Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northern Beaches , Sydney
    Posts
    2,989

    Default Got me a Lombard.

    OK. So as the title says , I have just got a Lombard and I am in love . Never had a laptop before.
    Specs :
    400 mHz processor with 1mb L2 cache
    9gig IBM HD
    128 mb Ram
    OS10.3 and 9.2.2

    So yes it boots up OK although sloooooowly and I can do stuff on it. I want to put more Ram in and a faster bigger HD and may even run only OS 9.2 on it. Slow graphics and 512mb memory will probably determine that.All I will be doing on this is probably writing Word docs and i have Office 98 and Office 2004 ( if I need to ) so no probs there. I have searched the forums here esp. about HD's ...

    From Brains' post in the thread about flash memory in a Pismo
    The best ways to improve your Pismo's performance is to install as much real SO-DIMM memory as you can afford, and upgrade the hard drive to a Toshiba or Hitachi 5400 RPM mechanism that is ATA-5 compliant (the Pismo's onboard ATA is not fast, so installing a 7200 RPM drive will not give you any speed boost).

    Quotes from other posts
    Curra
    The Lombard and Pismo powerbooks, unfortunately, had a limit to the amount of power they could supply the hard drive. It was often the case that a drive installed that drew too much power would fail after a short while.

    The only way to find out if a drive will work is install it. If you regularly hear the drive heads re-setting themselves (a clicking sound) then you know the drive is going to fail.

    Byrd ( 05/05-06 )
    I'm the same - most 2.5" Fujitsu drives I've come across have been near silent and run cool. Equivalent IBM/Hitachi drives, in comparison, have been whinier and run a little warmer.
    End quotes

    I want to stick in 2 x 256 mb Ram to give me a total of 512mb.
    I've googled but had no luck getting any here in Aus. so maybe ebay in the US or new from OWC or other ? Any advice / links?

    The HD I want is probably no bigger than a 40Gig ( partly to keep costs down ) so going by the above posts a 5400RPM drive that is ATA-5 compliant and low power requirements will do the trick. Any model No's for me to look at given the above ?

    If I did decide to keep Panther on it , is this the best OSX version for it ? OSX does look very good on this screen. It got a few admiring glances in the cafe I was at this afternoon.


    Any other advice greatfully accepted.
    Stewie
    Lotsa Macs - PM's , G3's , G4's & Powerbooks - Love 'em
    ----------------

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    You might be able to get your ram from crucial.com
    Macbook Pro C2D 2.2/4GB/250GB
    Mac Pro Quad 3Ghz/4GB 8800GT 30"

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere Slaying Vampires
    Posts
    6,302

    Default

    Streetwise have ram that is compatible - http://www.streetwise.com.au/product...oducts_id=1616
    Not the cheapest around but its guaranteed to be mac compatable.

    As for hard drives.... any 40gb should work fine. I've never had any of the issues currawong mentioned and ive used various speed and sizes with pismo's so i wouldnt worry to much about brands and models. If you are worried then stick with 4200rpm drives

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northern Beaches , Sydney
    Posts
    2,989

    Default

    Thanks for the info jerrah and iSlayer. I've already sussed out a few sites like Crucial and Ramjet for the memory. I'm just going to compare prices to local and see what the difference will be.
    I'll also probably stick with just a 5400RPM drive either Samsung or Fujitsu.40-60GB.
    Stewie
    Lotsa Macs - PM's , G3's , G4's & Powerbooks - Love 'em
    ----------------

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    Scrounge around eBay for the So-DIMM modules, 256MB ones should be cheap. Make sure it's "double-sided", I'd recommend Hyundai/Hynix modules you shoudn't have any problems.

    As for the hard disk, most new 40GB are 5400RPM, any Seagate/Fujitsu/Samsung will do.

    For OS X, definately 10.3.9 runs well and is officially supported on the Lombard. I'd not bother installing Tiger due to higher RAM and graphic requirements, and you need to run XPostFacto under OS 9 to get it to install. With RAM, 256MB will be enough for Office duties under 10.3.9, but ideally 512MB (I like to max out any Mac I come into contact with!).

    Lombards are really nice machines, I had mine overclocked 333@433Mhz, 384MB/40GB and it ran OS X fine and OS 9 screamed on it. Reluctantly sold it a while back as the screen hinges were failing, and found a cheap Pismo which has since become my most used notebook (even over a P4 2.66Ghz monster notebook sitting next to it!).


    JB

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northern Beaches , Sydney
    Posts
    2,989

    Default

    Thanks for the post Byrd. I was wondering when a Pismo fan like you would turn up
    I've been thinking pretty much along those lines regarding memory and hard drives anyway but it's always good to get another informed opinion. I found some 256 modules brand new on ebay for US$22 each so I will probably go for those but buy the HD locally.
    Cheers , Stewie
    Lotsa Macs - PM's , G3's , G4's & Powerbooks - Love 'em
    ----------------

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Australia, Sydney
    Posts
    3,621

    Default

    The cheapest place you could buy a hard drive is at a computer fair.
    The last computer fair was last sunday at the uni here in kingsford.
    If you want i can check when the next one is?
    My Macs: MacBook Pro 17", Powerbook Ti 867Mhz, Powermac 5500 Black, iBook G3 900Mhz, Powermac MDD, Powermac 8600 250Mhz, Intel Core Duo 1.66Ghz Mac Mini, iMac G4 17" 1Ghz, eMac 1Ghz, eMac 800Mhz,
    AppleCollector Sales Service/Sales/Support/Trade In's

  8. #8

    Default

    Bastard!

    Lol i really want to get my hands on a pismo, lombard or even a wallstreeet.

    They are really nice looking and unique notebooks, i like!

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Inside your head
    Posts
    6,557

    Default

    stewie, check my ever-mutating 'for sale' thread - I put a Lombard on there this afternoon, and if you get over your fear of interstate shipping, $100 would net you 2 x 256MB DIMMs, a 40 GB drive that works, a screen in good nick, and the rest of the machine as a source of spares (the whole thing actually works, btw).

    B.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Brains View Post
    stewie, check my ever-mutating 'for sale' thread - I put a Lombard on there this afternoon, and if you get over your fear of interstate shipping, $100 would net you 2 x 256MB DIMMs, a 40 GB drive that works, a screen in good nick, and the rest of the machine as a source of spares (the whole thing actually works, btw).

    B.
    BAH! he has a lombard! gimme yours :P

  11. #11

    Default

    "I was wondering when a Pismo fan like you would turn up"

    He is not the only Pismo fan. I think selling mine was one of the most foolish things I did! In a lot of ways I preferred using it over my g4 powerbooks and my macbook pro.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northern Beaches , Sydney
    Posts
    2,989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iSlayer View Post
    Streetwise have ram that is compatible - http://www.streetwise.com.au/product...oducts_id=1616
    Not the cheapest around but its guaranteed to be mac compatable.

    As for hard drives.... any 40gb should work fine. I've never had any of the issues currawong mentioned and ive used various speed and sizes with pismo's so i wouldnt worry to much about brands and models. If you are worried then stick with 4200rpm drives
    Thanks iSlayer. Yes I had a look but as you said not the cheapest.
    Glad too that just about any model HD will work too.

    Thanks applecollector but I will probably go for a brand new one ( three year warranty as well ) but I will keep your suggestion in mind.

    Quote Originally Posted by brains
    stewie, check my ever-mutating 'for sale' thread - I put a Lombard on there this afternoon, and if you get over your fear of interstate shipping, $100 would net you 2 x 256MB DIMMs, a 40 GB drive that works, a screen in good nick, and the rest of the machine as a source of spares (the whole thing actually works, btw).
    Jesus brains , you are starting to piss me off now ! I would have bought yours at that price esp. with both a bigger HD and the 512 memory.Aaaaaaaarrrrrrrrggggggghhhhhh.
    Well there you go samwalk and Linux-insidev2 . Brains has a working Lombard with a full 512mb memory and a 40 Gig Hard Drive for $100. Bargain I say. Who's first ?
    Stewie
    Lotsa Macs - PM's , G3's , G4's & Powerbooks - Love 'em
    ----------------

  13. #13

    Default

    Shotgun The Lombard!

    Was really hoping to get my hands on a pismo but it looks less and less likely each day.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northern Beaches , Sydney
    Posts
    2,989

    Default

    Just one other thing I meant to ask. Where do you guys get your PRAM batteries from for these old powerbooks. I'll find out the type and post back here with the specs but I was wondering if you can still buy these new here or are they only available secondhand on ebay or from the US maybe? I found some but they are worth US$22 + shipping which seems a lot I guess.
    Stewie
    Lotsa Macs - PM's , G3's , G4's & Powerbooks - Love 'em
    ----------------

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    The Lombard uses a 6V Lithium battery, which consists two 2 x 3V cells. They're very overpriced. You could however make your own PRAM battery from any sort of NiMH/NiCD cells, and shove it somewhere in the case - perhaps on top of the hard disk or near the modem card.

    You may also find keeping your Lombard charged for a couple of days might also give life to the existing PRAM battery.

    JB

  16. #16

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    746

    Default

    WARNING: GROSS IGNORANCE FOLLOWS:

    What's a Lombard? I know what a LOMBARD is, in financial terms, but I have not idea of what the computer equivalent is. Can someone briefly enlighten me, please?
    Boom - like that.

  17. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Byrd View Post
    The Lombard uses a 6V Lithium battery, which consists two 2 x 3V cells. They're very overpriced. You could however make your own PRAM battery from any sort of NiMH/NiCD cells, and shove it somewhere in the case - perhaps on top of the hard disk or near the modem card.

    You may also find keeping your Lombard charged for a couple of days might also give life to the existing PRAM battery.

    JB
    What sort of cells are they though? like watch batteries or like the ones in desktops?

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    1,063

    Default

    My Lombard has 512 Mb ram for OWC which was heaps cheaper a couple of years ago. I have a 30gb HDD and it runs 10.3.9 fine, I've just started running Opera as it seems to be a faster browser and I have a third party belkin PCMCIA wireless card (search the forums for a relevant discussion) these are a great little machine, and while a pismo would give firewire and run faster but they are still commanding hefty prices.

    The Lombard is the G3 Powerbook circa 1999-2000 with either 300 or 333Mhz proocessor, bronze coloured keyboard, two usb ports and the last SCSI port in a Mac Laptop. Check out lowend mac etc for more info.

    The battery clips to the logic board just below the HDD, take it off, take it to Jaycar and I bet you can get identical cells no problem. It would then be a matter of wiring them in.

    Maybe we need a Lombard hot/rod appreciation thread ;-)
    Remember when Apple was the little upstart?

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,927

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Linux_insidev2 View Post
    What sort of cells are they though? like watch batteries or like the ones in desktops?
    The original Lombard PRAM battery, like those in Wallstreet/Pismos are sort of like flat, large watch batteries. You need to strip down the entire machine to gain access to the battery, so that why I've previously made my own, stripped off the connector, and resoldered it to an equivalent pack (in volts, not in size/dimensions!).

    JB

  20. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Byrd View Post
    The original Lombard PRAM battery, like those in Wallstreet/Pismos are sort of like flat, large watch batteries. You need to strip down the entire machine to gain access to the battery, so that why I've previously made my own, stripped off the connector, and resoldered it to an equivalent pack (in volts, not in size/dimensions!).

    JB
    Couldn't you just heatshrink two CR2025 watch batteries in series and solder wires on each end?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •