Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!

Default Quicksilver 733 - IDE replacement time i think...

Hey all - another newbie here, with what i suspect to be a sad boot disc.

My trusty, loyal and much loved eBay special 733 (DVR108, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, Tiger for about $300 a year ago, starting many "why didnt i ditch Windoze years ago?" comments ) has 2 60gig Apple drives.

A week ago, it simply refused to boot, getting stuck at the grey screen stage. Finally found out that holdign the C key down will let me boot off the bootleg OSX discs i have and reinstalled the OS. I noted that it automatically sidestepped the Primary drive and installed itself on the Backup, which is now the Boot disc it seems..

All my data is intact (although i seem to have lost emails, but i am not sure thats not my poor setup in Mail...) and its all systems go again! A bit odd methinks...

Anyway, given the IDE has to be pushing its safe lifespan by now, I think its time to upgrade even if on the offchance its a dodge IDE that caused my minor meltdown.

So far I have learned that i wont get it to recognise anything bigger than 120gig, which is fine (i use a 250gig WD external for the big stuff and my music collection anyway) and that i need a PATA type drive (otherwise a PCI card to run SATA).

Not worth the money for the adaptor card (would rather spend the dosh an G5 if it needs a large outlay), so what spec should i be looking for exactly in a new 120-160gig IDE?

Cheers

Welcome to MTAU

That's weird.

I just picked up the same machine and it has a 160GB drive in it, which IS recognised.

I have owned the machine for a few days only so I don't know what is special about it etc... it is definitely more than 120GB.

I'm using both 40GB (IBM) and a 160GB (Seagate) in it. Actually it's just sitting there but it's still my machine.