and it was in both. However it wasn't in the one under my User App Folder. Should I just get rid of the User one to save any confusion?
    iMac 27" i7, 16GB RAM Late 2009 running El Capitan, iPhone 6 64GB and iPad Air 128GB WiFi + 4G, ATV2

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NE Vic
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    Short answer - Yes. There is nothing to be got from having two copies of an app except pain. I only install apps into the root level Applications folder even though I have, for some reason unknown to me, a user level Applications folder too.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Outback Queensland
    Posts
    2,061

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by soulman View Post
    Short answer - Yes. There is nothing to be got from having two copies of an app except pain. I only install apps into the root level Applications folder even though I have, for some reason unknown to me, a user level Applications folder too.
    This is the default behaviour of OS X. The root level applications folder allows for global access to applications. The user level applications folder allows only for that user to access applications. This allows the computer to have different applications available to different users.

    This is how it's supposed to work.

    Applications installed in the root applications folder will be made available to all users in addition to the user level applications - through the wonders of symlinks and other underlying technologies, they'll all appear in the user level applications folder.

    (At least, that's my recollection of this from when I was doing my ACMT study - and just looking at my MBP now my root and user level apps folders are exactly the same but I KNOW some apps are installed at root level and some at user level.)

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NE Vic
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glacierdave View Post
    This is how it's supposed to work.

    Applications installed in the root applications folder will be made available to all users in addition to the user level applications - through the wonders of symlinks and other underlying technologies, they'll all appear in the user level applications folder.
    Yes, I understand why the two folders potentially exist. ~/Applications/ is not part of a recent standard install to my knowledge though, so I would disagree that it is the default behaviour of OS X, and, when some apps at some times have created one OMM, the folder has never contained links to anything in /Applications/. Your mileage obviously varies. Not sure why.

    ..and just looking at my MBP now my root and user level apps folders are exactly the same but I KNOW some apps are installed at root level and some at user level.)
    That doesn't actually make sense to me. If an app is installed in ~/Applications/, surely it would not appear in the root level folder. What would be the point?

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Outback Queensland
    Posts
    2,061

    Default

    OK, just went back and checked on a few things.

    There isn't a ~/Applications by default. The one that shows up in Finder is /Applications.

    Should really have checked more carefully before I posted I guess.

    Applications isn't one of the directories that has two version (one in root and one in user) although there are a number of other standard directories for which this is the case.

    Perhaps some of my confusion came from a previous install I had - at some point I did have a ~/Applications but I don't remember the context. Ah well...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •