Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Mouse and mac

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    85

    Default Mouse and mac

    There is a really annoying problem with any mouse I try.

    On my PC (with the two mice I have) it is so accurate when moving it anywhere, it goes pixel by pixel for the slightest movement.

    On my MBP (same two mice) it seems to not work as well. If I drag it really slowly it only picks up movement every now and then. Working with CS4 this is so frustrating because I bought the MBP as a work computer but I keep reverting to my PC just so I can do it all right.

    I had the same problem years ago when I used a Mac mini and I don't get why its all so different when they are using the exact same mouse. I have tried changing all mouse settings, tried some accelerator program and even an older MBP but it seems to be a Mac issue.

    I'm sure a number of people 'wont even realise' or 'have no issues' but when you're trying to animate without using values and using the mouse to do it all, or to do some plain drawing with the mouse its very apparent.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Inner Space
    Posts
    5,522

    Default

    If your serious about accuracy then you really need a digitiser. Even something like a wacom Bamboo is better than just a mouse.

    However, one thing you can try doing is Control+scroll to zoom in on your screen and you will at least see how much control you have over the mouse (as well as being able to see the part of the screen you are working on a lot better)
    This opinion intentionally left blank.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bartron View Post
    If your serious about accuracy then you really need a digitiser. Even something like a wacom Bamboo is better than just a mouse.

    However, one thing you can try doing is Control+scroll to zoom in on your screen and you will at least see how much control you have over the mouse (as well as being able to see the part of the screen you are working on a lot better)
    Digitsers / tablets are the worst. I shouldn't have to result to that just because a mouse doesn't work as good as on a mac.

    And zooming isn't going to work when drawing objects with the paint brush / lines tools where you need to see what you are drawing at 100%.

    And it makes no difference with how the mouse works anyway, it still doesn't move accurately when the mouse is moving.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Inner Space
    Posts
    5,522

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philljc View Post
    Digitsers / tablets are the worst. I shouldn't have to result to that just because a mouse doesn't work as good as on a mac.

    And zooming isn't going to work when drawing objects with the paint brush / lines tools where you need to see what you are drawing at 100%.

    And it makes no difference with how the mouse works anyway, it still doesn't move accurately when the mouse is moving.
    Sounds like you need a digitiser...I know they are the worst so I'm not sure why everyone keeps using them and raving about them though

    If the mouse is erratic in general then:
    a) if it's a ball mouse, clean the ball and rollers
    b) if it's an LED mouse then change the surface you are using it on (shiny surfaces and fine grained surfaces can confuse it)
    c) check/change the mouse settings
    d) get a laser mouse.
    This opinion intentionally left blank.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia.
    Posts
    2,166

    Default

    The problem here is it works fine on Windows not OS X. He does not have a problem with the mouse...I can't help you - but I'm sorry it isn't working for you, have you tried searching google? It might be a common issue.
    | iMac Alu.| 11-inch MacBook Air | iPhone 4S 64GB

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    480

    Default

    You could try installing Steermouse and playing around with the settings on that. It gives you a lot more control over the mouse than the standard OS X settings.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Inner Space
    Posts
    5,522

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dolbinau View Post
    The problem here is it works fine on Windows not OS X. He does not have a problem with the mouse....
    I realise that. I don't know if he is using the mice in the same workspace all the time (i.e. using the same mouse on the same surface in both computers)...it's always worth asking and worth ruling out. My comments about getting a digitiser relate to his mentioning of using CS4 and animation...I speak from experience when I say nothing beats a digitiser for working in these environments and for finely controlled selects.

    The other issue is that the OS X generic mouse driver is a lot different to any supplied driver. e.g. when using an MS mouse on OS X you should download and install the drivers for it. Not only do you get access to any special buttons but the mouse cursor behaves more consistently with the same mouse on XP. Philljc, what brand/model mice are you using?
    This opinion intentionally left blank.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bartron View Post
    Philljc, what brand/model mice are you using?
    Tried an Apple mighty mouse (works better on a PC ), a "basic optical mouse' from Microsoft, a Compaq N3 and a Microsoft laser mouse 5000.

    It is definitely not the mouse, or the surface I am using it on. I will make a video (if I can find something that catches the mouse on mac) and post what I mean in comparison, next time I fire the MBP up.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    1,725

    Default

    Here is a thought. Given that it seems to be specific to the MBP (not the mouse, not the surface) - have you got any other USB devices plugged in?

    I'm thinking the mouse data could be 'interefered' with by other devices. Perhaps there is a USB fault?

    If you open Console.app, do you seen any USB messages? I have a problem with the USB connection to the bluetooth module on my macbook, and spews out error messages into Console.

    Jeremy
    Join SqueekyTee (by Rushfaster) using this invite code!
    norobots.net.au - My blog.
    - Lots of macs : MB (black) C2D 2Gb, eMac 1.42Ghz 1.5Gb, eMac 700Mhz, Sawtooth AGP 400Mhz, iBook 800Mhz, iMac 350Mhz, iPod mini, iPod Touch 8Gb and one pretty disorganised life


  10. #10

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Nope, nothing else, just the charger. And like I said I remember the same thing back on the old Mac mini I used to use at my old job, but I just put up with it and bought a Windows laptop soon after.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •