Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23
  1. #1

    Default MBP Unibody Upgrades - Memory + HDD

    Got a Macbook Pro 13" Base Model.

    Couldn't bother upgrading at the time of purchase but I'm looking at upgrading now.

    Looking at getting 4GB of RAM and a 7200RPM HDD Drive.

    Do you think there will be some decent performance increases?

    What is the benefit of getting 'Apple Certified' SODIMM DDR3?

    Will it change how long the battery lasts for?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,051

    Default

    Apple Certified sodimm? Meh, just get 1066MHZ DDR3 sodimms - where ever is cheapest.
    Go for 4GB, I've noticed a difference especially with Parallels running.
    I haven't noticed any extra drain in battery so I'll have to say no change to battery life - and this probably covers the 7200 HDD.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    769

    Default Re: MBP Unibody Upgrades - Memory + HDD

    I upgraded my mbpro with exactly those two things. Don't bother with apple ram just buy 2x2GB from RamCity they come in a kit

    As for difference they both make a dent in things compared to 5400rpm and 2GB. If you want a huge perfomance boost and have a bit more money grabbing an SSD hard drive will beat anything else you can do to your machine though. I've done it at work and now it's hard to go back
    iPhone developer & mac nut...
    Shifty Jelly

  4. #4

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    507

    Default

    I know it's seriously OTT... but.....

    I bought 8gig of ram for my MBP 17" from the USA. Cost me $920AU landed. Unbelievable how this thing runs now. The 7200rpm drive I believe helps too. I gave Vista in Parallels 4gig ram to play with. Runs just fine.

    8.0GB (4.0GB + 4.0GB Kit) PC-8500 DDR3... (OWC8566DDR3S8GP) at OWC

  6. #6

    Default

    which one would provide a bigger performance increase?

    Will 1333MHz not work or just run at the slower speed? in particular these - OCZ Technology | Products | Memory | OCZ PC3-10666 DDR3 SODIMM
    Last edited by grumpy_dog666; 23rd August 2009 at 01:31 AM.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    507

    Default

    Throw as much ram at it as you can.

    In my opinion you always want to work in ram and avoid having to swap to the "virtual ram" on the hard disk. Ram is much faster.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    5,933

    Default

    I bought 4GB of Qimonda RAM from Ramcity.com.au. Runs just fine, don't bother spending more on a brand name like Kingston.

    Also, beware that there's been problems with the EFI upgrade 1.7 with non standard HDD's. No fix has been released as yet. Apple seem to have stuck their heads in the sand over it. Very disappointing.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia ;)
    Posts
    3,182

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mitty View Post
    I bought 4GB of Qimonda RAM from Ramcity.com.au. Runs just fine, don't bother spending more on a brand name like Kingston.

    Also, beware that there's been problems with the EFI upgrade 1.7 with non standard HDD's. No fix has been released as yet. Apple seem to have stuck their heads in the sand over it. Very disappointing.
    Go Ramcity! Just got that Qimonda 4GB kit for the wifes MacBook Pro and she's apples

    I haven't bothered with the HDD upgrade yet since we have a server running at home for storing mass files and the reality is that she is at home 95% of the time so can access what she needs when she needs it. She just keeps lve work on her computer.
    Many Shiny Toys with Apple Logos | Some Microsoft Toys too
    If it has an engine or a heartbeat it's going to cost you.
    Drive a VW?

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Camden NSW
    Posts
    816

    Default

    ive got a 4gig kit from ramcity lying around that i dont need (unopened brand new as i upgraded to a 17" that already had 4 gig before i could upgrade the ram in my 15), pm me if your interested and make an offer.

  11. #11

    Default

    Thanks guys, will get the RAM first and see what benefits I get......

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,304

    Default

    can any yumcha brand ddr3 ram work in the unibodies? I have heard that some ddr3 refuse to play nicely with the unibods.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,051

    Default

    Make sure you either buy from a reputable store that sells ram that works (RamCity or MacFixit), or similarly, a reputable store that sells cheap yumcha brand and will do returns if it does not work in said MBP.

  14. #14

  15. #15

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,051

    Default

    Some users have reported that various DDR3 have worked for them - I however was unable to buy any compatible ram at the time. MSY (Ultimo) did let me return my RAM for a full refund.

    Experiences vary with MSY ... just allow time for the queue.

  16. #16

    Default

    i've always had my reservations with MSY too......

    ended up buying online.......

  17. #17

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,213

    Default

    I would like to upgrade my MBP's HDD to a 500GB 7200rpm by the time snow Leopard hits our shores. Is there a specific brand one must purchase in order for the hdd to a) be compatible with the Sudden motion sensor (SMS), b) actually fit in the computer (I have a MBP unibody 2008), and c) be compatible with Apple's latest firmware fix?
    2005 15" PowerBook G4 1.67Ghz (1st Mac purchased on the day iTunes AU opened!); 2014 15" Retina MacBook Pro (16GB RAM; Nvidia 750M); iPad 3rd Gen 64GB w/ cellular

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    4,225

    Default

    Apple ship the ST9500420ASG Seagate Momentus 7200.4 SATA 3Gb/s 500-GB Hard Drive with the BTO's so if you go with that you'd be pretty safe knowing they have to support it as a BTO option.
    http://twitter.com/TheMissionMan / Photo Page
    MacBook Air 13" 2.0GHz i7/8GB/512GB, iPhone 5 64GB, iPad Mini LTE 64GB, Nikon D700, MB-D10, 24-70 f/2.8, 70-200 f/2.8, 1.4x, SB700, SB600, Benro C3580T, Benro GH-1, Benro C48T

  19. #19

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    809

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AnthoMac View Post
    I would like to upgrade my MBP's HDD to a 500GB 7200rpm by the time snow Leopard hits our shores. Is there a specific brand one must purchase in order for the hdd to a) be compatible with the Sudden motion sensor (SMS), b) actually fit in the computer (I have a MBP unibody 2008), and c) be compatible with Apple's latest firmware fix?
    i just upgraded to the Seagate 500G 7200rpm and its great, no problems at all and the one that got shipped to me had the motion sensor in it (the other one was out of stock so the supplier upgraded me). I read reports of this causing a problem with the Apple SMS but i have been running it for weeks now and not had an issue.

    The 500G is awsome and i now have plenty of space for my music and movies.
    http://twitter.com/nevbetts

    Macbook 13" unibody|iPhone 3GS 32gig White

  20. #20

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,809

    Default

    Is anybody running a Seagate Momentus 7200.3 320GB drive in a unibody MBP. I have one and I am thinking about swapping it in, although I am unsure if it makes a major difference.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •