Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question I'm New To Mac - Help Me Out

Hello fellow Aussie Mac users/owners,

I am Thomas and I'm 13. I just joined the site today and I love it. I'm in year 8 now and I have been thinking. By the time I'm in year 10 I'm going to need my own omputer for study and school work. I also want one for fun! I am very creative on computers like making pictures in Photoshop and making websites aswell as videos.I know Macs can provide there! I have been a PC user all my life and I am now deciding to save up for a Mac. I hope to get one from now to the end of 2009. I just have some questions:

What's DMG? Is is like an installer file format? Example: .exe on Windows
    Also What is: PDA, MBP

I love Macs now and can't wait to get one. But can anyone tell me that advantages they have over Microsoft Windows, just so I know i'm making the right decision. Thanks,

Thomas

DMG: DMG is a disk image format which can contain an installer or application.
    PDA: Personal Digital Assistant, a la Palm, PocketPC, etc.
    MBP: MacBook Pro, Apple's pro-notebook.
    MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo 15" | iMac Core 2 Duo 20"
    iPod 5G 30GB | iPod nano 4GB | Apple TV 40GB | iPhone 3G 8GB

Oh thanks mate. I know about MacBooks but just not the abreviations. Thanks

Tommy - get the Mac. You'll never look back and you can always get Windows programs like Word etc at student rate if you need to for school/uni (given that most use thee programs as standard on either Mac or PC).

I've just made the switch and I loooooove it.

Plus, if you purchase something with a little more grunt, like the MacBook Pro: MBP - with 4GB RAM, using an application called: Parallels, you can run both Windows XP (the upgrade to Vista :P) and Mac OS X @ the same time.

Have both Operating Systems in one without rebooting.