Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    12,045

    Default Quick Question: MacBook Mid 2007

    Can this support 4GB of RAM?

    From Corsair/Kingston (and OWC) it says that it can do 4GB.

    It is NOT the Santa Rosa model, or the Penryn (latest) models. I'm guessing 3GB ceiling?

    It's the Mid 2007 model, not Late 2007, or Early 2008. Just wanted to confirm is it 3GB or 4GB max?

    Apple Support pages say 2GB but I know it can do at least 3GB.
    MacBook (Mid 2007) - Technical Specifications

    Thank you!

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ellenbrook, WA
    Posts
    6,102

    Default

    Just did a quick check on Apple-history.

    Looks like it's 3Gb cap.
     iPhone & iPhone 3GS, Macbook Pro 17" C2D 2.8ghz. iMac alu. 20" C2D 2ghz. iMac 20" CD 2ghz & Cube 450mhz. Website

  3. #3

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NE Vic
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    MacTracker is generally good for this kind of info too.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    12,045

    Default

    Cheers soulman

    I knew about the program but was too lazy to download/install.

    I usually just go off websites.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    477

    Default

    awesome. so mine is 3gb not 2gb. good to know....
    2.16ghz 2gb 160gb MacBook - Leopard os
    4gb iPod Nano 1G
    8gb iPhone
    2.0ghz C2D white 17" iMac
    successful trades: ilostmypassword, jeremy_warnock, FBTN

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Canberra ACT
    Posts
    3,171

    Default

    The MBP that was announced / released July 07 (Santa Rosa) was the first MBP that was able to install and use 4GB RAM... aka mine!
    mulitple iOS devices - iPhone, iPad Air, and iPod nano
    Mac OS X
    - 13 MacBook Pro with Retina, Mac mini for media server, and a Mac Book Air here somewhere still too

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    12,045

    Default



    Sorry to bring up an old thread, but that is what I'm seeing in my 2.16GHz C2D Black MacBook.

    Is it meant to show 4GB, but have 3GB addressable? Or is it supposed to show 3GB?

    I have 2x 2GB sticks installed for 4GB total on a pre-Santa Rosa model MacBook (as per original post). Thanks!

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    477

    Default

    oooh..... this shall be interesting.....
    *keeps tabs on this thread to see if mine is capable too*
    2.16ghz 2gb 160gb MacBook - Leopard os
    4gb iPod Nano 1G
    8gb iPhone
    2.0ghz C2D white 17" iMac
    successful trades: ilostmypassword, jeremy_warnock, FBTN

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,561

    Default

    Does iStat show utilization of 4GB?
    Something about Jimby.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    12,045

    Default

    This is what I'm seeing:

    iStat


    Activity Monitor


    I suppose they add up to 3.0 - 3.2GB.

    Crisis over.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •