Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6

    Default cannot uninstall iStat menus

    Hey,
    I tried to uninstall iStat menus but it says "cannot remove core components". I've tried installing the new version, but it says "cannot copy files". anyone have any ideas on how to fix this?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Royston Vasey
    Posts
    9,549

    Default

    Nicked straight from iSlayer Support - copied 'n pasted:

    Uninstalling iStat menus

    Simply open up the iStat menus pref pane in System Preferences, click on the General section, then click uninstall to launch the uninstaller.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6

    Default

    sorry, I should've added that I've done that already. When the iStat menus uninstall dialog comes up and after I click the Uninstall button, that's when it says "Unable to remove core components".

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6

    Default

    any help?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    12,045

    Default

    How about a restart?

    Maybe it cannot remove them because they are currently in use.

    If you log out and log back in, maybe that's when it will proceed to remove your file/s. A restart will also do the same thing.

    Maybe that will help (sorry I don't use iStat menus so I am only guessing!). Give it a go and see if things work out.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I've tried restarting (multiple times), but that hasn't worked. Would anyone know how to manually remove the files? I'm not sure where they're stored.

  7. #7

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    St Kilda, Melb
    Posts
    884

    Default

    There is another thread about this very same problem floating around.

    Go to Mac HD > Users > (yourusername) > Library > Application Support
    and delete the 'iStat Menus' folder manually.

    Now install. Voila!

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I d/l'd the latest version, but the install doesn't complete. It starts, then says "Unable to copy files" and aborts the install process, so I can't do that either!

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    St Kilda, Melb
    Posts
    884

    Default

    As above

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6

    Default

    hey thanks - that worked perfectly!

    thanks a lot!

  12. #12

    Talking You Rule

    I just installed Snow Leopard and the old version of Istat I had previously installed made the top bar totally blank - no time, battery status, wireless indicator etc. etc.

    I installed the new version of iStat and uninstalled it but to no avail. Happily, I found this message, deleted the iStat Menu and the iSlayer Menu and all went back to normal instantly.

    Thanks for making the internet world a better place

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    667

    Default

    So I have download the app it is nice, and the trial period is over and I want to Uninstall the app but I cant hit the Uninstall button as it wants me to buy or register which I don't want to do is there a fix for this?

    Edit
    Sorted it I went to Mac HD > Library > Application Support
    and used the uninstall manually.
    Last edited by darksplat; 7th May 2010 at 08:37 PM.
    www.ribbonista.com.au
    First Person in Canberra to get the 3G 8G iPhone on Optus on the 11/07/08, wii console nick Darksplatw wii number 7209 0535 2983 2966 PM me to be my friend

  14. #14

    Default

    hi iv tried the above going through Mac HD, users etc... but cant seem to find the folder its as if it doesnt exist, yet there are three anoying marks in my top tool bar... any help?

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    667

    Default

    it isnt in mac HD > users > Library it is in Mac HD > Library > Application Support you just went a little to far try that
    www.ribbonista.com.au
    First Person in Canberra to get the 3G 8G iPhone on Optus on the 11/07/08, wii console nick Darksplatw wii number 7209 0535 2983 2966 PM me to be my friend

  16. #16

    Default

    Ohhh my bad thanks dude worked. :-)

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    667

    Default

    anytime what they should do is have a uninstall button on the registration page if you dont want to continue the trial period. food for thought
    www.ribbonista.com.au
    First Person in Canberra to get the 3G 8G iPhone on Optus on the 11/07/08, wii console nick Darksplatw wii number 7209 0535 2983 2966 PM me to be my friend

  18. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darksplat View Post
    anytime what they should do is have a uninstall button on the registration page if you dont want to continue the trial period. food for thought
    "To uninstall iStat Menus, simply choose iStat Menus > Uninstall... from the menubar, then click Uninstall. This works, even if your trial period is over."

    Getting started with iStat Menus by Bjango

    iStat Menus 3.02 also has an Uninstall button on the "trial over" overlay.

  19. #19

    Thumbs up Solution to get ride of the !!!!!!!!

    To anyone who is having this problem and can't seem to fix it try this:


    Go here:

    Getting started with iStat Menus by Bjango

    Install the istat menu (free)

    Then click unistall from the menu


    This was the only way I could get rid of it. : ) thanks guys

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •