Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Default

    Hey Guys,

    I have a MacBook Pro 15" with 1GB of RAM and running 10.4.7, I have noticed that it uses ALOT of memory...

    e.g. At the moment i am running Finder, Mail, Firefox, Frostwire, iTunes, Microsoft Messenger and Colloquy and it is using 1006Mb of memory...

    Is that right?


  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,420

    Default

    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(maj3stic &#064; Jul 1 2006, 08&#58;20 AM) [snapback]190561[/snapback]</div>
    Hey Guys,

    I have a MacBook Pro 15" with 1GB of RAM and running 10.4.7, I have noticed that it uses ALOT of memory...

    e.g. At the moment i am running Finder, Mail, Firefox, Frostwire, iTunes, Microsoft Messenger and Colloquy and it is using 1006Mb of memory...

    Is that right?
    [/b]
    Sure. How much is active (yellow)?

    I have 2 gigs and 1.18 used with itunes,mail,ichat,safari,widgets,addressbook
    iPhone 4 | iPad | MBA | iMac 27"
    EyeTV/IceTV | SecuritySpy User

  3. #3

    Default

    Okay not too sure what you mean by active (yellow), but i will definately be upgrading to 2GB


  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Somewhere Slaying Vampires
    Posts
    6,302

    Default

    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(maj3stic &#064; Jul 1 2006, 09&#58;41 AM) [snapback]190586[/snapback]</div>
    Okay not too sure what you mean by active (yellow), but i will definately be upgrading to 2GB
    [/b]
    under the "System Memory" tab of activity monitor there is an "Active" value.Active memory means its reserved by an app and is still needed

    The only 2 values you need to worry about are active and wired.

    Inactive memory was or is in use by an app but its no longer needed so other apps can use it when needed

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Canberra ACT
    Posts
    3,171

    Default

    I&#39;m thinking of upgrading to 2GB as well.
    aswitcher - have you always had 2GB or did you start with less?

    I currently have 1GB - and was wondering whether or not I would notice much difference?
    mulitple iOS devices - iPhone, iPad Air, and iPod nano
    Mac OS X
    - 13 MacBook Pro with Retina, Mac mini for media server, and a Mac Book Air here somewhere still too

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Bris Vegas
    Posts
    2,233

    Default

    OS X will pretty much take everything you&#39;ve got, and share it among apps as needed. So even if you upgrade to 2GB you&#39;ll probably notice most of it is being used. Of course the more RAM the merrier, but if you&#39;re only using a half-dozen Internet apps you probably only need 1GB.

  7. #7

    Default

    Free memory is wasted memory. The more the OS uses the better. It uses it to cache disk usage, applications and parts of applications, images. You name it.

    The instant RAM is needed for something important, that something important gets it.

    OS X has very very smooth memory management.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    141

    Default

    In a word - Rosetta. Messenger is using it, I don&#39;t know about the other non-Apple apps you&#39;re running (I presume you&#39;re running UB Firefox). Intel Macs typically use more memory than PPC Macs when running non-native apps because then Rosetta is used, and it caches as much of the translated code from the non-native apps as possible to improve performance. As more UB apps appear you should see memory usage drop (though of course by then 10.5 will be out and new UB apps will often have new memory-hogging "features" added over their non-UB predecessors).

  9. #9

    Default

    What you want to do to see whether more RAM will benefit you is:

    - Open Activity Monitor (in Applications/Utilities)
    - Click the System Memory tab

    Now, look at the Page ins/outs section. If the second number is 0, that means your machine has not swapped a single byte from RAM to your hard drive. Expanding memory is therefore fairly pointless (you might see a very small speedup due to OS X caching more of the data on your hard drive, but it&#39;s not something you&#39;d notice in day-to-day use).

    I have 2Gb of RAM in my iMac, and it&#39;s a rare thing to see it page out. With 1Gb I was paging out fairly often (using Logic Pro, Final Cut, WoW and a few Rosetta games).

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,420

    Default

    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(DJY &#064; Jul 1 2006, 04&#58;43 PM) [snapback]190755[/snapback]</div>
    I&#39;m thinking of upgrading to 2GB as well.
    aswitcher - have you always had 2GB or did you start with less?

    I currently have 1GB - and was wondering whether or not I would notice much difference?
    [/b]
    Hey DJY, yeah 2 GB seems to really improve load speeds of larger apps like iPhoto and iTunes but I haven&#39;t run it with only i gig so I cant say this is a scientific based opinion.

    OSX definetly makes use of the extra GB
    iPhone 4 | iPad | MBA | iMac 27"
    EyeTV/IceTV | SecuritySpy User

  11. #11

    Default

    I&#39;m about to buy a 17" MBP with 1gb ram. Have many people here used both 1gb and 2gb configurations in MBP&#39;s - and was there a noticeable increase in performance?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •