Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Aust.
    Posts
    202

    Default

    I have a G4 17" 1.25GHz imac and an ELgato Eyehome digital media streamer.

    For some reason I can not play back MPEG2 & MPEG4/3 files on the mac (both quicktime & MS Media Player), but they playback fine on the EyeHome and my Win PC.

    I guess this is something to do with missing codecs etc, I have tried adding everything I can find but no luck.

    Any help would be much appreciated.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere Slaying Vampires
    Posts
    6,302

    Default

    if they are recorded from an eyetv they are in a special format.

    try playing them with VLC anyway

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,201

    Default

    VLC Media Player or mplayer will be able to play whatever you throw at them.
    Read my drivel, be dazzled by my Twitter

    Are you some kind of devil trying to keep me from using my time usefully? - Currawong
    "You're an enigma wrapped in a ferreo roche" - fulltimecasual

  4. #4

    Default

    Originally posted by Disko@Jan 13 2005, 01:37 PM
    VLC Media Player or mplayer will be able to play whatever you throw at them.
    Hey does anyone have a problem with VLC sezeing up their computer for like ten seconds when you first open it? Happens every time on my iMac and PowerBook. I get over it, and usually just leave VLC open :P

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere Slaying Vampires
    Posts
    6,302

    Default

    is that with all files Hawker?
    What version of VLC?

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    1,052

    Default

    Nope. Only only complaint is that VLC doesnt play some versions of WMP (audio plays, but not video) more does i tplay real files

  7. #7

    Default

    Originally posted by islayer@Jan 13 2005, 01:51 PM
    is that with all files Hawker?
    What version of VLC?
    all files.

    the latest. 0.7.2- I think thats the latest?

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,201

    Default

    except those, markh.

    The windows media it wont play is the window media9 stuff that only windows media player can play. Gee that company make some catchy application and filetype names.
    Read my drivel, be dazzled by my Twitter

    Are you some kind of devil trying to keep me from using my time usefully? - Currawong
    "You're an enigma wrapped in a ferreo roche" - fulltimecasual

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere Slaying Vampires
    Posts
    6,302

    Default

    lol disko.
    nice smiley

    And Hawker try VLC 0.8
    its still in beta i think but i havent had any major problems with it.
    just dont play mpeg2 files with it on a g5 you will understand why if you try it

  10. #10

    Default

    Originally posted by islayer@Jan 13 2005, 02:02 PM
    lol disko.
    nice smiley

    And Hawker try VLC 8.0
    its still in beta i think but i havent had any major problems with it.
    just dont play mpeg2 files with it on a g5 you will understand why if you try it
    Thanks islayer.

    I don't have a G5 so I can't...

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere Slaying Vampires
    Posts
    6,302

    Default

    thats good then.
    for anyone else who does have a g5 vlc 0.8 has a bug in it where it will disable system audio.its only an issues with mpeg2 files
    sometimes you will have to logout to fix it.

    EDIT-Thanks Mark.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    1,052

    Default

    0.8.1 is the latest

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sellicks Beach, SA
    Posts
    3,537

    Default

    I still use VLC 0.7.2; 0.8.1 is a bug ridden dog IMO. Some idiot decided to add some gimicky features and screwed it totally basically.
    However, to address the original question, to play these formats in the quicktime player, see the screen shot for the codecs you will need (and where they should be located). You can google all of these and download them for free (the xvid codec does nothing extra that I am aware of. The first four are essential pretty much) Once you have these quicktime player will be able to handle just about everything. Although I rarely use it it has some features that i like.

    cheers, kim

    PS the image is only around 50 KB

    EDIT: except .wmv of course. What can I say about windows media files? Use the crappy buggy Microsoft offering of a player (POSware available from Microsoft)

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Aust.
    Posts
    202

    Default

    Thanks for your help everyone, I'll give it another go tonight and see what happens.

    Cheers,

    J

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,201

    Default

    Kim, those are some interesting HD names you've got there.
    Read my drivel, be dazzled by my Twitter

    Are you some kind of devil trying to keep me from using my time usefully? - Currawong
    "You're an enigma wrapped in a ferreo roche" - fulltimecasual

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    Originally posted by hawker@Jan 13 2005, 01:49 PM
    Hey does anyone have a problem with VLC sezeing up their computer for like ten seconds when you first open it?
    Yep, it seems pretty common on some various builds of VLC - but try another release, that usually fixes it.

    JB

  17. #17

    Default

    Originally posted by islayer@Jan 13 2005, 02:09 PM
    thats good then.
    for anyone else who does have a g5 vlc 0.8 has a bug in it where it will disable system audio.its only an issues with mpeg2 files
    sometimes you will have to logout to fix it.
    islayer, it did not fix it

    Have installed 0.8.1 but it looks heaps better!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •