Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Warwalking

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    1,266

    Default Warwalking

    Just curious, but has anyone heard of any apps for the iphone for this? I mean, with assisted gps, and wifi. It seems the perfect took for warwaling.

  2. #2

    Default

    Interesting - an app to automagically mark on Google Maps where there is open wi-fi?

    Sounds awesome

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    333

    Default

    If I had an iPhone, you might end up seeing a port of KisMac to the device...

    There is an existing stumbler for the jailbroken devices, but I don't think it supports GPS, or mapping, yet.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    1,266

    Default

    I just wonder if the iphone supports passive mode on its wifi drivers?
    ,,`,,
    ,,`,,
    ``,,`,,` `
    ,,`,,
    ,,`,,

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    333

    Default

    They appear to, from what I've seen, be similar to the drivers that the desktop Mac OS X uses, so this is a definite possibility. Failing that, there is active mode, or us writing new drivers. I just don't have the device to test.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Bendigo, Victoria
    Posts
    444

    Default

    i'd like this.
    question:
    as optus hotspots are linked with azure. are we simple allowed to use this network or do we enter a username, pasword or something?
    reason i ask is it wouldn't connect yesterday as i don't htink my number had completed porting over.

    anyone know?
    [B]mail | twitter |

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    New Hampshire, US
    Posts
    1,492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Piratbyran View Post
    Just curious, but has anyone heard of any apps for the iphone for this? I mean, with assisted gps, and wifi. It seems the perfect took for warwaling.
    I have an application, APmapper, that is just about ready to be released, but there are some "restrictions":


    • I only currently have a 1.1.4 'Touch, but it works beautifully on that!
    • without access to an iPhone and v2.0 it doesn't yet have access to GPS
    • it doesn't interface with Google Maps, though an extension could download them, offline.


    I'm holding out for the v2.0 jailbreak, and then possibly for someone to lend me an iPhone for a long enough for APmapper to support real GPS, and then I'll be releasing the application, and its source code, for all
    It's better to burn out than it is to rust.

  8. #8

    Default

    chrism238: how long do you need a 3G iPhone for? I can possibly arrange one to loan out for you

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    New Hampshire, US
    Posts
    1,492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by decryption View Post
    chrism238: how long do you need a 3G iPhone for? I can possibly arrange one to loan out for you
    Impressive, fast offer!
    I think I'll have access to one here in Perth this week, but then I need a week's holiday before Uni starts again. But I'll definitely keep your offer in mind, thanks
    It's better to burn out than it is to rust.

  10. #10
    chrome's Avatar chrome is offline MacTalk Engineering Department of Horrors. Mutilator of HTML Templates Extraordinaire. Man with the Very Long User Title. No you can't have one. Ha ha.

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,042

    Default

    The cheap and cheerful way to do this is to go into the wifi networks menu and it will update every few seconds with networks in range. Touch one that is unlocked and try your luck!
    In ur forums, upgradin'.

  11. #11

    Default

    injection????

  12. #12

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    1,407

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dathnoth View Post
    i'd like this.
    question:
    as optus hotspots are linked with azure. are we simple allowed to use this network or do we enter a username, pasword or something?
    reason i ask is it wouldn't connect yesterday as i don't htink my number had completed porting over.

    anyone know?
    there's a thread on this. just stumble the hotspot, join, then surf to a random web site, it will re-direct to their portal, register a new account from the portal (there's iphone instructions apparently), go through the registration process, and then your in like flynn

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    12,045

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrome View Post
    The cheap and cheerful way to do this is to go into the wifi networks menu and it will update every few seconds with networks in range. Touch one that is unlocked and try your luck!
    Then rinse and repeat every 5m or whatever walking pace you're at.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    New Hampshire, US
    Posts
    1,492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by titan44 View Post
    injection????
    Very unsupported by the iPhone's Marvell WiFi drivers. Some have written new drivers, but only on FW1.1.1 can you replace the iPhone kexts.
    It's a lost cause, seemingly ignored (deliberately) on v2.0 too.
    It's better to burn out than it is to rust.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •