Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

» Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Adelaide: Light's Inspirational Design
    Posts
    2,148

    Default iPhoto update glitch

    I've updated to 10.4.9 then a couple of days later did the iPhoto 6.0.6 update. but my iPhoto still reads 5.0.4.

    Also, a photograph has been blacked out, and I've had messages coming up saying:-

    "Unreadable files: 241 The following files could not be imported (they may be unrecognised file type or the files may not contain valid data)"

    But why should anything be imported when it's merely an update? The icon on my desktop resulting from the download reads:- iPhoto_606.dmg and if I click onto it, up comes a window with an icon shaped like an open box reading iPhoto_606.pkg. A white icon also appears on the desktop reading iPhoto 6.0.6 but it does nothing if I click onto it.

    The chances are in my tired and upset state lately (problems at my mum's nursing home) that I've done something wrong with the iPhoto update, but I would certainly appreciate some advice and help please.
    Thinking about what next to think about . . . . . . . . .
    24" iMac: 15" iMac G4 "lampshade" 12" Performa 580

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Adelaide: Light's Inspirational Design
    Posts
    2,148

    Default

    Does anyone have an idea what's gone wrong?
    Thinking about what next to think about . . . . . . . . .
    24" iMac: 15" iMac G4 "lampshade" 12" Performa 580

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    883

    Default

    What version of iPhoto did you have before you applied the update? If you had iPhoto 5 you can't apply the iPhoto 6 updates—they are designed only to update iPhoto 6. You have to buy iLife '06 to upgrade iPhoto from version 5 to 6.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Toongabbie, NSW
    Posts
    3,070

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Georgina EG View Post
    Also, a photograph has been blacked out, and I've had messages coming up saying:-

    "Unreadable files: 241 The following files could not be imported (they may be unrecognised file type or the files may not contain valid data)"

    But why should anything be imported when it's merely an update?
    I hope you have a backup of your photos. Newer versions of iPhoto often change the library structure, hence after the upgrade your old library gets imported into the new iPhoto.

    The icon on my desktop resulting from the download reads:- iPhoto_606.dmg and if I click onto it, up comes a window with an icon shaped like an open box reading iPhoto_606.pkg. A white icon also appears on the desktop reading iPhoto 6.0.6 but it does nothing if I click onto it.
    If you double-click the disk image (.dmg) file the disk image gets mounted as a volume (the white icon on the desktop) and opened in a Finder window. Double-clicking the volume icon will open it in a Finder windows, but since you've already got that open nothing happens. Inside the volume there's a software package (the box icon). If you double-click that icon the software package will get installed.

    Should it refuse to install (for example, claiming that it is already installed) you may need to remove the package receipt file from the previous botched upgrade. The receipt in this case is /Library/Receipts/iPhoto_606.pkg.

    Hope this helps
    Steffen.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Toongabbie, NSW
    Posts
    3,070

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by luke_in_tas View Post
    You have to buy iLife '06 to upgrade iPhoto from version 5 to 6.
    Indeed. Luke is right.

    Did you try to upgrade from 5 to 6? It shouldn't have let you do that.

    Cheers
    Steffen.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Adelaide: Light's Inspirational Design
    Posts
    2,148

    Default

    Yes Luke, I have version 5, so this is probably the answer. Thank you, I thought they automatically updated from one to the other. I think I lost just one photograph, but I can't be certain, I've now deleted the one blackened out, and put the 6.0.6 icon in the trash. Ah well, I'll just leave things as they are then, nothing seems to have damaged the rest of the shots.

    Edit. And dotnet, I suppose the messages were telling me that I couldn't do it, we computer simpletons need more simple messages such as "You can't update version 6 if you only have version 5!" :o
    Thinking about what next to think about . . . . . . . . .
    24" iMac: 15" iMac G4 "lampshade" 12" Performa 580

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    wine country
    Posts
    3,020

    Default

    I have version 6.0.4 and it still would not find a suitable candidate to update to 6.0.6.

    The answer? Maybe it only updates from 6.0.5?

    edit: I'll try again now that I have repaired permissions.. wow that's the first time I have seen every permission repaired .. since Jaguar<Panther..
    why are you reading this?

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NE Vic
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    You can check this by running software update & seeing what it tells you needs installing. I have noticed this behaviour with iWeb & a few other iApps.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    wine country
    Posts
    3,020

    Default

    my connection was down the last three days so running software update was useless.


    Edit: this time at least, the installer gave me the license agreement; agree/disagree buttons.

    Still, here is the next image.

    Edit again .. this should be below the image .. Software update now tells me 6.0.5 is what I need. ?

    OK
    why are you reading this?

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Adelaide: Light's Inspirational Design
    Posts
    2,148

    Default

    Interesting soulman about checking Software Update. I checked after seeing the notice on MacTalk and mine didn't include the 6.0.6, so I thought it hadn't caught up. I subsequently tried to update from the notice on MacTalk, hence my problem.
    Thinking about what next to think about . . . . . . . . .
    24" iMac: 15" iMac G4 "lampshade" 12" Performa 580

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    wine country
    Posts
    3,020

    Default

    iTunes specifically, consistently screws up the packages done via software update.. I use the apple software update http: page to download it. thus tend to do most of it via there.. this way I can also get the combo updates of the system. I just grabbed 6.0.6 and didn't look to see if I needed 6.0.5
    why are you reading this?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •