Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    507

    Default Bootcamp, Vista 64 bit: Possible?

    Hi All...

    I have just bought a new 17 " MBPro fully loaded with the 3ghz cpu and 8 gig ram. Hell, I had the chance, so I did.

    Anyway......

    Please, is it possibe to install OEM 64 bit Vista in bootcamp without going insane? Will it actually run as 64bit?

    Thanks..!!!!


  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,051

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    507

    Default

    I saw this article, but it refers to the Mac Pro. Not the MacBook Pro.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,051

    Default

    I don't see why not. I installed XP 64-bit via boot camp once only to realise no native driver support.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Sth Melbourne
    Posts
    443

    Default

    I installed Windows 7 64 Bit last week and had a remarkably stress free experience. This was on a unibody 15" MBP with 4GB Ram. Runs very smoothly but I haven't done any intensive 3D stuff on it.
    The bridge is crossed, so stand and watch it burn.

  6. #6

    Default

    I've also recently installed Windows 7 64-bit on a 15"/4Gb unibody MBP, with no issues at all.

    After downloading the latest nVidia drivers for the card, I've been playing 3D games such as Dead Space and Prototype on it which should be stressing the machine rather well, with not a glitch.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dee Why, Sydney
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Another one here, I had Windows 7 RC1 64 bit running on my white MacBook, worked fine.
    Good. Fast. Cheap. Pick two...

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    507

    Default

    I rang Apple Tech Support. Great service BTW......

    They said no issue and emailed me this article.

    Click Here.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    686

    Default

    of course it works. It even works on my entry level (new) unibody macbook pro
    "The best way to predict the future is to invent it."
    -Alan Kay

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dee Why, Sydney
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xerodude View Post
    I rang Apple Tech Support. Great service BTW......

    They said no issue and emailed me this article.

    Click Here.
    Thats strange - I wonder why they say it only works on those machines - theoretically any Mac with a Core 2 Duo should be able to run Vista 64 bit, just the same as a PC. As I said, my November 2007 MacBook had no complaints running 7 64 bit.
    Good. Fast. Cheap. Pick two...

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mysticgreg View Post
    I've also recently installed Windows 7 64-bit on a 15"/4Gb unibody MBP, with no issues at all.

    After downloading the latest nVidia drivers for the card, I've been playing 3D games such as Dead Space and Prototype on it which should be stressing the machine rather well, with not a glitch.
    Awesome. I'm guessing we use the 64bit Vista drivers for specific apple stuff? (Touch pad, iSight etc?)

  12. #12

    Default

    I just inserted my Leopard (retail) install CD and let it do it's normal Boot Camp thing for touchpad, iSight etc - all worked straight away.

    The only driver I downloaded was from nVidia, they have a 64-bit Windows 7-specific driver for the 9600-series mobile cards, which worked a treat.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    507

    Default

    Yeah, all good...!!

    All updates etc done and running. And it can see the 8gig too. So I am happy. Also applied for the Win7 upgrade program.

    Now to get Parallels to see it..!!!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •