Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    At a place called Vertigo
    Posts
    1,126

    Default

    I have just got my new mini YAY.

    Is it possible to link the two computers up though their airport cards, or do I need a base station.

    I have created a network on the mini and can join it with my ibook, but can't for some reason have them talk to each other (either networking or internet sharing). Any help would be appreciated.


    Thanks guys
    Q: How many Apple Newtons does it take to change a light bulb? A: Foux! There to eat lemons, axe gravy soup.
    'Cooper' - Intel iMac 24"; 3.06Ghz C2D, nVidia 8800GS-T, 2GB, 500GB
    'Falcon' iPhone 3G 16GB White
    'Pods Yerfunkle' - iPod 5.5G 30GB
    'Tiny' - iPod Shuffle 2G 1GB Blue

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    1,449

    Default

    Hi ford.boy
    have you checked the preferences in the Sharing PrefPane?
    p53

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    At a place called Vertigo
    Posts
    1,126

    Default

    I'm looking throguh it, everytime I think everything is set up correctly, it doesn't work.

    Would you be able to tell me what's what and which boxes i should have ticked?
    Q: How many Apple Newtons does it take to change a light bulb? A: Foux! There to eat lemons, axe gravy soup.
    'Cooper' - Intel iMac 24"; 3.06Ghz C2D, nVidia 8800GS-T, 2GB, 500GB
    'Falcon' iPhone 3G 16GB White
    'Pods Yerfunkle' - iPod 5.5G 30GB
    'Tiny' - iPod Shuffle 2G 1GB Blue

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    1,449

    Default

    in the Services tab:
    start Personal File Sharing

    in the Internet tab:
    Share your connection from Airport to computers using Airport

    That should be all the settings you need.
    Hope it works.
    p53

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    At a place called Vertigo
    Posts
    1,126

    Default

    YAY!!!


    I did that bfore but forgot to start sharing :|

    Thanks so very much!
    Q: How many Apple Newtons does it take to change a light bulb? A: Foux! There to eat lemons, axe gravy soup.
    'Cooper' - Intel iMac 24"; 3.06Ghz C2D, nVidia 8800GS-T, 2GB, 500GB
    'Falcon' iPhone 3G 16GB White
    'Pods Yerfunkle' - iPod 5.5G 30GB
    'Tiny' - iPod Shuffle 2G 1GB Blue

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    1,449

    Default

    hahaha it's always the obvious things we forget! glad it's working now

    p53

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •