Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wagga Wagga NSW
    Posts
    1,181

    Question Problems connecting to other Macs

    Hi,

    Using my MacBook, I can't connect to my G4 iMac. Using the G4, I can't connect to my MacBook.

    My son's PowerBook can connect to both machines.

    All 3 machines running 10.5.5

    Why?
    How do I get the MacBook to connect to the G4, please?

    Thanks for any help!

    Cheers,
    Andrew
    I'm not compatible with Windows

  2. #2

    Default

    What method are you using when you try to connect?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wagga Wagga NSW
    Posts
    1,181

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by captain fantasy View Post
    What method are you using when you try to connect?
    In finder, ⌘ K/Browse/(sees the other computer, tries to connect, then says 'connection failed'

    Or, in a finder window, ⇑ ⌘ C, select the computer in question, tries to connect, then says 'connection failed'.

    Occasionally shows this error message window



    Cheers,
    Andrew
    I'm not compatible with Windows

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Yeah, im currently having the exact same problem. I can no longer connect to my brother's imac, we are both running the very latest Leopard updates and everything, and about a week ago without me changing anything, from my memory that is, it just comes up with that error message now. I usually connect to his computer through our wireless router.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    1,266

    Default

    Is file sharing turned on?
    ,,`,,
    ,,`,,
    ``,,`,,` `
    ,,`,,
    ,,`,,

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    25

    Default

    yes. file sharing is turning on and there is a little green light which indicates the fact it should be working

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wagga Wagga NSW
    Posts
    1,181

    Exclamation

    Just out of interest, beefstar, what wireless router?

    I turned off my dLink G3340S router for about 5 minutes a little while ago, and when I turned it back on, everything is now working normally. (I'd turned it off and back on yesterday when I first encountered the problem, but that didn't fix it.)

    I can connect!

    Cheers,
    Andrew
    I'm not compatible with Windows

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    25

    Default

    We have a belkin wireless G router, we've had it for a couple of years now. It actually really good, i use it for stuff like xbox live, cos i can use the DMZ to have an open NAT and its fairly reliable, never cuts out or anything, but i was thinking about restarting or as the customer support idiots say, "power cycling' it. thanks for the advice!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •