Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Page 1 of 78 1 2 3 11 51 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 1552
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    281

    Default Vodafone's iPhone Plans

    news.com.au quotes:
    a Vodafone press release said the iPhone 3G "will be available via Vodafone on both prepay and contract price plans which will include great value data bundles".

    It also lists Vodafone's iPhone website as: iphone.vodafone.com.au - nothing to see yet though.

    C'mon Vodafone... we need some more info!
    / Black Macbook / 2GHz / Leopard
    // 24" iMac / 2.33GHz / Leopard
    /// iPhone 3G / 16 GB Black

  2. #2

    Default

    I just spoke with a Vodafone store and they said that Vodafone will have a pre-order page set up by tomorrow.
    Mac Pro 2.8Ghz Octo Core w 23" ACD, Macbook Pro 2.16Ghz, Iphone 3G 16GB white.

  3. #3

    Default

    From that statement it sounds like the prepay plans wont include an option for data.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    519

    Default

    i would of thought they would of been a little more organised given the big hype of the iphone... kinda disappointing in a way. But we're all patient people right....
    Macbook Pro 15" 2.2ghz
    Dell 24" Monitor, Ipod Nano G3 Black (8GB)
    Rocking the new Nokia e71 white......

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,420

    Default

    I was at a Vodafone store this morning and they received a link to allow customer interest to be registered.
    iPhone 4 | iPad | MBA | iMac 27"
    EyeTV/IceTV | SecuritySpy User

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    seaford.vic.au
    Posts
    2,043

    Default

    Me too
    both announced they were getting it and had (at least) as much idea as the rest of us that today would be the day.

    Perhaps they didn't have the price (which seems to be dictated by apple) until today?
    [B]| Flickr | blog | MacTalk Podcaster | Official PM-Bid Hater #1

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The Shire, Sydney
    Posts
    1,207

    Default

    I'm just going to buy the bloody phone as a Pre-Pay, and whack my Sim inside it. I have a feeling that the networks won't be able to limit software/features on the iPhone like they do with other phones.

    This is an email virus for Mac OS X. It works on the honor system. Please start deleting random files on your system and forward this message to everyone in your address book.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    3,560

    Default

    Even without the price you could do something like a pre-order page

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The Shire, Sydney
    Posts
    1,207

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thatfilthyspringbok View Post
    Even without the price you could do something like a pre-order page
    This is Vodafone don't forget.

    This is an email virus for Mac OS X. It works on the honor system. Please start deleting random files on your system and forward this message to everyone in your address book.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    519

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Paxton View Post
    This is Vodafone don't forget.
    and i guess even a front page announcement saying "its arrived click, click for more information" is too much as well lol
    Macbook Pro 15" 2.2ghz
    Dell 24" Monitor, Ipod Nano G3 Black (8GB)
    Rocking the new Nokia e71 white......

  11. #11

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    3,660

    Default

    My current iPhone is with Virgin who piggy-back of Optus' network, and in some areas (like my studio) I often get less than stellar reception (I realize the new plastic back will help that) but who does Voda leech from, Telstra?
    I am the tech savvy at-risk youth.

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phase View Post
    but who does Voda leech from, Telstra?
    On 3G, they have their own network, I believe.

    Coverage Maps

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    281

    Default

    Vodafone have already had two previous expression of interest pages for the iPhone... maybe they are going to work those customers first, before putting another one up?
    / Black Macbook / 2GHz / Leopard
    // 24" iMac / 2.33GHz / Leopard
    /// iPhone 3G / 16 GB Black

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,182

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by macaholic View Post
    On 3G, they have their own network, I believe.

    Coverage Maps
    Virgin is Optus.

  15. #15

    Default

    doe anyone know if there will be a preorder page soon
    Macbook Pro 17" i7 Unibody : Mac Mini Server : iMac 24"

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,182

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cmanou View Post
    doe anyone know if there will be a preorder page soon
    The second post of this thread answers that question.

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    1,027

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NeoRicen View Post
    Virgin is Optus.
    He was talking about Vodafone.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    819

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PHASE
    but who does Voda leech from, Telstra?
    Quote Originally Posted by macaholic View Post
    On 3G, they have their own network, I believe.
    Quote Originally Posted by neoricen
    Virgin is Optus.
    macaholic is correct.

    (neoricen might be too, but the comment has no relevance to macaholic's answer )


    BTW As a shareholder of both, I can report that Optus and Vodafone have been playing leapfrog over the past 12 months with announcements of accelerated timetables for additional 3 G coverage.

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,182

    Default

    Virgin doesn't make their own networks, and they're completely part of Optus as of 2006, and they've always used the Optus network.

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    1,027

    Default

    Vodafone ≠ Virgin.

Page 1 of 78 1 2 3 11 51 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •