Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Which laptop?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    875

    Default Which laptop?

    Hello Mactalkers,

    Its the time of year for me to buy a laptop for Uni next year and really, I'm not sure which would be best for my needs. I'll be doing an industrial design course, so lots of 2D and 3D intensive applications. Pretty much what factors are important for my needs? -
    - faster processor?
    - more memory?
    - bigger and better graphic cards?

    any help is much appreciated, cheers.
    Alu iMac 2.4ghz Core 2 Duo / iPod Touch 16gb / iPod 3G 20gb
    MBP 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo

  2. #2

    Default

    All 3 basically... tho really - I don't think it makes a huge difference these days... anything over 2GHz processor will be fine and dandy... it's always best idea to fit as much RAM as you can afford... (though many say don't go with Apple for that - buy it 3rd party after the Mac arrives) and graphics cards... well not my field...

    [rant]Just glad you didn't say... "I don't really need to take it anywhere except having it on my desk"... because people like that shouldn't have the right to buy a laptop... they remind me of 4WD mommas... and should all be shot...[/rant]
    MacTalk - the bianca's of geekdom
    thecosmichobo - as seen on YouTube - "How Doomsday Should Have Ended!" "Bigger on the Inside?" "The Doctor Falls - With Hartnell!" and lots more!

  3. #3

    Default

    15" MacBook Pro with 4GB of RAM and a 7200RPM HDD.
    Next question please.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,182

    Default

    Wouldn't Industrial design require AutoCAD? If so you'd either need a PC or Boot Camp.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    875

    Default

    Sweet, thanks for the replies. Nah not so much AutoCAD but more SolidWorks or Rhino which does require boot camp...

    with the previous MBP's running the GeForce 8600M GT, is there a noticeable difference between 256mb and 512mb?
    Alu iMac 2.4ghz Core 2 Duo / iPod Touch 16gb / iPod 3G 20gb
    MBP 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    905

    Default

    Does Rhino work with Bootcamp or any of the other
    Windows on Mac methods? I've got a feeling it doesn't.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,099

    Default

    Perhaps a refurb MBP would be great for you.
    Buy a 4GB RAM kit from Ram City for it cheap, and then sell off the RAM that came with it from Apple.
    No such thing as Apple anyway, my RAM from Apple was Samsung, but I sold the RAM on here anyway easily.
     iMac 27" i7  iPhone 5 64GB.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    875

    Default

    yeah I'll be looking at refurbs. I'll be definitely buying ram from somewhere else.

    How does a MB (previous or current gen) run adobe creative suite apps?

    regarding rhino, I don't have a clue, but thanks for the heads up I'll check that out. But on another note, Rhino OS X is in development so thats cool.

    Just another question, how would a previous gen (2.4) macbook handle solidworks?
    Alu iMac 2.4ghz Core 2 Duo / iPod Touch 16gb / iPod 3G 20gb
    MBP 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    875

    Default

    well thanks everyone for all your help, yesterday I purchased a MBP 2.5Ghz Refurb. should come today, can't wait!!
    Alu iMac 2.4ghz Core 2 Duo / iPod Touch 16gb / iPod 3G 20gb
    MBP 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dust For Eyes View Post
    Does Rhino work with Bootcamp or any of the other
    Windows on Mac methods? I've got a feeling it doesn't.
    Rhino on the Intel Mac

    The user reports at the site above suggest that Rhino works in:

    - Bootcamp
    - Parallels
    - Vmware

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •