Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 33
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    842

    Default Windoze 7 64 bit

    Hey all,

    I need to install Windoze on my MBP, and I have just noticed that the sales person has sold me the 64 bit version. Is this going to work with Virtual Box? I have a MBP 2.5GHz Core 2 Duo with 4GB RAM.

    Thanks!
    Jaali.com
    There's a fine line between genius and insanity. I have erased this line - Oscar Levant

  2. #2

    Default

    hardware wise you should be fine, the core 2 duo is a 64 bit processor
    so should handle windows 64 bit

    are you running snow leopard?
    iMac 21.5"| 13" MacBook Air | iPad 2 | Apple TV 3 | iPhone 4 | iPhone 4 | iPod HiFi | Drobo | 7D

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    842

    Default

    Arrgghhh... this is really annoying. I have tried VirtualMachine and Bootcamp, and neither of them will read the Windows disc.

    Any reason for this???
    Jaali.com
    There's a fine line between genius and insanity. I have erased this line - Oscar Levant

  4. #4

    Default

    sounds like a bad disc more than a problem with your system

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    394

    Default

    did boot camp assistant run and detect windows to install?

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    842

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gehenna View Post
    sounds like a bad disc more than a problem with your system
    It's a brand new disc - fresh out of the shrink wrap.

    Quote Originally Posted by kungfucamel View Post
    did boot camp assistant run and detect windows to install?
    No. Wouldn't even recognise there is a Windows disc
    Jaali.com
    There's a fine line between genius and insanity. I have erased this line - Oscar Levant

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia ;)
    Posts
    3,182

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaali View Post
    It's a brand new disc - fresh out of the shrink wrap.
    Sometimes there are just duds, joys of mass production.
    Many Shiny Toys with Apple Logos | Some Microsoft Toys too
    If it has an engine or a heartbeat it's going to cost you.
    Drive a VW?

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaali View Post
    It's a brand new disc - fresh out of the shrink wrap.
    That doesn't mean anything. There were a few bung Snow Leopard discs at release if I recall correctly. Just because it was new and sealed doesn't mean the disc isn't bad itself.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Perth, W.A
    Posts
    215

    Default

    I'm having the same problem.

    Are you able to boot of the cd? (by pressing option before the chime during a reboot and selecting the CD image)

    I can use this method to see my XP cd, but not the Windows 7 cd
    The more money we give to the "religion", the happier our Thetans are ... eventually enabling us to travel to some planet of which I can never remember the name of, once we've given enough money.
    At least, that's how much I gathered from this fruitcake on the street outside the local Scientology "church".

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Murwillumbah NSW
    Posts
    493

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gehenna View Post
    There were a few bung Snow Leopard discs at release if I recall correctly.
    There were - I got one of them (replaced by Apple no questions asked so it must have been a known issue).

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    842

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GraphicsMonkey View Post
    I'm having the same problem.

    Are you able to boot of the cd? (by pressing option before the chime during a reboot and selecting the CD image)

    I can use this method to see my XP cd, but not the Windows 7 cd
    Nup - it won't recognise it. So I figure it's a dead disc, until I stuck it in the PC laptop, and it worked straight away.

    Something is wrong here... any further ideas?
    Jaali.com
    There's a fine line between genius and insanity. I have erased this line - Oscar Levant

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    842

    Default

    Do you think I'd be able to download an ISO soft version of it, and just use the legit licence?
    Jaali.com
    There's a fine line between genius and insanity. I have erased this line - Oscar Levant

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Perth, W.A
    Posts
    215

    Default

    Not sure, but I have the same problem. Must be something to do with it being 64bit or something i feel?

    anyone else have any suggestions?
    The more money we give to the "religion", the happier our Thetans are ... eventually enabling us to travel to some planet of which I can never remember the name of, once we've given enough money.
    At least, that's how much I gathered from this fruitcake on the street outside the local Scientology "church".

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    480

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaali View Post
    Do you think I'd be able to download an ISO soft version of it, and just use the legit licence?
    Yeah you should be able to. Just make sure it's the right version (ie Home/Professional/Ultimate). Whether it's 32 or 64 bit shouldn't matter the serial numbers are the same anyway.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Outback Queensland
    Posts
    2,061

    Default

    Be aware that Windows install keys are often locked to the class of license - i.e. an install key on a retail box version of Windows won't necessarily work with an OEM licensed version.

    This is definitely the case with XP. I've also seen it with Vista but haven't yet seen it with Win 7.

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    842

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glacierdave View Post
    Be aware that Windows install keys are often locked to the class of license - i.e. an install key on a retail box version of Windows won't necessarily work with an OEM licensed version.

    This is definitely the case with XP. I've also seen it with Vista but haven't yet seen it with Win 7.
    I reckon that's why. He's sold me an OEM version, not a retail version. For f%*k's sake!
    Jaali.com
    There's a fine line between genius and insanity. I have erased this line - Oscar Levant

  17. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaali View Post
    I reckon that's why. He's sold me an OEM version, not a retail version. For f%*k's sake!
    That doesn't matter is the disk is broken.

    An OEM version is the same as a retail version minus the packaging.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Outback Queensland
    Posts
    2,061

    Default

    OEM or retail won't matter in terms of the disc reading in the drive. It will only matter when it comes time to enter your install key.

    Forgetting virtual machines and all the rest, if you just slap the disc in the drive can you access it in OS/X?

    There's no reason why you shouldn't be able to do this - certainly has no trouble with the XP, Vista and Win7 discs I've used on my MBP anyway.

    If nothing else, doing this test should help you figure out where the problem lies - if it doesn't work, you may actually have the beginnings of a hardware fault to do with your optical drive.

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    the 'gong
    Posts
    1,977

    Default

    A little OT...

    Last night I installed the 64-bit version of Windows 7 (over the 32 bit beta) on my 24" Al iMac only to find out that bootcamp would not install as 64 bit was not supported on my machine...

    Nice waste of a few hours!

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    842

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glacierdave View Post
    Forgetting virtual machines and all the rest, if you just slap the disc in the drive can you access it in OS/X?

    There's no reason why you shouldn't be able to do this - certainly has no trouble with the XP, Vista and Win7 discs I've used on my MBP anyway.

    If nothing else, doing this test should help you figure out where the problem lies - if it doesn't work, you may actually have the beginnings of a hardware fault to do with your optical drive.
    It won't read the disc at all... so are we now thinking it's my drive?

    Quote Originally Posted by avolve View Post
    A little OT...

    Last night I installed the 64-bit version of Windows 7 (over the 32 bit beta) on my 24" Al iMac only to find out that bootcamp would not install as 64 bit was not supported on my machine...

    Nice waste of a few hours!
    Great! Does this mean it won't work on my MBP either!?!
    Jaali.com
    There's a fine line between genius and insanity. I have erased this line - Oscar Levant

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •