Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Page 2 of 14 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 267
  1. #21

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    863

    Default

    ok..so even if u get that error...
    are u able to use the phone as normal????

  2. #22

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    An Airport, Somewhere
    Posts
    1,678

    Default

    Go update! I attempted to use the download 2.0.1 software and it's just dropped my iphone into restore mode. Now i'm waiting for it to download via iTunes instead and attempt a restore. There goes my phone for the next 2-3 hours. I'd advise against trying to use the file linked in here with 7.7.1 on Optus unlocked iPhones. It took less than 30 seconds to give me the big finger and put it into the USB -> iTunes screen. *sigh* Here's hoping 2.0.1 fixes the niggly little things (ie stability)
    "Some say, that if you hold him in the wrong way, he doesn't work properly..."
    - Jeremy Clarkson

  3. #23

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    12,045

    Default

    I'm currently in the process of installing 2.0.1. I hope this doesn't mess up my iPhone (though I am not an unlocked customer).

  4. #24

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    808

    Default

    For me making calls works no net connection when using 3G GPRS.

    Network works fine as it always has.

    I am wondering if anyone with a carrier other than Optus are seeing the update carrier settings message and getting the error

    The full 2.0.1 update took about 10 minutes from start to finish for me.
    Nick Named RatBag for a very good reason

  5. #25

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bundoora, Vic
    Posts
    248

    Default

    Just ignore the error
    its just an iTunes server issue.

    (i think)

  6. #26

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    An Airport, Somewhere
    Posts
    1,678

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DeanCorp View Post

    Is this for the 3G One? I think my phone went into restore mode as it didn't like this firmware. It also seems several megs less than the one iTunes is currently downloading.
    "Some say, that if you hold him in the wrong way, he doesn't work properly..."
    - Jeremy Clarkson

  7. #27

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    863

    Default

    so at what point..for the unfortunate of us that cant do the install cuz we are at our offices....
    do u get the carrier settings error????
    can some one pls post...plssss

  8. #28

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    96

    Default

    I'm getting the same error message after updating, and I am a legitimate post-paid customer with Optus.

    It doesn't seem to affect anything. I can still use my iPhone perfectly, and the actual 2.0.1 update installed without a hitch.

  9. #29

    Default

    Yer, iTunes store is being flooded at the moment.

  10. #30

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    863

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rob05 View Post
    For me making calls works no net connection when using 3G GPRS.

    Network works fine as it always has.

    I am wondering if anyone with a carrier other than Optus are seeing the update carrier settings message and getting the error

    The full 2.0.1 update took about 10 minutes from start to finish for me.
    well over at whirlpool...u have this

    Ed writes...

    Anyone else get an error updating carrier settings with optus after updating to 2.0.1?

    I get the same error with Telstra

  11. #31

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    863

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WholesaleMagic View Post
    I'm getting the same error message after updating, and I am a legitimate post-paid customer with Optus.

    It doesn't seem to affect anything. I can still use my iPhone perfectly, and the actual 2.0.1 update installed without a hitch.
    ok...so basically that "error" is just a null error...
    no need to go panicky?

  12. #32

  13. #33

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bundoora, Vic
    Posts
    248

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nando View Post
    ok...so basically that "error" is just a null error...
    no need to go panicky?
    Not so much a null error.

    iTunes thinks that it needs to give you the update. It doesn't. You are on a different firmware, with a totally different carrier update.
    Just try the update and move on.

    You may experience that popup to install the update some other times when you plug into itunes. just cancel it.

  14. #34

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bundoora, Vic
    Posts
    248

    Default

    5F97 installed... a few problems but nothing to be worried about

  15. #35

    Default

    Woooo, no keyboard lag so far (2.0.1)

  16. #36

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    get-around! south-eastern Oz, far-east gippsland based (Victoria)
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Is that (5F97) the 2.1 beta? haha!

  17. #37

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    863

    Default

    i think the lags u may need to wait till tomorrow to really confirm...remember any re-start of ur phone kills the lags...so for a proper test..leave it on for more than 2 days..and see if u get the "lag"
    cant wait to go home..gosh only 10.30!! leaving at 4.30!!!
    the wait..

  18. #38

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    808

    Default

    Yep I am pretty sure it is and apple did state that users whom installed wouldn't be able to downgrade after installing it. Lookig for the info now and will post it.
    Nick Named RatBag for a very good reason

  19. #39

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bundoora, Vic
    Posts
    248

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by macropneuma View Post
    Is that (5F97) the 2.1 beta?
    Yes, its a beta OS for 2.1

    can it be downgraded? No.

  20. #40

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    327

    Default

    anyone with 3g jailbreak got this sussed out yet?
    - 32gb iPhone 4 (Black)
    - 32gb iPad 3G + WiFi
    - 2.4ghz 15" Macbook Pro

Page 2 of 14 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •