Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1

    Default Timemachine - who's got it working?

    I have a 1GHz TiBook and a 2GHz G5 iMac, both recently upgraded to Leopard. One reason for the upgrade was the prospect of using Timemachine.

    I eventually got it working on the iMac (I think) but I've had no success so far on the TiBook. I'm using Firewire for both.

    There's a fair bit of chatter on this but no definitive solutions.

    What's your experience?

    DeF

  2. #2

    Default

    Works fine on three machines, two backing up across the wireless network.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    982

    Default

    I struggled with it stalling at 49.80gb several times, until I turned spotlight off, screensaver and energy saver off. Then success. On an iMac though. FW400.
    half goon half god: The same should go for people shoving 'Mac' in their nick. Unless it's clever, NO.

  4. #4

    Default

    i've had it working on my macbook and just quietly on my hackintosh while i wait for penryn mac pros to be released.

    backed up over 150gb in the first go over USB2 - i will be getting FW800 but no problems on either machine.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere Slaying Vampires
    Posts
    6,302

    Default

    No problems here. Worked first time

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    adelaide.sa.au
    Posts
    264

    Default

    My external drive is only 250GB, so I went into the settings and disabled backing up everything on the drive except my user folder (plus excluded my movies folder too)... thus purely my own work and preferences are included. Works a charm!

    If my drive did die I couldn't care less about reinstalling everything, so long as I can simply get all my work back.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Perth, WA
    Posts
    55

    Default

    the first backup is the most painful. after that its unnoticeable. its already save my bacon...

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Adelaide and Sydney
    Posts
    162

    Default

    Works like a charm on MBP. Unfortunately I let it backup some old VPC files and my Parallels stuff but I just excluded them and then retrospectively removed them for my backup. I'm seriously impressed..

    Ian

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    769

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by def View Post
    I eventually got it working on the iMac (I think) but I've had no success so far on the TiBook.
    Any error messages on the TiBook?

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sendai View Post
    Any error messages on the TiBook?
    Nothing more useful than "an error occured during backup" (or similar). A quick Google showed that I was not alone in this. Nor does there seem to be a consistent set-up (eg USB vs Firewire, PPC vs Intel, etc). I might have to wait for 10.5.1 to fix this...

    DeF

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Crashed in a Melbourne bike lane
    Posts
    1,101

    Default

    Working on both an iMac (Firewire) and Macbook Pro (USB2). Restored entire disk from the Firewire drive - worth the money already. Don't even know its working in the background - no speed issues at all.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    elssewhere
    Posts
    2,734

    Default

    works perfectly for me on my MBP via FW800 to a LaCie D2, initial backup was quick and easy, dont notice the incremental ones going on and it has already proved its worth in restoring a couple of preference panes i deleted when fiddling with stuff.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •