Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    921

    Default Which PCMCIA Usb card for wallstreet PowerBook g3?

    Does anyone know which cards will work in the cardbus slot? Can I just get a cheap one from eBay, or do I need special apple software to make it work?
    Thanks,
    Deb
    Macintosh SE (OS 7.1); 15" MBP Intel Core i5 2.4ghz (Snow Leopard); too many iGadgets

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    Hi Deb,

    I'll have a check in my box of tricks tonight for a brand, but any generic "OHCI compatible" USB 1.1 PCMCIA card should work, but I wouldn't go for a USB 2.0 PCMCIA card.

    In terms of software, you just need to install Apple's USB adapter card support 1.4.1 software:

    USB Adapter Card Support 1.4.1 Document and Software

    JB

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Fremantle
    Posts
    142

    Default

    I used to use a USB 2.0 card in my Wallstreet without a hitch. I think it required OS X 10.2.8 or higher to achieve 2.0 speed. Can't remember the brand but as Byrd says just make sure it's OHCI compatible.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    Sorry Deb: I was thinking you were using OS 9 (which requires a USB 1.1 card only and Apple's USB 1.4.1 software), but with OS X it should detect automatically as mickbee notes, and any USB 2.0 PCMCIA card should work.

    JB

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    921

    Default

    Byrd, I do only use OS 9. Can you use USB2 thumb drives with USB1? That is what I hope to achieve.

    The machine only has 64mb RAM so am I right in thinking it wouldn't cope with OSX? It is mainly used for web browsing via wireless card (struggles), email and Word. I would also like to upgrade the RAM but need to pluck up the courage to open it, and also to check whether any of the stack of old ram I have sitting in my spares box will fit. It needs to be laptop ram (SODIMM?) rather than standard PC100 ram, right?

    Thanks for the great reply! If you have a card spare Byrd, perhaps we could do a trade? I so still have a great collection of old bits and pieces around awaiting some sorting, I can send you a list if you like. Or I could just buy it off you of course LOL.

    Deb
    Macintosh SE (OS 7.1); 15" MBP Intel Core i5 2.4ghz (Snow Leopard); too many iGadgets

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    921
    Macintosh SE (OS 7.1); 15" MBP Intel Core i5 2.4ghz (Snow Leopard); too many iGadgets

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dee Why, Sydney
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DebB View Post
    Byrd, I do only use OS 9. Can you use USB2 thumb drives with USB1? That is what I hope to achieve.
    Yeah, so long as they're not formatted FAT32 or NTFS (since OS 9 doesn't have support for either of those formats) it should work fine, just at USB 1.1 speed. I've got a couple of USB 2.0 flash drives (all of which are formatted FAT16), and they work fine on my iMac G3 (which is obviously USB 1.1) under OS 9.
    Good. Fast. Cheap. Pick two...

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,442

    Default

    Hi DebB

    I just stumbled across this thread. I have a PowerBook G3 Pismo and I've been thinking about getting a USB 2 card.

    I don't know if you're interested, but I recently bought a Zip 100 drive module on ebay. It turned out to be for a Wallstreet (apparently), not a Pismo. The guy fully refunded me and said he didn't want it returned. You can have it for the price of postage, which would be about $7-8, if it's any use to you. If not, and you know anyone else who has a Wallstreet who would be interested, just let me know.

    rpj

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    Hi Deb,

    what model Wallstreet is it? I built a mint Wallstreet for my parents ages ago (300Mhz, 14" screen, 256MB RAM/20GB HD) which runs 10.3.9 great, but if yours is fairly stock I'd stick with OS 9 to be honest. Another caveat is that you need to partition the hard disk as 8GB + whatever is left, and install OS X to the first 8GB, otherwise it won't work. So factoring in the requirements of a bigger HD, more RAM and lowly CPU speed ... it might be pushing it.

    Regarding trades: I'll have a look but I think I've only one MacAlly USB 1.1 PCMCIA card and it's stuck in my Powerbook 2400c

    Oh and RAM: yes it has 2 x PC66/PC100 So-DIMM SDRAM slots, in theory it can take 512MB (2 x 256MB), but I found Wallstreets are picky about 256MB sticks (probably because most are PC133 speeds, which in theory should be fine but some compatibility issues are obviously there).

    JB

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    921

    Default

    Thanks, it's a 14" 233Mhz model, with 64Mb ram. So if I look out for some 128MB sticks I could take it to 256 that way...

    I think I am quite happy to leave it running OS 9, if I can speed up the net a bit and use a USB drive. For some reason, everything slowed way down once I turned on file sharing and even the typing lags when entering a search in google. Hopefully more ram will help. I will watch out on ebay or our local computer market for the bits and pieces, now I know what to look for!

    Rpj,
    I wouldn't know what to do with a zip drive module as I've never used one! It is some kind of backup system isn't it? I don't think my 10 year old would use it LOL, but thanks.

    Deb
    Macintosh SE (OS 7.1); 15" MBP Intel Core i5 2.4ghz (Snow Leopard); too many iGadgets

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Castlemaine area.
    Posts
    3,109

    Default

    Ahhh PCMCIA... from when the computer industry didn't take themselves so seriously.

    People Can't Memorize Computer Industry Acronyms <-- now that's a name for a device slot
    iPad Mini 4 128Gb 4G | iPhone 6 64GB | MacBook Pro 13" i5 2.4GHz Retina | Mac Mini i5 | Apple TV 3 |

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dee Why, Sydney
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Or how about TWAIN - Technology Without An Interesting Name? (used in scanners)
    Good. Fast. Cheap. Pick two...

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,442

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DebB View Post
    Rpj,
    I wouldn't know what to do with a zip drive module as I've never used one! It is some kind of backup system isn't it? I don't think my 10 year old would use it LOL, but thanks.

    Deb
    If you don't know what to do with one then it's no good to you. You'd have to have some discs! Anyway, just a thought...

  14. #14

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    South Hobbit
    Posts
    362

    Default

    I've got a couple of 128's from a G4 ibook if you want some ram.
    Late 08 macbook aluminium 13inch, late 2012 iMac 21 inch, G4 ibook 12inch, G4 lampshade 15 inch, iPhone 4, 5 & 6, G1 ipod touch & ipod shuffle

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kiwijohn View Post
    I've got a couple of 128's from a G4 ibook if you want some ram.
    If they're from a G4 they'd be DDR modules - look exactly the same but will result in magic smoke being released when put in a Wallstreet that needs SDRAM

    JB

  16. #16

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    South Hobbit
    Posts
    362

    Default

    I've heard about this magic smoke. Oh well, can't give the things away.
    Late 08 macbook aluminium 13inch, late 2012 iMac 21 inch, G4 ibook 12inch, G4 lampshade 15 inch, iPhone 4, 5 & 6, G1 ipod touch & ipod shuffle

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    921

    Default

    Thanks anyway - I think I have found some RAM.....Kiwijohn, there is someone in the wanted to buy forum who is asking for G4 powerbook ram!
    Deb
    Macintosh SE (OS 7.1); 15" MBP Intel Core i5 2.4ghz (Snow Leopard); too many iGadgets

  18. #18

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    South Hobbit
    Posts
    362

    Default

    Thanx for the heads up, but they want a bit more than 128mb.
    Good luck with it.
    Late 08 macbook aluminium 13inch, late 2012 iMac 21 inch, G4 ibook 12inch, G4 lampshade 15 inch, iPhone 4, 5 & 6, G1 ipod touch & ipod shuffle

  19. #19
    entropy's Avatar entropy is offline It's the heat death of the universe, my friends

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Qld
    Posts
    2,501

    Default

    I used to use a PCMCIA USB 2.0 firewire combo with my wallstreet running OS9.2 The exact same wallstreet in fact, but with a whole 96mb of RAM.

    It ran fine even though it was USB2.0, but I suspect that it operated at USB1.1 speed and needed OSX to run at USB2.0. I bought it for the firewire though so I could edit my video cam dv files. Glacial.

    My USB stick is formatted at fat32 otherwise I could test it.

    I think I bought this online through zytech for $65 at the time. You would need to bear in mind that the whole laptop might not be worth a lot more than that.

    Anyway, here are some pics of the card:

    and the ports:
    27 inch imac i7 3.4Ghz 2011 12,2 OSX 10.8

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    921

    Default

    thanks Entropy, I'll see if I can find one like that. (unless yours is for sale? ;-).
    Deb
    Macintosh SE (OS 7.1); 15" MBP Intel Core i5 2.4ghz (Snow Leopard); too many iGadgets

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •