Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    605

    Default Strange browser problems

    hi all

    i have called upon mactalk's infinite wisdom to help me with this hair-wrenching drama. i have two problems with my browser(s) at the moment and i've tried looking through network preferences / browser settings / mactalk's search pages but have had no luck. here's what's up:

    1. safari constantly crashes. and i mean constantly, especially when i try to watch flash vids (youtube etc) and close windows/tabs. i've reset the browser in settings, no luck.

    2. this one's a strange problem. for some reason, ALL search engines won't load, even the obscure ones (going a few days with no search functionality has driven me NUTS). this is accross both safari and firefox. also, youtube loads, but in html code. (looks like it was made in 1995 or something) and i can't view anything.

    any help would be awesome, thnx people!
    pics or it didn't happen :P

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,050

    Default

    Can you post a crash log (up to the "Thread X crashed" block of text) for us to look at? They can be found in your user folder -> Library -> Logs -> Crash Reporter.

    I'll tell you one thing for sure now, your flash player will be out of date and you should go to Adobe.com to download an updated version of it.
    The discussion has continued at AppleTalk Australia.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Here, there and everywhere.
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Test in new user account

    If the issue occurs, reinstall Safari and update the Adobe flash player.

    If it doesn't, remove ~/library/caches folder and ~/library/preferences/com.apple.safari.plist and reboot machine.

    - In regards to the second issue, seems to be multiple applications...not a clue how to resolve that one lol.
    Mid 2009 15" MacBook Pro - 3.06Ghz - 8GB RAM - 256GB SSD | Mid 2009 13" MacBook Pro - 2.26Ghz - 2GB - 160GB | 160GB AppleTV | iPhone 3GS 32GB

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    605

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Currawong View Post
    Can you post a crash log (up to the "Thread X crashed" block of text) for us to look at? They can be found in your user folder -> Library -> Logs -> Crash Reporter.

    I'll tell you one thing for sure now, your flash player will be out of date and you should go to Adobe.com to download an updated version of it.
    sorry currawong, when do i check the logs? when it happens or doesn't timing matter? about flash, i installed the latest version recently because it was requested by firefox. (i've always had the safari problem, tho) ahh this is straaaaange lol
    pics or it didn't happen :P

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,050

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sighclops View Post
    sorry currawong, when do i check the logs? when it happens or doesn't timing matter? about flash, i installed the latest version recently because it was requested by firefox. (i've always had the safari problem, tho) ahh this is straaaaange lol
    After the crash, it saves a log with the date, time and details of the crash. You'll find it where I suggested.
    The discussion has continued at AppleTalk Australia.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    605

    Default

    here's the crash log (in part):

    Process: Safari [337]
    Path: /Applications/Safari.app/Contents/MacOS/Safari
    Identifier: com.apple.Safari
    Version: 3.2.1 (5525.27.1)
    Build Info: WebBrowser-55252701~1
    Code Type: X86 (Native)
    Parent Process: launchd [104]

    Date/Time: 2009-01-15 11:13:03.680 +1100
    OS Version: Mac OS X 10.5.6 (9G55)
    Report Version: 6

    Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGBUS)
    Exception Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE at 0x0000000000000020
    Crashed Thread: 0

    do u need the whole thing?

    also, would this search engine prob be something to do with my network preferences? i haven't been able to use google.com (or any other search engine) OR youtube for two weeks....
    pics or it didn't happen :P

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    595

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sighclops View Post
    do u need the whole thing?
    I'm sure it would be beneficial


    QUOTE=sighclops;738802]also, would this search engine prob be something to do with my network preferences? i haven't been able to use google.com (or any other search engine) OR youtube for two weeks....[/QUOTE]


    Would suggest one question at a time

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    605

    Default

    here we go, sorry bout the delay:

    Process: Safari [337]
    Path: /Applications/Safari.app/Contents/MacOS/Safari
    Identifier: com.apple.Safari
    Version: 3.2.1 (5525.27.1)
    Build Info: WebBrowser-55252701~1
    Code Type: X86 (Native)
    Parent Process: launchd [104]

    Date/Time: 2009-01-15 11:13:03.680 +1100
    OS Version: Mac OS X 10.5.6 (9G55)
    Report Version: 6

    Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGBUS)
    Exception Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE at 0x0000000000000020
    Crashed Thread: 0

    Thread 0 Crashed:
    0 libobjc.A.dylib 0x945d0688 objc_msgSend + 24
    1 com.apple.AppKit 0x95224eb4 -[NSView dealloc] + 46
    2 com.apple.AppKit 0x953ac7cf -[NSScrollView dealloc] + 257
    3 com.apple.Foundation 0x92756e4f NSPopAutoreleasePool + 431
    4 com.apple.Safari 0x0003bf91 0x1000 + 241553
    5 com.apple.Foundation 0x92756e4f NSPopAutoreleasePool + 431
    6 com.apple.AppKit 0x952276cc -[NSApplication run] + 892
    7 com.apple.AppKit 0x951f48a4 NSApplicationMain + 574
    8 com.apple.Safari 0x000b9b16 0x1000 + 756502

    Thread 1:
    0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x910463ae __semwait_signal + 10
    1 libSystem.B.dylib 0x91070d0d pthread_cond_wait$UNIX2003 + 73
    2 com.apple.WebCore 0x939818ff WebCore::IconDatabase::syncThreadMainLoop() + 239
    3 com.apple.WebCore 0x9393a065 WebCore::IconDatabase::iconDatabaseSyncThread() + 181
    4 libSystem.B.dylib 0x91070095 _pthread_start + 321
    5 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9106ff52 thread_start + 34

    Thread 2:
    0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9103f1c6 mach_msg_trap + 10
    1 libSystem.B.dylib 0x910469bc mach_msg + 72
    2 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x95dd60ae CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 1790
    3 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x95dd6cd8 CFRunLoopRunInMode + 88
    4 com.apple.CFNetwork 0x92cb8052 CFURLCacheWorkerThread(void*) + 396
    5 libSystem.B.dylib 0x91070095 _pthread_start + 321
    6 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9106ff52 thread_start + 34

    Thread 3:
    0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x910463ae __semwait_signal + 10
    1 com.apple.Foundation 0x927f89a1 +[NSThread sleepUntilDate:] + 97
    2 net.culater.PithHelmet 0x002b7bcb -[PHVersionController _thread_delayedCheckVersion] + 139
    3 com.apple.Foundation 0x9275b7ed -[NSThread main] + 45
    4 com.apple.Foundation 0x9275b394 __NSThread__main__ + 308
    5 libSystem.B.dylib 0x91070095 _pthread_start + 321
    6 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9106ff52 thread_start + 34

    Thread 4:
    0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9103f1c6 mach_msg_trap + 10
    1 libSystem.B.dylib 0x910469bc mach_msg + 72
    2 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x95dd60ae CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 1790
    3 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x95dd6cd8 CFRunLoopRunInMode + 88
    4 com.apple.Foundation 0x927bed40 +[NSURLConnection(NSURLConnectionReallyInternal) _resourceLoadLoop:] + 320
    5 com.apple.Foundation 0x9275b7ed -[NSThread main] + 45
    6 com.apple.Foundation 0x9275b394 __NSThread__main__ + 308
    7 libSystem.B.dylib 0x91070095 _pthread_start + 321
    8 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9106ff52 thread_start + 34

    Thread 5:
    0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9108e6f2 select$DARWIN_EXTSN + 10
    1 libSystem.B.dylib 0x91070095 _pthread_start + 321
    2 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9106ff52 thread_start + 34

    Thread 0 crashed with X86 Thread State (32-bit):
    eax: 0x0d733270 ebx: 0x95224ef4 ecx: 0x9466c334 edx: 0x00000000
    edi: 0x00000000 esi: 0x00000000 ebp: 0xbffff6e8 esp: 0xbffff678
    ss: 0x0000001f efl: 0x00010202 eip: 0x945d0688 cs: 0x00000017
    ds: 0x0000001f es: 0x0000001f fs: 0x00000000 gs: 0x00000037
    cr2: 0x00000020

    still got no google / yahoo / all other search engines youtube loads in html even with the latest ver of flash...
    pics or it didn't happen :P

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    605

    Default

    thread bumped


    hellooooooooooooooooo...
    pics or it didn't happen :P

  10. #10
    chrome's Avatar chrome is offline MacTalk Engineering Department of Horrors. Mutilator of HTML Templates Extraordinaire. Man with the Very Long User Title. No you can't have one. Ha ha.

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,042

    Default

    Try moving everything from /Library/Internet Plug-Ins and ~/Library/Internet Plug-Ins

    (just move it all to a folder on the desktop or something).

    Also, move everything from /Library/InputManagers and ~/Library/InputManagers

    Restart the machine and give it a try. Obviously any plugins will not work, but thats fine for now. Report back on results!
    In ur forums, upgradin'.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    605

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrome View Post
    Try moving everything from /Library/Internet Plug-Ins and ~/Library/Internet Plug-Ins

    (just move it all to a folder on the desktop or something).

    Also, move everything from /Library/InputManagers and ~/Library/InputManagers

    Restart the machine and give it a try. Obviously any plugins will not work, but thats fine for now. Report back on results!
    sorry i'm not quite sure i follow u, /Library and ~/Library? is that the diff between Macintosh HD/Library and (username)/Library? is there a diff? ahhhh

    i've had no google / youtube for almost a month ffs!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    pics or it didn't happen :P

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,050

    Default

    A single tilda "~" is shorthand for your home folder. So chrome means both the Macintosh HD -> Library and your home folder's Library folder.
    The discussion has continued at AppleTalk Australia.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    605

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrome View Post
    Try moving everything from /Library/Internet Plug-Ins and ~/Library/Internet Plug-Ins

    (just move it all to a folder on the desktop or something).

    Also, move everything from /Library/InputManagers and ~/Library/InputManagers

    Restart the machine and give it a try. Obviously any plugins will not work, but thats fine for now. Report back on results!
    thanks for clarifying, currawong. ummm 2 things:

    1. there were no files in ~/Library/Internet Plug-Ins and no ~/Library/InputManagers folder

    2. tried the above mentioned steps, no luck

    here's what my youtube page looks like:

    http://members.optusnet.com.au/peta7/YouTube.jpg

    and google (and any other search engine)

    http://members.optusnet.com.au/peta7...ad%20Error.jpg

    this happens in both firefox AND safari.
    pics or it didn't happen :P

  14. #14
    chrome's Avatar chrome is offline MacTalk Engineering Department of Horrors. Mutilator of HTML Templates Extraordinaire. Man with the Very Long User Title. No you can't have one. Ha ha.

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,042

    Default

    Can you connect to google.com via telnet?

    Open Terminal, type

    Code:
    telnet www.google.com 80
    then type "GET /" and hit enter. Stuff will come back. It should look like this:

    Code:
    [chrome@hydra] ~$ telnet www.google.com 80
    Trying 66.249.89.147...
    Connected to www.l.google.com.
    Escape character is '^]'.
    GET /
    <HTML><HEAD><meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html;charset=utf-8">
    <TITLE>302 Moved</TITLE></HEAD><BODY>
    <H1>302 Moved</H1>
    The document has moved
    <A HREF="http://www.google.com.au/">here</A>.
    </BODY></HTML>
    Connection closed by foreign host.
    If that doesn't work then its not your mac. Its your network. If it does work, then something is seriously screwed on your mac, and you should do an archive & install: Mac OS X: About the Archive and Install feature
    In ur forums, upgradin'.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Royston Vasey
    Posts
    9,549

    Default

    Guys - your answers are too complex. You're assuming the OP knows this terminology.

    But I agree with Chrome.

    To Sighclops:

    With nothing open except for your Desktop, click once on the top menu item called: Go. You'll see it up there between View and Window.

    Click once on the Go menu item and scroll down to: Utilities.

    The Utilities window opens. Inside Utilities, locate and open an application called: Terminal.

    In the Terminal window, just type:

    ping www .google .com

    (I've typed the ping above with spaces in the google address, because MacTalk won't let the address come out, as seen, yet you must type it into the Terminal as the word: ping - followed by one space, and then the google address all as one line).

    then press the return key on your keyboard, and watch what the Terminal window does.

    Let it do what ever it does for around 20 seconds.

    To stop it, hold down your key in combination with the [.] key - (the full stop key). This will stop the Terminal from spitting out lines of information.

    Then copy and paste what you see there, back into here.

    You can then Quit the Terminal.

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hobart, TAS
    Posts
    6,422

    Default

    This is bizzare.

    Sighclops isn't the only one having this issue with YouTube not working properly - for me, it loads like it's 1985 (or whatever year the saying's from)... Google however, works fine.

    For example - this Youtube vid loads like this:


    When obviously, it should load like the normal Youtube that we all know and love...

    Heh - it's now fixed as I was writing this post. Did a little detective work - found out that my IP address is 192.168.0.3 - when it should have been 192.168.0.2.

    Due to the way I've setup my LAN, I've got static IPs for internal machines - most of the time, it works flawlessly, but sometimes you have to disconnect and reconnect to the network to get it to get the right IP from the router (which is, incidentally, a Netgear DG834G).

    Anyway - in my block sites I've got YouTube listed (yeah, don't ask), but to allow trusted IPs (192.168.0.2 being one of them) to visit all websites, regardless of blocked or not.

    So I guess it was my firewall that was causing the fuss - even though it let text through, and not anything else. Oh - and I could also watch YouTube vids when they were embedded in Facebook pages, for example.

    So strange - but problem solved. Hope this helps someone else.

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    605

    Default

    bennyling, cheers mate, here's the results:

    jeimuzu-3:~ jeimuzu$ telnet Google 80
    get /
    Trying 66.249.89.147...
    telnet: connect to address 66.249.89.147: Connection refused
    Trying 66.249.89.99...
    telnet: connect to address 66.249.89.99: Connection refused
    Trying 66.249.89.104...
    telnet: connect to address 66.249.89.104: Connection refused
    telnet: Unable to connect to remote host
    jeimuzu-3:~ jeimuzu$ get /
    -bash: get: command not found
    jeimuzu-3:~ jeimuzu$


    thanks heaps clockwork! i just gave it a go, here's what i got:

    Last login: Wed Feb 11 22:50:23 on ttys000
    jeimuzu-3:~ jeimuzu$ ping Google
    PING Google (66.249.89.147): 56 data bytes
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ^C
    --- Google ping statistics ---
    17 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss

    something that's bothering me, what is that "3" next to my username? i can see it in finder also ( as "jeimuzu (3)" ) . does it mean 3 users connected?!
    pics or it didn't happen :P

  18. #18

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Royston Vasey
    Posts
    9,549

    Default

    Right - so when the Terminal keeps spitting out: No route to host - it effectively means there's something not quite right with either your Apple's IP Address, or your Modem.

    Do as Bennyling did.

    Click on your top-left Apple menu and scroll down to: System Preferences...

    In the System Preferences window, click once on: Network - under heading: Internet & Network.

    At the bottom right of the Network window, click once on the: Advanced... button.

    In the next drop down window, click once on the tab named: TCP/IP.

    In the TCP/IP window, what are the settings next to:

    Configure IPv4:
    IPv4 Address:
    Subnet Mask:
    Router:
    Configure IPv6:

    ?

    cw

  19. #19
    chrome's Avatar chrome is offline MacTalk Engineering Department of Horrors. Mutilator of HTML Templates Extraordinaire. Man with the Very Long User Title. No you can't have one. Ha ha.

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,042

    Default

    well, obviously his network settings are ok, or he wouldn't be posting here.

    I'd be resetting the modem and any other network devices he has and then, after that, rebooting the mac, and seeing if that fixes it.
    In ur forums, upgradin'.

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    605

    Default

    ok an update

    i reset the modem / hub, reset safari, got google working (on safari only, still no luck with firefox). except, youtube and all other search engines (ie yahoo) still don't work. i ran bootcamp, and both google and youtube worked in windows with no problems.

    the strange thing is, in osx it says i have flash 10 and it runs any other flash vids fine, just won't load youtube in anything other than html -_-

    i'm wondering if i should just reformat -_-
    pics or it didn't happen :P

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •