Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1

    Default How do I disable touchpad in new MacBook

    On the "old"15" MacBook Pro (my kid has one purchased earlier this year) there is an option in preferences to disable the touchpad whenever the mouse is connected. However, I have not been able to find this option on the new 15" MacBook Pro I bought for myself recently or indeed any way to disable the touchpad. When I am using my notebook at home I use a mouse most of the time and also run into problems when typing and a finger brushes the touchpad and causes the cursor to move (frustrating). Maybe I am overlooking something; would appreciate any help since I am a new Mac user and still getting accustomed to the OS. One other thing, is there a utility for a Mac similar to CCleaner which deletes all cookies, temp files, copied text, etc from the computer (also has the option to overwrite files up to 7 times)? Thanks very much in advance for any suggestions or assistance.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warrnambool
    Posts
    409

    Default

    Isn't this the setting?



    I'm on a macbook (Not pro) but I thought this was an OS setting more than a hardware one.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    379

    Default

    The new Macbooks (+Pro) comes shipped with a different version of OSX, so the setting may be missing from this version of the preference pane.
    Redman
    iPhone 4S, iMac 24' 3.06ghz 4gb Ram, rMBP, 64GB 3G iPad 2, 64gb iPod Touch, Mac Mini [HTPC],

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Melbourne.
    Posts
    659

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Redman View Post
    The new Macbooks (+Pro) comes shipped with a different version of OSX, .

    What version does it come with if not 10.5.5 ??
    iphone 4, 16 gig @ $59 Optus cap; | Western Digital 500gig | 13in Macbook Air 2.13 Ghz, 256 gig flash memory, 4 gig of ram, | Bose companion 5; | 1st gen ipod touch; | ipod shuffle;

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Posts
    1,233

    Default

    it's just a slightly newer build of 10.5.5 to support the new hardware

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    379

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Huy View Post
    You mean, can it tap? Yes, it can tap.

    Screenshot of the new Trackpad System Preference:



    When you hover over the new gestures, the video will play demonstrating how you would do it.
    Edit: in this thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Huy View Post
    First response: "You are so in trouble! I just knew you were going to get one, even when you said you weren't."

    I'm off the hook now, I think. :o

    MacBook build number (10.5.5 out of the box):

    Redman
    iPhone 4S, iMac 24' 3.06ghz 4gb Ram, rMBP, 64GB 3G iPad 2, 64gb iPod Touch, Mac Mini [HTPC],

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I met the same problem.
    I just want to enable it. Because I move the old HD in my old macbook to this new one. and reinstalled the system without erasing data.
    So the previous setting, which disabled trackpad, can not be enabled now...
    Anyway, maybe you can do the similar thing. But OMG, it's so complicated. so why not just waiting for the update from Apple...

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Here comes the solution.

    Apple - Support - Discussions - How to disable touchpad on new MacBook ...


    From: brian_b


    defaults write -g com.apple.mouse.ignoreTrackpadIfMousePresent 0

    Would be the terminal command

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    9

    Default disabling touchpad

    I have operating system 10.5.6. I called tech services at apple and the particular person I spoke with had no idea that the problem existed nor did anyone on duty that day. He said he would check with the "higher-ups" and call me back. Two days later he did call back and noted that there were in fact no current solutions. they are at least now clearly aware of the problem and also know that there are a fair number of unhappy customers.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •