Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    116

    Default

    I just saw this on Mac OS X Hints and found it to be a huge improvement

    http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?sto...061002101155933

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,481

    Default

    yah, i saw this on hardmac, and it DOES work!
    MacBook, iMac, iTouch
    Trades: landog, HDK, BiRDBRAiN, macdave, Mac Ram
    MacTalk Kiva Lending Team!

  3. #3

    Default

    21.5mb and 1,500+ files here.

    Thanks for the tip.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    978

    Default

    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(marc &#064; Oct 13 2006, 05&#58;40 PM) [snapback]224494[/snapback]</div>
    21.5mb and 1,500+ files here.
    [/b]
    22mb&#33; I WIN&#33; :P Mind you it does work well&#33; Thanks for that tip&#33;

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Minjup, WA 6123
    Posts
    588

    Default

    Trashed 8.1mb of cache files.
    Ran Dashboard.
    8.1mb of files returned to the caches folder&#33;
    So maybe that&#39;s the min. size for that folder?



    mct
     MacBook (Unibody) 13in, 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM, OS10.5.7 + PowerBook G4, 12in, 1.5GHz, 1.25GB RAM, OS10.4.11 + Bondi Blue iMac, 96MB RAM, OS9.2.2


  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NEWCASTLE
    Posts
    104

    Default


    Thank you for the post Zurg works great made a big dfference
    Steve
    POWERMAC G5 2.3DP , IMAC G3 500

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,915

    Default

    It was only about 5mb for me, as I don&#39;t use it much. But I didn&#39;t notice that it loaded quicker than normal.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,126

    Default

    has it affected things like IceTV or iStat? those things update pretty often, so i would think the caches would be getting used.

    also the idea of mapping the cache folder to dev/null: was a good one.

    W2ttsy

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,481

    Default

    lol i nuked 30MB, and theres now 368KB big diff in performance for me.
    MacBook, iMac, iTouch
    Trades: landog, HDK, BiRDBRAiN, macdave, Mac Ram
    MacTalk Kiva Lending Team!

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    2,375

    Default

    I had 4.1MB. Trashed it. Opened Dashboard again (after a killall Dock). WOW&#33; loads at least twice as fast as before.

  11. #11

    Default

    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(stefanlod &#064; Oct 13 2006, 05&#58;53 PM) [snapback]224498[/snapback]</div>
    22mb&#33; I WIN&#33; :P Mind you it does work well&#33; Thanks for that tip&#33;
    [/b]
    Hahah.

    I just loaded dash after a restart... much quicker.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Adelaide: Light's Inspirational Design
    Posts
    2,148

    Default

    Tried the exercise but although I went to Library>Caches, there was no DashboardClient mentioned. However, my Dashboard with 13 items showing takes less than a second to load so it isn&#39;t exactly slow.
    Thinking about what next to think about . . . . . . . . .
    24" iMac: 15" iMac G4 "lampshade" 12" Performa 580

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, NSW
    Posts
    6,413

    Default

    I only had 7.2mb. Slight noticeable difference in speed. But that&#39;s 7.2mb to fill up with more junk at least&#33;

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Canberra ACT
    Posts
    3,171

    Default

    23.8 MB here.
    Was skeptical... but seems to indeed improve performance with Dashboard.
    Great trick&#33;

    Thanks
    mulitple iOS devices - iPhone, iPad Air, and iPod nano
    Mac OS X
    - 13 MacBook Pro with Retina, Mac mini for media server, and a Mac Book Air here somewhere still too

  15. #15

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Eastwood, Sydney
    Posts
    914

    Default

    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Georgina EG &#064; Oct 13 2006, 11&#58;44 PM) [snapback]224632[/snapback]</div>
    Tried the exercise but although I went to Library>Caches, there was no DashboardClient mentioned. However, my Dashboard with 13 items showing takes less than a second to load so it isn&#39;t exactly slow.
    [/b]
    Well if you do decide you wish to clear out the cache...
    You are in the wrong folder, you need to go to ~/Library/Caches/DashboardClient
    ~/ being your local user folder. I think you were looking under the cache folder in your hard drive instead.

  16. #16

    Default

    Shit that makes a hell of a difference. i no longer regret opening dashboard now. Thanks
    AAA+++

  17. #17

    Default

    No difference whatsoever. It was always fast for me.. /shrug

  18. #18

    Default

    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(ADAMS77 &#064; Oct 14 2006, 02&#58;25 AM) [snapback]224645[/snapback]</div>
    Shit that makes a hell of a difference. i no longer regret opening dashboard now. Thanks
    AAA+++
    [/b]
    Same Here... Why didn&#39;t someone find this out ages ago :P like the day after Tiger came out&#33;

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,808

    Default

    great tip - trashed 29megs and dashboard is usible again

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    1,869

    Default

    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(ADAMS77 &#064; Oct 14 2006, 02&#58;55 AM) [snapback]224645[/snapback]</div>
    AAA+++
    [/b]

    LOL&#33;
    Know me before you judge me...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •