Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

» Join the discussions, Register Now!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 34
  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    99

    Default Cool hack for Camera+ app

    Hey everyone, just read this neat little hack for the Camera+ app. Follow the instructions here to enable the volume buttons to be uses as the shutter button. Camera+ ‘Volume Snap’ rejected, but not quite!

    It works and it is awesome. I understand why Apple doesn't allow this, but I still like this hack. I just hope it sticks around.
    32GB iPhone 4, Apple TV, Macbook Pro Unibody 2.66GHz Early 2009 model, Mac Pro 2.66GHz Quad Core late 2007 model. I also have a 12" Powerbook G4 (My first Mac), White Macbook and a 20" iMac, but they are used by other family members.

  2. #2

    Default

    Just need the home button to take the photo (this might screw things up, so make the power button the photo taker but this might make it awkward... IDEA! Make the power button the home button and the home button the photo button.)

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    1,407

    Default

    Awesome!! This app is even better now!

  4. #4

    Default

    Cheers mate. This should have been the way the normal camera app worked out of the box!!! Its silly things like this that make people jailbreak their iphones and/or create hacks for apps. Apple will make their own bed in a few years with Android catching up so quickly.
    Last edited by torana355; 11th August 2010 at 03:07 AM.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Menai (Sth Sydney)
    Posts
    1,474

    Default

    Works!

    Awesome, best camera app for iPhone by a long way

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Moonta, SA
    Posts
    3,321

    Default

    I can't get it to work :-(
    Trades with, Huy, PatrickH, tkilik11, chris, Taezar, bennyling, Simo, stewiesno1, MissionMan, cgollner, napes, mechcon, lama323, snagage, ClockWork, Beau, Rasta, Freeze, Petecario, Simmo, Tokevmur, Beaner, thebookfreak58, Boddiz, neg2led, Foxy

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Menai (Sth Sydney)
    Posts
    1,474

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheKeddi View Post
    I can't get it to work :-(
    Im not using the latest version 1.2.1

    It may have been removed?

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Moonta, SA
    Posts
    3,321

    Default

    Yeah maybe. Bugga!
    Trades with, Huy, PatrickH, tkilik11, chris, Taezar, bennyling, Simo, stewiesno1, MissionMan, cgollner, napes, mechcon, lama323, snagage, ClockWork, Beau, Rasta, Freeze, Petecario, Simmo, Tokevmur, Beaner, thebookfreak58, Boddiz, neg2led, Foxy

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hervey Bay
    Posts
    3,467

    Default

    Nah, I have 1.2.1 and it works fine (iPhone 4 if it matters).

    Open Safari
    type camplus://enablevolumesnap into the address bar.
    Camera+ will open automatically and you should be right as rain.

    Before this, I used to switch between Camera+ and the native Camera app.
    Now, the native app will only be used for video.

    Camera+ doesn't do video does it?

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hobart, TAS
    Posts
    6,422

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grfxninja View Post
    Before this, I used to switch between Camera+ and the native Camera app.
    Now, the native app will only be used for video.
    Can anyone confirm that Camera+ does the whole "image metadata" thing like the inbuilt camera does?

    Specifically, camera name/model, location (!!), etc etc.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Menai (Sth Sydney)
    Posts
    1,474

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bennyling View Post
    Can anyone confirm that Camera+ does the whole "image metadata" thing like the inbuilt camera does?

    Specifically, camera name/model, location (!!), etc etc.
    Can confirm it does not record EXIF data

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hobart, TAS
    Posts
    6,422

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Balthazar View Post
    Can confirm it does not record EXIF data
    Which is why I'll be sticking to Camera.app - unless I need to take a super-stalker snap of someone

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Menai (Sth Sydney)
    Posts
    1,474

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bennyling View Post
    Which is why I'll be sticking to Camera.app - unless I need to take a super-stalker snap of someone
    Just wondering, what do you need the EXIF for? do you filter by this metadata?

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hobart, TAS
    Posts
    6,422

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Balthazar View Post
    Just wondering, what do you need the EXIF for? do you filter by this metadata?
    I don't explicitly need it per se - but if Apple designed the Camera in the iPhone to take pics with geolocation data attached, I see no reason why I should use an app that removes that particular feature (and showing people where I took photos in Photos.app is pretty damn impressive, IMHO).

    Besides, smart albums in iPhoto/Aperture can make pretty good use of this metadata.

    It's handy, but once again, not completely essential.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Menai (Sth Sydney)
    Posts
    1,474

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bennyling View Post
    I don't explicitly need it per se - but if Apple designed the Camera in the iPhone to take pics with geolocation data attached, I see no reason why I should use an app that removes that particular feature (and showing people where I took photos in Photos.app is pretty damn impressive, IMHO).

    Besides, smart albums in iPhoto/Aperture can make pretty good use of this metadata.

    It's handy, but once again, not completely essential.
    I agree, I have put in a feature request with the developer, Not something i really need for my 3Gs as i dont use the camera that much compared to my 40D but when i get a 4 or a 4Gs (or whatever next years model will be called) i can see myself using the improved camera a lot more.

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Moonta, SA
    Posts
    3,321

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grfxninja View Post
    Nah, I have 1.2.1 and it works fine (iPhone 4 if it matters).

    Open Safari
    type camplus://enablevolumesnap into the address bar.
    Camera+ will open automatically and you should be right as rain.

    Before this, I used to switch between Camera+ and the native Camera app.
    Now, the native app will only be used for video.

    Camera+ doesn't do video does it?


    It still won't work for me? I have an iphone4. Maybe I need to update the app first. Will try that.
    Trades with, Huy, PatrickH, tkilik11, chris, Taezar, bennyling, Simo, stewiesno1, MissionMan, cgollner, napes, mechcon, lama323, snagage, ClockWork, Beau, Rasta, Freeze, Petecario, Simmo, Tokevmur, Beaner, thebookfreak58, Boddiz, neg2led, Foxy

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Moonta, SA
    Posts
    3,321

    Default

    Woowoo! Got it to work! Had to update the app first. Thanks guys!!!
    Trades with, Huy, PatrickH, tkilik11, chris, Taezar, bennyling, Simo, stewiesno1, MissionMan, cgollner, napes, mechcon, lama323, snagage, ClockWork, Beau, Rasta, Freeze, Petecario, Simmo, Tokevmur, Beaner, thebookfreak58, Boddiz, neg2led, Foxy

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    85

    Default

    I've read on the developer blog that Camera+ would love to add the EXIF data however the current version of the SDK doesn't expose it to developers. They claimed they'd add it as soon as Apple allowed them too.
    2007 24" Ali iMac | iPhone 4 32Gb | iPad 3G 32Gb

    Me on paper (well on electronic sheets)

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Excellent work around...

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Posts
    1,233

    Default

    Apple seriously don't allow access to EXIF data via the SDK? That sucks. I *do* filter pictures according to EXIF data, so that puts a bit of a stick in the works for me. Camera+ is pretty awesome, I'd love to see it (or a similar app) do video with the tap to focus/separate exposure.
    If it is hidden, it is the flower - Zeami, Noh playwright

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •