Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Backing Up

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The Shire, Sydney
    Posts
    1,207

    Default

    Just a quick question,

    I am sending the PowerBook away to get fixed tomorrow, and I would like to know if I can just copy and paste my Home Folder onto my PowerMac for a just in case scenario? Would I be able to use the Home Folder on my PowerMac just like I do on my PowerMac, or will the permissions conflict? I have no real experience backing up OsX, however I believe this should work.

    Thanks for your help.

    -Andrew

    This is an email virus for Mac OS X. It works on the honor system. Please start deleting random files on your system and forward this message to everyone in your address book.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Geelong, Victoria
    Posts
    1,384

    Default

    It depends on how the file system stores the permissions. I don't believe they are actually stored with the files, but rather in the FAT (or similar)...

    You should be able to copy your files over though, and access them from the Power Mac.
    A basic copy will reset the permissions to suit the Power Mac.
    ...because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The Shire, Sydney
    Posts
    1,207

    Default

    Excellent, that is what I wanted to hear. Thanks.

    -Andrew

    This is an email virus for Mac OS X. It works on the honor system. Please start deleting random files on your system and forward this message to everyone in your address book.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Geelong, Victoria
    Posts
    1,384

    Default

    And for the record, if the permissions aren't reset, you can use Terminal to su as root and reset the owner/groups and change the permissions that way.
    But that shouldn't be necessary.
    ...because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Murwillumbah NSW
    Posts
    493

    Default

    Originally posted by paxtonandrew@Aug 5 2005, 08:21 PM
    I am sending the PowerBook away to get fixed tomorrow, and I would like to know if I can just copy and paste my Home Folder onto my PowerMac for a just in case scenario? Would I be able to use the Home Folder on my PowerMac just like I do on my PowerMac, or will the permissions conflict?
    If you are using Tiger on the PowerMac the best way to do this would be to use the new Migration Assistant (/Applications/Utilities) to import all the user settings off the PowerBook while it (the PB) is hooked up via Firewire.

    If you are running OSX prior to 10.4 the best way to do this would be to create a new user on the PowerMac that has the same username and password, then, copy all the folders across from the same user on the PowerBook.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,126

    Default

    carbon copy cloner anyone?

    just set up the two macs to be connected (either firewire or ethernet/airport). then use CCC to copy the selected items from the powerbook to the powermac.

    works a treat.


  7. #7

    Default

    interesting.

    now what if i wanted to make a full copy on an external harddrive?
    "Don't these talking monkeys know that Eden has enough to go around?" - Maynard

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Murwillumbah NSW
    Posts
    493

    Default

    Originally posted by W2ttsy@Aug 6 2005, 12:33 PM
    carbon copy cloner anyone?

    just set up the two macs to be connected (either firewire or ethernet/airport). then use CCC to copy the selected items from the powerbook to the powermac.

    works a treat.
    Has CCC been updated for Tiger yet? Last I heard it hadn't and Mr Bombich himself was saying that he wasn't considering Tiger compatibility a priority due to the new built-in software. I've used Migration Assistant a few times and its worked really well.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    911

    Default

    SilverKeeper does bootable backups.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    176

    Default

    CCC is Tiger compatible now! Just ran it 15 min ago to backup my main hard drive onto an external. As always, CCC does a prefect job.

    Highly recommended.

    -TAK

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •