Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    1,028

    Default "3" $15 1GB (No Contract)

    Have anyone heard or know anything about this
    "3" $15 1GB (No Contract)
    Is it any good, I can't find anything on their site.
    A friend heard about it from another friend and wants to get on the net for the first time ever at the cheapest price,
    Would it be any good for a first time home internet user ?

    Rodney
    I Love My Fuji X100S

  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,192

    Default

    It is a good discount for wireless broadband, but the 3 coverage is pretty bad if you don't live in the metro areas of capitol cities.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    1,266

    Default

    Not bad, non existent.
    ,,`,,
    ,,`,,
    ``,,`,,` `
    ,,`,,
    ,,`,,

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    197

    Default

    I am going to look into this for my notebook... Work in Brisbane and it would be handy to have.

  5. #5

    Default

    I use it and love it.
    3 is faster than Optus and Vodafone.
    Just make sure you use it in a UMTS/HSDPA area. When that light goes green (for GPRS) unplug it ASAP and move, haha

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    1,028

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by decryption View Post
    I use it and love it.
    3 is faster than Optus and Vodafone.
    Just make sure you use it in a UMTS/HSDPA area. When that light goes green (for GPRS) unplug it ASAP and move, haha
    How do you check if your area is covered ?
    I Love My Fuji X100S

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    1,725

    Default

    Dont't you have to pay $250 or so for the dongle?

    Can you use a cheap 3rd party dongle?

    Jeremy
    Join SqueekyTee (by Rushfaster) using this invite code!
    norobots.net.au - My blog.
    - Lots of macs : MB (black) C2D 2Gb, eMac 1.42Ghz 1.5Gb, eMac 700Mhz, Sawtooth AGP 400Mhz, iBook 800Mhz, iMac 350Mhz, iPod mini, iPod Touch 8Gb and one pretty disorganised life


  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,192

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jubilantjeremy View Post
    Can you use a cheap 3rd party dongle?
    You could use anything that supports a 3 sim card *cough* Jailbroken iPhone with PDANet *cough*

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    1,028

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jubilantjeremy View Post
    Dont't you have to pay $250 or so for the dongle?

    Can you use a cheap 3rd party dongle?

    Jeremy
    My friend was told they just have to buy a $150 modem from Dick Smith.
    I Love My Fuji X100S

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    308

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jubilantjeremy View Post
    Dont't you have to pay $250 or so for the dongle?

    Can you use a cheap 3rd party dongle?

    Jeremy
    For some reason the three store in melbourne uni is selling the dongle for only 129 whileeveryone else is selling for 149...

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    1,266
    ,,`,,
    ,,`,,
    ``,,`,,` `
    ,,`,,
    ,,`,,

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    St Albans, Melbourne.
    Posts
    87

    Default

    3 Broadband is terrible. Good speeds but the modem isn't really designed to be connected for longer than an hour or so, leading to random drop outs.

    Also, the download gauge isn't the most reliable, and 3 seems to enjoy overcharging for minuscule downloads. $150 bills aren't really fun.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    162

    Default

    the dongle (E160G) has been reduced in price to $129 in all 3Stores, Other Stores should follow soon.
    iMac 27" 3.4 i7, 2TB HD, 16GB RAM, 6970M 2GB
    MacbookPro 15' 2.8Ghz, 1TB, 4GB RAM
    Nokia N9, Nokia E6

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    1,028

    Default

    Can you use the $150 modem from Dick Smith for adsl and/or other isp's ?
    I Love My Fuji X100S

  15. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rodney9 View Post
    Can you use the $150 modem from Dick Smith for adsl and/or other isp's ?
    You can't use it for ADSL - ADSL needs to be plugged into a phone line. These modems do not have phone lines in them.

    The USB stick is just a mobile phone without a number pad, speaker or mic really. It talks to the same mobile phone towers and uses the same protocols as your mobile does when accessing data (UMTS & HSPA).

    So to whether you can use it on other ISPs (e.g: a 3 modem on Telstra or Optus), depends where you are and if the modem is unlocked (they are often locked to a certain ISP)m what ISP you want to use it on and which frequencies the modem supports.

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    1,028

    Default

    Thank you everyone for your help.
    I Love My Fuji X100S

  17. #17

    Default

    For quick reference (I have an article about this coming out soon), here's the frequencies each network supports for HSDPA:

    Optus & Vodafone: 900mhz in "regional" areas, 2100mhz in metro areas.
    Three: 2100mhz only.
    Telstra: 850mhz only.

    Optus, Telstra and Vodfone will drop down to 2G/GPRS (1800mhz) coverage if there's no 3G coverage and you won't incur any extra charges (it will be slow as though).

    Three do not have a 2G network and borrow Telstra's. If you "roam" to 2G, you pay $1.65/mb for the luxury - not cool and one of the trade-offs with using 3.

    Vodafone is looking like value for money right now if you are using it more often (their 5GB plan for $39 is good as you won't get hit with roaming charges), but do not have a cheap 1GB plan. I have a 3 account and have not found their coverage to be an issue around Melbourne and Sydney.

    Avoid Optus at all costs, their network is clogged badly.

    Telstra is fantastic, very fast and the best coverage. Super expensive though.

    Be careful of these pre-paid "no contract" mobile internet setups. Your credit/data doesn't last long and it's not measured fairly most of the time. I struggle to understand the benefits of it over going with a $15/month contract ($15 is very little and they're so useful).

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •