Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!

I just ordered my first mac, a 12 inch iBook.
    I bumped the HDD up to 60G, and will install after market ram when I get it.
    As soon as I get it I will fill the form in for Tiger up-to-date upgrade.

I can't wait to get a hold of it and play.
    As I have used linux before I am particularly looking forward to using the terminal.
    Are there any tips that you can give me on what to look out for when starting new with a fresh mac ?

I am studying Software Engineering and want to be a Unix/Linux programmer so this little machine should be great for coding on the bus and train. Are there any other coders here that can give me tips ?

I will post again when it arrives and tell you my first impressions.
    "Why are people so unkind", Kahmal
    12 inch iBook 1.2GHz G4, 60Gig HDD, 1.25GB RAM

cool.

congrats xatz, hopefully it all works well.
    Read my drivel, be dazzled by my Twitter

Are you some kind of devil trying to keep me from using my time usefully? - Currawong
    "You're an enigma wrapped in a ferreo roche" - fulltimecasual

I got mine a few weeks ago & love it.
    Have a bit of Linux experience (Smoothwall / Slackware) however if you're going to be mucking around in the terminal a bit check out iTerm - much better interface.
    http://iterm.sourceforge.net/
    Notebook: Apple 15" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz (Penryn)

Enjoy the experience!

xatz,

you wont regret it at all, i found the transition easy, now when i go on XP i am always looking for the expose` features. I ordered my ibook on the 11/4 (recieved 3 days later) so i missed out on the cheap upgrade , but i am happy to chill on panther for a bit. I am studying maths, and use various programs like maple,matlab,opendx and other scientific programs and also write a heap of "C", a good site if you into coding is

http://hpc.sourceforge.net/