Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Parramatta
    Posts
    3,357

    Default

    ok... the most devastating thing happened today... i was doing some word work ... as per usual while using adium and safari... and i got a KP... nothing to sever so i rebooted and my monitor WONT TURN ON!!! :'( i tried a whole lot of things... it wont work :'( the comp itself actually turns on.. but the screen wont.. im begging to feel the downside effects of a perfectly flashed graphics card maybe????

    PLEASE HELP! :'(
    Just Chillin.

  2. #2

    Default

    If you say the monitor doesn't turn on, then it is possible your beloved Mac is still ok.

    If the monitor was ok, wouldn't you get a 'No signal input' or similar?

    Have you tried using a separate monitor (if available) ?

    Have you tried using the stock video card?

    Good luck.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Parramatta
    Posts
    3,357

    Default

    the monitor is a sony trinitron one, and yes it does get the no signal error on it... ive tried reset PRAM heaps :P
    Just Chillin.

  4. #4

    Default

    Damn that could mean the monitor itself is fine, and the problem resides in the Quicksilver.

    Not sure that is something that zapping PRAM could fix, but nonetheless if it didn't work the first time, its unlikely to work the 10th time.

    My advice is to try the original video card, or if you think the monitor is faulty try hooking it up to your Sawtooth etc.

  5. #5
    Exocet's Avatar Exocet is offline We're gonna need to move you down into storage B.

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,308

    Default

    The Wonder, the Wonder, NOOOOOO!

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Parramatta
    Posts
    3,357

    Default

    :'( bump for the sake of the quicksilver
    Just Chillin.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere Slaying Vampires
    Posts
    6,302

    Default

    this is what happens when you overclock a system.....
    i warned you

    you could be lucky and its just the video card but it also ahs the symptoms of a dead cpu

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,156

    Default

    like previously suggested.... try the original graphics card.

    also first rule of hardware troubleshooting..... take your machine back to original config. (ie take out any pci card and extra ram and unplug extra HDs)

    in all honesty it sounds like a dead graphics card, but you will never know until you test it
    ________________________________________________

    There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand binary and those who don't.

    www.macmate.com.au

    Leader of: Apple General, Help! & iPods, iTMS & Accessories

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dee Why, Sydney
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Does the machine make a series of beeps when you try turning it on?
    Good. Fast. Cheap. Pick two...

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Parramatta
    Posts
    3,357

    Default

    nope just the normal startup tone, but the comp does work because the internet sharing works fine.... after waiting for 2 mins, i hope it isnt a dead graphics card :'(
    Just Chillin.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere Slaying Vampires
    Posts
    6,302

    Default

    Originally posted by ipod_man@May 24 2005, 05:07 PM
    nope just the normal startup tone, but the comp does work because the internet sharing works fine....
    well that pretty much confirms its a graphics card issue

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Parramatta
    Posts
    3,357

    Default

    ok this rates a 10 on the weird scale, i swapped the ATI RAGE 128 with the 9800 PRO and they work perfectly on both machines... so i swapped them back around to normal and now my quicksilver WONT TURN ON!!!!! AHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!&#33 ;!! THE POWER BUTTON WONT TURN ON!!! AHHHHHHHHH!!!!
    Just Chillin.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Parramatta
    Posts
    3,357

    Default

    oh dear god... the red 5v line i can see has burned its black around the connector... WHAT DOES THIS MEAN!? is my card destroyed!? also if i take the card out of my quicksilver it turns on as per usual...
    Just Chillin.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Parramatta
    Posts
    3,357

    Default

    ok so i swapped them over again... and they both work again... but when i try the 9800 on the QS still NOTHING... well at least its back to turning on with no screen... this is defanitly weird! any help would be MUCHHH appreciated...
    Just Chillin.

  15. #15

    Default

    Tried an extra power cable?
    Mac Pro Dual Xeon 2.8GHz Quad, 6GB Ram, 128GB SSD+320GB+3x1TB HDD, Nvidia GTX285, Mac OS X 10.7
    My Flickr | Portfolio/Photoblog

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Parramatta
    Posts
    3,357

    Default

    what do you mean luke? like a diferent powercable?
    Just Chillin.

  17. #17

    Default

    The 9800 pro uses an extra power supply using a hdd connector doesnt it? if so try another connector
    Mac Pro Dual Xeon 2.8GHz Quad, 6GB Ram, 128GB SSD+320GB+3x1TB HDD, Nvidia GTX285, Mac OS X 10.7
    My Flickr | Portfolio/Photoblog

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Parramatta
    Posts
    3,357

    Default

    oh that powerconnector, i thought you meant the actual power plug... ok ill give it a go tomrow
    Just Chillin.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •