Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Default CD drive on my mac BROKEN...?

    Hey,
    I have a one-year old iMac that is, unfortunately, JUST out of warranty. Anyway, recently, the CD-DVD drive hasn't been working. When you insert a DVD it tries to read it, making the usual noises, then makes a clicking noise and then spits it out! It's funny, because I tried using it heaps since it started making this noise, and there is a VERY small chance it works! I tried it with a futurama DVD and the first couple of times it clicked, and then miraculously WORKED! But then it didn't work after that as well. Oh, and normal CD's work good as well.

    Any help? It's most annoying, because I use the CD drive EVERY DAY (who doesn't?) and I need it to work!!

    Thanks,
    Domenic.

    The disk burning stats (from about my computer)
    MATSHITA DVD-R UJ-846:

    Firmware Revision: FB2U
    Interconnect: ATAPI
    Burn Support: Yes (Apple Shipped/Supported)
    Cache: 2048 KB
    Reads DVD: Yes
    CD-Write: -R, -RW
    DVD-Write: -R, -RW, +R, +RW, +R DL
    Burn Underrun Protection CD: Yes
    Burn Underrun Protection DVD: Yes
    Write Strategies: CD-TAO, CD-SAO, DVD-DAO
    Media: No

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Minjup, WA 6123
    Posts
    588

    Default

    Domzo,
    Had exactly the same problem with the Matshita in my PB.
    It died eventually and also out of warranty.
    Bunch of folk on MacTalk also reported problems (inc. instant death) with Matshita drives.
    The replacement ("refurbished by Apple" -- not a brand new drive) was quoted at a ridiculous price, given the current value of a 12" PB.
    So I ended up pretty much using it as a desktop and bought an external CD/DVD reader/burner.
    Had no problems with this and get better results that I do burning to my new MB.
    Can put you on to the best deal I could get on an external drive, after much price checking -- though others on MacTalk may have cheaper and better solutions.
    Hope it works out for you.

    mct
     MacBook (Unibody) 13in, 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM, OS10.5.7 + PowerBook G4, 12in, 1.5GHz, 1.25GB RAM, OS10.4.11 + Bondi Blue iMac, 96MB RAM, OS9.2.2


  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Surfers Paradise
    Posts
    2,356

    Default

    Damn!..... Forgot the Applecare plan!.....
    "I want to lie, Shipwrecked and comotose, drinking fresh Mango Juice'.

    www.barcoasters.com.au

  4. #4

    Default

    Haha, ok, thanks for your help.
    Rang the Apple Support (At Next Byte) and they said that if it was a faulty drive they could give me a new one for around $200, and if it is a faulty motherboard connection, around $1000. I am not willing to spend one thousand dollars! I might just do what Mctext says, if it is a faulty connection just get a new drive.
    Thanks for all your help...
    Domenic

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,086

    Default

    yeah, external drive is the way to go - bout $100 for an external enclosure and a DVD burner
    Apple MacBook Pro Intel Core 2 Duo T7600, 2gb RAM, 160gb HDD, 15.4" Glossy WXGA+, ATi Mobility Radeon X1600 256mb
    Acer TravelMate 6292 Intel Core 2 Duo T7300, 2gb RAM, 250gb HDD, Intel GMA X3100, 12.1" WXGA
    Gaming Tower Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450, 4gb DDR2-1066mhz Corsair Dominator RAM, Gigabyte EP45-DQ6, 3 x 1TB HDDs, HIS Radeon HD4870 512mb

  6. #6

    Default

    try a cd/dvd lens cleaner first.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    Hi domzo,

    It's unlikely the drive's data cable has a "loose connection"; it's more a way for Apple to fob you off. The drive you have installed is a known dodgy unit - you could easily find a comparable model on eBay, or upgrade to another slot-loading notebook drive.

    JB

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,960

    Default

    I'd personally find a comparable drive that will fit, which is likely to be region free too. Which is a bonus, then just do the swap. Grab a service manual or something and do it yourself (assuming your not a bad at such things).

  9. #9

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,086

    Default

    is it a standard notebook optical drive or will the bezel limit you to getting a slot loading one of the same brand/configuration, just so the hole lines up?
    Apple MacBook Pro Intel Core 2 Duo T7600, 2gb RAM, 160gb HDD, 15.4" Glossy WXGA+, ATi Mobility Radeon X1600 256mb
    Acer TravelMate 6292 Intel Core 2 Duo T7300, 2gb RAM, 250gb HDD, Intel GMA X3100, 12.1" WXGA
    Gaming Tower Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450, 4gb DDR2-1066mhz Corsair Dominator RAM, Gigabyte EP45-DQ6, 3 x 1TB HDDs, HIS Radeon HD4870 512mb

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •