Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    229

    Question Frontrow remote not recognised by macbook

    Hi Guys, (that's a non-gender specific guys. Like guys as in people)

    I may have hit my first snag with the new Macbooks which are now only 2 days old...

    For some reason one of the macbooks (the black one) doesnt recognise the remote. Have tried pairing it, but it's as though the IR sensor on that macbook is just not functioning. The same remote works on the white macbook.

    Am I missing something here? I have also tried to turn off the IR, then turn it back on...

    Any help is apreciated - thanks
          

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,201

    Default

    Do other remotes work on your black macbook?
    Read my drivel, be dazzled by my Twitter

    Are you some kind of devil trying to keep me from using my time usefully? - Currawong
    "You're an enigma wrapped in a ferreo roche" - fulltimecasual

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,895

    Default

    Did you just install the latest MS Office update? For some unexplainable reason, Office 11.3.5 killed my remote until I restarted. {golf claps microsoft}
    "The need is not for, say, half a million -inch drill bits. The need is that there are ten million -inch holes that need to be drilled." - Robert Noyce
    www.nickforge.com

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    229

    Default

    Disko, the other remote doesnt work with the black macbook, I've dont the test to see the IR Signal through the isight camera and it's visible.

    And Forgie, office update hasn't gone on the machine either. Nothing has been added software wise, we're still using the Office test drive that came with the macbooks.

    darn it!
          

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,895

    Default

    Tried restarting?
    "The need is not for, say, half a million -inch drill bits. The need is that there are ten million -inch holes that need to be drilled." - Robert Noyce
    www.nickforge.com

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,201

    Default

    pending a restart, it sounds like the IR receiver (not the remote) might be dodgy.
    Read my drivel, be dazzled by my Twitter

    Are you some kind of devil trying to keep me from using my time usefully? - Currawong
    "You're an enigma wrapped in a ferreo roche" - fulltimecasual

  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    229

    Default

    Yeah... We crossed our fingers and did a restart - Still no go.

    *The sound of my mac-joy crashing down to the ground was audible*

    Spose I will ring Mac and see what they say.

    Thanks Guys...
          

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,895

    Default

    Just to make sure - you don't have the "Disable remote control infrared receiver" checkbox ticked in SysPrefs->Security, do you?
    "The need is not for, say, half a million -inch drill bits. The need is that there are ten million -inch holes that need to be drilled." - Robert Noyce
    www.nickforge.com

  9. #9

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    229

    Default

    Nah.. That would be very silly! But not totally beyond me to do! I even tried to check that, then uncheck it..

    Still my white one is the picture of perfection. Runs like a dream and is soooo quiet compared to my old HP Paviallion. That things dual fans sound more like an air raid by WW2 choppers than a laptop!
          

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •