Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 121
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    507

    Default Leopard: Upgrade or Fresh install?

    Having never faced this issue, as this is my first Mac, what is the best way to go about installing Leopard?

    At this stage I will do a full backup to a Lacie FW800 Hdd via SuperDuper, in case of hassles.

    But from here do I wipe and do a fresh install and copy over Documents etc? Is it possible to sync settings like bookmarks from the backup ? ( I have a .Mac so I can do bookmarks + addressbook anyway over the net ).

    Or, is it just as good to run upgrade?

    I certainly don't mind reloading apps and stuff, as it is so much easier on a Mac.!!!!!

  2. #2

    Default

    I'll be doing an upgrade but still making a backup beforehand.

    OSX seems to handle upgrading a lot better than windows does :P

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,201

    Default

    Fresh install every time for me.
    Read my drivel, be dazzled by my Twitter

    Are you some kind of devil trying to keep me from using my time usefully? - Currawong
    "You're an enigma wrapped in a ferreo roche" - fulltimecasual

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    6,614

    Default

    Fresh install for sure, my imac is running slower than my macbook pro (same cpu/RAM)

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    212

    Default

    Do a fresh install!

    it will be interesting to see how Time Machine works with backing up the existing hard disk before install...

    Not long until we find out...
    iPad 2 (64Gb GSM), 32Gb iPhone 4 (4.3.2), 24" iMac 2.8 C2D, 15" MBP i7 2.8GHz, Apple TV 160 Gb.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    659

    Default

    I'm surprised at the responses... I thought everyone was going to say "upgrade - OS X is designed to work flawlessly this way".

  7. #7

    Default

    Fresh install every time for me too.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Fresh install, always feels like a new computer...

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    Fresh install, none of those left over fragments of files
    Check out this app and maybe use it to book a restaurant or order some munch. Owned by an Aussie :) App Store link

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    2,432

    Default

    I am thinking I need a fresh install. Only thing I am worried about is my Firefox boomarks..any way to back these up? Cheers

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    287

    Default

    Fresh install, as I derive some form of sick pleasure from configuring a new environment to my precise requirements.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Manly, Sydney
    Posts
    159

    Default

    My iMac G4 originally came installed with Jaguar and I've only ever upgraded (Panther, Tiger). I've never had any problems, although I do run a defrag roughly every six months.

    I'll probably just upgrade the iMac again this time, but my MacBook will get a clean install.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Darwin
    Posts
    839

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.wilson View Post
    I am thinking I need a fresh install. Only thing I am worried about is my Firefox boomarks..any way to back these up? Cheers
    make a copy of ~/Library/Application Support/Firefox/Profiles/qn87hqi6.default/bookmarks.html

    where qn87hqi6 will be some random string.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    SunnyCoast.au
    Posts
    1,496

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.wilson View Post
    I am thinking I need a fresh install. Only thing I am worried about is my Firefox boomarks..any way to back these up? Cheers
    It's true there's nothing quite like a fresh install to make you feel as though you have a new computer, but keep a backup of your HD to bring accross prefs, app support folders etc.. i haven't deleted mine since reinstalling last week with 10.4.10.

    For firefox you can export your bookmarks as a file under Bookmarks/Organise bookmarks then go to the 'File' menu /Export.
    iMac C2Duo, MacBook Pro C2Duo, iPhone 3Gs
    Tradies : applecollector / thatfilthyspringbok / decryption / mwot / c3017474 / wowbagger / squozen / jarrodb / jaysee

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    2,432

    Default

    Thanks guys! Fresh install for me then! =) I too like starting new and getting it right with a bit of a spring clean thrown in!

  16. #16

    Default

    so if i have a super duper backup, what do i do to bring everything back over after a fresh install?
    [infinite::resolution]

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,215

    Default

    OK, so as per last time I'll do a fresh install. In doing so I'll back up to my external drive, which has the one volume (i.e. not partitioned in any way)..

    So, when I copy that information back after the Fresh Install, and it begins to run time machine, will time machine simply wipe that external drive and start doing its thing?

    Time Machine worries me.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Suitcase somewhere between Melbourne and Brisbane
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.wilson View Post
    I am thinking I need a fresh install. Only thing I am worried about is my Firefox boomarks..any way to back these up? Cheers
    I use foxmarks to sync my bookmarks between a few computers I use, but this would also be a lazy backup option

    As for the upgrade, even if I wasn't getting a new machine, I'd do a reinstall anyway, due to the large amounts of stuff compiled by hand and then a combination of macports and fink mess all over the place
    Brisbane Cocoaheads | App Fission | Tune Locator - find nearby radio stations on your iPhone

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    484

    Default

    Backup. Fresh installs all round.

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    I'd back everything up by drag and drop to your external hard drive, then install leopard. Drag everything back to your computer.

    Then wipe the external hard drive, then run time machine.

    That should get it all going without any problems.
    Check out this app and maybe use it to book a restaurant or order some munch. Owned by an Aussie :) App Store link

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •