Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Simple things

  1. #1

    Default

    Hi everyone,

    Finally have my pb g4 got it on saturday also brought cd storage from office works and a nice mouse. Will post some pictures when i get the time to upload it onto my website.

    the experience : Well it looks wow! i love the space screensaver especially at night when you can see the stars outside your window looks cool, however i do have one "stuck pixel" and im going to learn to live with it reading around it seems like a standard issue and not a problem.

    the screen is so crisp and clear and im using my pb atm its so mad!

    I downloaded msn and it never signs on, so i am now downloading aduim but one thing how can i uninstall msn?? i dont know how to can someone please let me know.


    as well as i tried the f8 key and f10 to try the expose but nothing happens it just changes the brightness am i missing something?? do i need to press two buttons together.
    The f11 key works fine.

    thanks for the tips

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,960

    Default

    Originally posted by fairy1@Apr 10 2005, 02:39 PM
    as well as i tried the f8 key and f10 to try the expose but nothing happens it just changes the brightness am i missing something?? do i need to press two buttons together.
    The f11 key works fine.
    Hold the "Fn" key while you press the other keys

  3. #3

    Default

    to uninstall MSN just drag "MSN Messenger" to the trash!

    neil

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    287

    Default

    For Adium I recommend you use the latest beta. http://www.adiumx.com/beta.html

    It's stable and a HUGE revamp from the current 0.7x versions - so no real point learning and configuring a soon to be expired version.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,808

    Default

    for expose you might have to set the keys up in system preferences.
    Look in your applications folder for it, and its in the personal row of icons.
    I have no successful trades

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    467

    Default

    F8 does nothing in Expose. Try F9.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,156

    Default

    on powerbooks (as someone said above) the F keys have two functions. Hence you have to press the 'fn' key expose to work on the F9 and F10 keys. i went into the expose preference pane and swapped it around so that i have to press 'fn' to change keyboard brightness. This is the only thing that annoyed me when i first got my PB.

    ________________________________________________

    There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand binary and those who don't.

    www.macmate.com.au

    Leader of: Apple General, Help! & iPods, iTMS & Accessories

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    elssewhere
    Posts
    2,734

    Default

    fairie,

    as said, you need to press "fn" key and hold while pressing f9/f10. then move your curser over the screen you want on top. in system preferences you can set your centre button (scroll wheel) on the mouse to be the expose button which is very handy.

    dont worry the more you use mac the more little things you will discover! just keep playing around, it is very intuitive.

  9. #9

    Default

    Thanks peeps omg can u believe its monday tomorrow

    wat a stresser lol

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,403

    Default

    shut up you. thank you for reminding me about tomorrow.
    *cries*

    we have less than four hours left of freedom...
    MacBook Pro | 2.26 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HD

  11. #11

    Default

    lol
    its more of a pain when ur a part time slash sorta fulltime student and full time employee
    ahhh booo . I havent even had time to install much on my powerbook since ive gotton it ive been so busy .

  12. #12

    Default

    Originally posted by macmate@Apr 10 2005, 05:59 PM
    This is the only thing that annoyed me when i first got my PB.
    At least you can change it

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •