Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    5,933

    Default Full Screen Firefox?

    My partner (who doesn't mind Mac but is a PC user), is using Firefox fullscreen on our HTPC Win 7 PC. Working rather nicely. So of course I go to try use it on my MBP, to discover that there doesn't appear to be a Fullscreen option. Unless I'm missing it, but of course pushing F11 on a MAC either turns your volume down or show the desktop if you do it with the FN key.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,998

    Default

    Are you sure there's no Full Screen item in the View menu?

    If not, then you can unbind expose from F11 and put it on some other key instead.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Inner Space
    Posts
    5,522

    Default

    I don't think there is (at least I couldn't find it).

    Tried on my wifes MacBook this morning (10.5.8, ff 3.5) and there is no menu option I could see and unbinding f11 from expose didn't do a thing.
    This opinion intentionally left blank.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Geelong, Victoria
    Posts
    154

    Default

    I tried looking for this feature a while back, but it doesn't seem to exist. I was hoping it would be included in Firefox 3.5, but, it never came to pass.

    I believe there may be some extensions available that will do the trick (again, this was from a while ago, so they may be now incompatible or removed from the Firefox website).

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northern Beaches , Sydney
    Posts
    2,989

    Default

    Unless I am missing something here , don't you just click on the little triangular box on the corner of the web page waaay down on the bottom right corner and drag it to the corner of the screen ?
    Shut down Firefox and it should remember this so everytime FF starts it automagically goes to full screen.

    Stewie
    Lotsa Macs - PM's , G3's , G4's & Powerbooks - Love 'em
    ----------------

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Inside your head
    Posts
    6,557

    Default

    mitty, tell your partner that MacOS doesn't do Windows-esque full screen for anything, they're just going to have to get used to that fact.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    973

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mitty View Post
    My partner (who doesn't mind Mac but is a PC user), is using Firefox fullscreen on our HTPC Win 7 PC. Working rather nicely. So of course I go to try use it on my MBP, to discover that there doesn't appear to be a Fullscreen option. Unless I'm missing it, but of course pushing F11 on a MAC either turns your volume down or show the desktop if you do it with the FN key.
    I just did full screen of FF3.5.3 on my iMac OS 10.5.8 by just clicking on the Green Maximise button top left and it went to full screen with Dock visible or the entire screen (except Menu bar) if Dock is set to Hide. Clicking the Green nipple again returned it to its original size previously set by the bottom right resize corner.
    iMac 27" 3.2Gb with 32Gb RAM, 2Tb Time Capsule & Airport Express,
    iPod 5.5 30g, iPhone 4, iPad 2, iPad Mini
    Bruji the best cataloguing programs for Mac OS & iOS

  8. #8

    Default

    The OP is talking about full screen, not maximizing his application window.

    With the exception of a browser plug-in, the best you are going to be able to do is the oval button in the upper right hand corner of your FF browser. This is not true full screen but as close as you are going to get without a plug-in.


    Click for full size - Uploaded with plasq's Skitch

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •