Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

» Join the discussions, Register Now!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Anyone here in the radio industry?

I know this is such a slim chance, but is anyone here in the radio industry?
    I'm trying to find a way in, because it's my ambition to produce radio, but it's finding the starting point that's the hardest.

If you could reply or PM me, I'd really love to pick your brain on where to get myself started.
    And yes, I have some experience under my belt. Let's get that part out of the way.

Regards,
    Ben.
    MacBook 5,1: 2.0GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, SuperDrive, OS X 10.7, Windows 7
    Mac Mini 4,1: 2.4GHz, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 1TB Ext. HDD (Time Machine), 2TB Ext. HDD, OS X 10.8

Breaking into metropolitan-based commercial radio is incredibly difficult, even for people who know people. it is excruciatingly difficult in Sydney, the nation's media capital. The production side is actually the hardest aspect to get into. General staff is easy, advertising staff is a bit harder, and getting a spot at the mic isn't as difficult as people think, but being allowed at the main desk? That takes persistence and a lot of hard slog.