Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 64
  1. #1

    Default Optus Price Hike

    Looks like Optus has increased the monthly handset repayments on their plans: 'yes' iPhone Plans, 'yes' iPhone Cap Plans

    Compare it with the prices announced back in July: http://forums.mactalk.com.au/47/5226...formation.html

    Update: Added old and new figures. Hopefully, there aren't any typos.

    'yes' iPhone Cap Plans - 12-month contract
    $19 (8GB): $51 to $54
    $19 (16GB): $61 to $65
    $49 (8GB): $37 to $40
    $49 (16GB): $47 to $50
    $59 (8GB): $32 to $35
    $59 (16GB): $42 to $46
    $79 (8GB): $27 to $30
    $79 (16GB): $37 to $41

    'yes' iPhone Cap Plans - 24-month contract
    $19 (8GB): $21 to $23
    $19 (16GB): $26 to $28
    $49 (8GB): $7 (unchanged)
    $49 (16GB): $12 to $13
    $59 (8GB): $2 to $3
    $59 (16GB): $7 to $9
    $79 (8GB): $0 (unchanged)
    $79 (16GB): $2 to $4

    'yes' iPhone Plans - 12-month contract
    $19 (8GB): $49 to $52
    $19 (16GB): $59 to $62
    $29 (8GB): $42 to $45
    $29 (16GB): $52 to $55
    $39 (8GB): $37 to $40
    $39 (16GB): $47 to $50
    $49 (8GB): $37 to $40
    $49 (16GB): $47 to $50
    $59 (8GB): $32 to $35
    $59 (16GB): $42 to $46
    $79 (8GB): $27 to $30
    $79 (16GB): $37 to $41
    $99 (8GB): $23 to $25
    $99 (16GB): $33 to $36
    $149 (8GB): $23 to $25
    $149 (16GB): $33 to $36

    'yes' iPhone Plans - 24-month contract
    $19 (8GB): $19 to $20
    $19 (16GB): $24 to $25
    $29 (8GB): $12 to $13
    $29 (16GB): $17 to $18
    $39 (8GB): $7 to $8
    $39 (16GB): $12 to $13
    $49 (8GB): $7 to $8
    $49 (16GB): $12 to $13
    $59 (8GB): $2 to $3
    $59 (16GB): $7 to $9
    $79 (8GB): $0 (unchanged)
    $79 (16GB): $2 to $4
    $99 (8GB): $0 (unchanged)
    $99 (16GB): $0 (unchanged)
    $149 (8GB): $0 (unchanged)
    $149 (16GB): $0 (unchanged)

  2. #2

    Default

    supply and demand

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,648

    Default

    yep you can't keep a waiting list for ever. They clearly can move all their stock so can't say I blame them.

    Still surprised Vodafone hasn't done anything on data yet I have to say, though I get no where near my 250mb anyway.
    An Aussie Online Sports Book store http://www.lockerroombooks.com.au

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    5,933

    Default

    That's slightly succulent. Pity the poor people who want to go on contract now, particularly when Optus don't appear to be doing anything about the crap 3g reception.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    866

    Default

    f**k Optus they are the worst telco IMO, even though my iPhone is with them. (rest of families phones are so I am to)

    Sorry had to let that out. Now wheres that let it all out thread?
    * iPhone 5 16GB Black & Slate * MacBook Pro 15" Mid 10 2.67GHz Core i7 8GB RAM Mountain Lion 10.8.2 * Samsung 1TB External *
    I am Andrew759 on MacRumors.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    127

    Default

    this only applies to new customers yeah?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    148

    Default

    That's pretty sneaky of them! Having not purchased an iPhone yet as I'm waiting for the 3G reception issues to be resoloved, it's very disappointing! GRR...

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    S 37 48' 26.8 E 144 59' 47.0
    Posts
    2,837

    Default

    Wonder if that will increase the difference with existing customers....sneaky...
    | MacBook Air 11" | Mac Mini 2011| iPhone 5 64GB | iPad Mini 16GB | iPod Nano 4GB | iPod Hi-Fi | AirPort Extreme |
    | Traded | Huy | Alessiman | DagrtheSnide | alan7948 | iCameron | chris | dsiew |

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,425

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ojk007 View Post
    this only applies to new customers yeah?
    That's a question I would like answered too.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SYDNEY
    Posts
    541

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ojk007 View Post
    this only applies to new customers yeah?
    yes it only should as you signed a contract to pay X amount of dollars for the handset repayments, not more.
    i reckon if they do call them and if nothing happens contact the TIO
    Owns:
    - MBP 2.33GHz 15" 4GB RAM 320GB HD - iPhone 3G 16GB White -
    - 2x WD Studio 1TB FW800 Drives - Apple TV 160GB -

  11. #11

    Default

    Better not, existing clients have signed a contract at a certain price...

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hobart, TAS
    Posts
    6,422

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by [schmick] View Post
    That's pretty sneaky of them! Having not purchased an iPhone yet as I'm waiting for the 3G reception issues to be resoloved, it's very disappointing! GRR...
    +1.

    Where's NeoRicen when you need him - those TCO's need to be worked out

  13. #13

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,192

    Default

    *looks around for NeoRicen*

    That better be for new customers only, or I am quitting my contract. I can because they were not the service terms I agreed to when I signed the contract on iPhone-day.

    Optus also speaks good english very:

  14. #14

    Default

    if they try to change it on me I think I would be able to twrminate my contract if I so please, oh and I wouldn't be giving the phone back. Nab I'd still stay, $48 extra is not much over 2 years.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,214

    Default

    Optus is the new Telstra... so Telstra is the new what... Optus?
    Bennettnz
    Macbook Pro 13"/Mac Pro 2.66ghz quad/imac 24" x 3/iMac 21"/iMac 17"/G5 1.8 ghz/eMac 1.25ghz/Apple TV/iPad/iPhone... iDebt massive - (thanks Steve!)

  16. #16

    Default

    Hang on, this doesn't go up for existing users no? It couldn't be...

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,891

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jazzdogg View Post
    Hang on, this doesn't go up for existing users no? It couldn't be...
    Nah, it won't go up, or else people would be breaking their contracts every day. Phone repayment amounts change, normally goes lower, but the new prices only apply for new contracts.
    Macbook Pro 2.4Ghz Unibody goodness
    20 Inch Cinema Display
    8Gb 3G iPhone, 3rd gen iPod Nano 4Gb, 3rd gen U2 ipod 20Gb

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    678

    Default Disappointed with Optus

    I am very disappointed with the transparency of Optus regarding data and phone usage. I am still not aware of a way you can view your current talk and data usage. Yes, the iPhone keeps a record of data usage and I haven't gone anywhere near my 250 Mb monthly allowance, but for some reason I've gone $50 over and it's not explained anywhere. Nor does their online account management let you view current usage.

    I'm just glad I got a 12 month contract so I can ditch Optus in 11 months time and go elsewhere. It's exactly the reason I opted for the shortest contract length that any of the networks provided save buying it outright. I logged a request for Optus to call me regarding this but guess what their turnaround time is.... 5 days!!!

  19. #19

    Default

    I too am having difficulty seeing data usage, but I'm getting there... finally got an account setup (can't do it via Safari or Firefox...) and when I find a way will post a solution. It currently tells me that the data isn't yet available.

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by simonm View Post
    Nor does their online account management let you view current usage.
    Current usage works for me without problems..
    By clicking on the "My Usage" button on the left navigation menu after logging in I am able to view current handset charges for the month and also seems to detail data usage. You can sort the data by clicking on the column headings (i.e. sort by 'description' to find the Internet ones easier)..

    Not sure why some of my Internet ones have some charges against them though.. Like $0.03 and other small amounts, given that I'm way under my data cap and also in my first month unlimited data... but anyway.

    I do realise though that the button near the bottom that says, "Check your internet usage" does not work.. but doing it the above way seems to provide all the required info?

    Or am I missing something here?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •