Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    Last night I came across my old IIsi, given to me by a friend a while back. Thought I had chucked it, but fired it up to see what was on there. Yeah System 6.08! It's super fast on the IIsi (specs: 17MB/160MB HD, although only 8MB of RAM is recognised) - boots under 15 seconds, folder opening as fast as my P3 does with WinXP. It does take a longer time to quit programs whem compared to System 7.x, however.

    Was surprised at how many similarities System 6 shares with OS X - all-in-one control panel, and just the general simplicity and elegance the system has over when System 7 and 8 became increasingly more and more complex (and crash prone :P).

    One thing 6.08 can't do is run Pirates! - my most favourite game of all time (even have the original game with the cloth pirate map&#33 - you need System 5 for that one!

    Anyone else been running/using retro OSes?

    JB

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dee Why, Sydney
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    I run System 6.08 on my LCII. Its faster than my 2 Ghz Dell running Windows XP.
    Good. Fast. Cheap. Pick two...

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    Originally posted by LCGuy@Jul 7 2004, 03:51 PM
    I run System 6.08 on my LCII. Its faster than my 2 Ghz Dell running Windows XP.
    Wot you've got Far Cry running on your LCII?


  4. #4

    Default

    I've got an LCII boxed up in the closet. I'm not sure why I've never chucked it out. Who knows what system is on it; it's been so many years.

    That pizza box was sooooo sexy when it first came out!

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    226

    Default

    System 6 on a Macintosh Classic here!
    Mmmmm monochrome goodness.
    * Power Mac 867-DP/1.25/120+60
    * PowerBook 12" 1.33/768/80
    * Mac Classic 8/4/40 upgraded to Classic II 16/10/40
    * Mac SE/30 16/32/1GB with ethernet adapter
    * Newton MessagePad 2000

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    Nice. And, holding down command-option-X-O at startup on your Classic gives you System 6 stored on ROM goodness!

    JB

  7. #7

    Default

    I feel like bumping my performa 580CD down to 6.08. Can 6.08 run in it and where do I find an installer?
    PM G5 Dual 2.0, iMac DVSE 500, PM 5500/250, Performa 500, Classic, Mac Plus

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    The minimum system a Performa 580 can run is 7.1, owing to it requiring a system enabler that starts from this software release onwards.

    System 6.08 --> 7.5.5 can be downloaded from Apple's site for free.

    JB

  9. #9

    Default

    Originally posted by bYrd@Aug 31 2004, 12:45 PM
    The minimum system a Performa 580 can run is 7.1, owing to it requiring a system enabler that starts from this software release onwards.
    Thanks!
    PM G5 Dual 2.0, iMac DVSE 500, PM 5500/250, Performa 500, Classic, Mac Plus

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    No worries, although if you have a decent amount of RAM (24MB+, 32MB preferable) on your LC580, I'd go for System 8.1 - the UI is a little more slow than System 7.x, but it's much less crash-prone and works better when networked with an OS X Mac.

    Apple doesn't offer it as a free download of course, but look around ..

    JB

  11. #11

    Default

    Originally posted by bYrd@Jul 6 2004, 09:19 AM
    Was surprised at how many similarities System 6 shares with OS X - all-in-one control panel,
    One of my favourite things about OS 6, so glad they brought it back.
    2.5 GHz 15" MacBook Pro, 27" iMac, G4 Cube, 2 x Colour Classic, 840AV, iPhone, iPad

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dee Why, Sydney
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Originally posted by bYrd+Jul 7 2004, 10:24 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (bYrd @ Jul 7 2004, 10:24 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-LCGuy@Jul 7 2004, 03:51 PM
    I run System 6.08 on my LCII. Its faster than my 2 Ghz Dell running Windows XP.
    Wot you&#39;ve got Far Cry running on your LCII? [/b][/quote]
    I don&#39;t get it.....

    Anyhoo, i can&#39;t really say that anymore, i gave in and upped it to 7.1.
    Good. Fast. Cheap. Pick two...

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Atlantic Canada
    Posts
    533

    Default

    Originally posted by josh64@Aug 29 2004, 06:41 PM
    System 6 on a Macintosh Classic here&#33;
    Mmmmm monochrome goodness.
    mm same.. tho my classic is in a state of disarray right now.
    I'd rather be posting from an Apple //c

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Atlantic Canada
    Posts
    533

    Default

    Originally posted by Gothikon+Aug 31 2004, 08:04 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Gothikon @ Aug 31 2004, 08:04 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-bYrd@Jul 6 2004, 09:19 AM
    Was surprised at how many similarities System 6 shares with OS X - all-in-one control panel,
    One of my favourite things about OS 6, so glad they brought it back. [/b][/quote]
    oh yeah&#33;&#33;

    i just realised that System 7, 8 and 9 have that list of control panels instead of the one window thingy... heh i never use them much. i basically went from 6.08 to 10.2&#33;&#33;&#33;&#33;
    I'd rather be posting from an Apple //c

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •