Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wagga Wagga NSW
    Posts
    1,181

    Red face

    Hi all

    On a thread somewhere here, I mentioned that I don't trust backups because of bad past experience. Well, I have a new reason now :P

    I very carefully backed up ALL of my HDD on Friday. Now the USB drive to which I backed up can't be seen by either of my Macs. I plug it in and there's nothing that displays. Anywhere!

    I need my files back!

    Any ideas, please?

    Cheers,
    Andrew
    I'm not compatible with Windows

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Bris Vegas
    Posts
    2,233

    Default

    I presume you've attempted to detect/mount it in Disk Utility.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wagga Wagga NSW
    Posts
    1,181

    Default

    Nope. Never heard of that method with a USB drive.
    I'm not compatible with Windows

  4. #4

    Default

    You don't trust backups? What do you use to protect your data, pixies? :P

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wagga Wagga NSW
    Posts
    1,181

    Default

    Originally posted by Squozen@Feb 28 2006, 07:19 AM
    You don't trust backups? What do you use to protect your data, pixies? :P
    Doesn't mean that I don't do them - just don't trust them.
    I'm not compatible with Windows

  6. #6

    Default

    Ahhh, gotcha. Cos I was going to say, those damn pixies aren't that reliable either.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wagga Wagga NSW
    Posts
    1,181

    Default

    Yeah, I know.

    Well, I have the disk showing in Disk Utility. I've done a verify and all appears to be ok. Now what do I need to do to get access to my files? The disk still isn't appearing on the desktop or anywhere in Finder.

    Cheers,
    Andrew
    I'm not compatible with Windows

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,156

    Default

    do you have Diskwarrior? it sounds like directory problems.

    Ric
    ________________________________________________

    There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand binary and those who don't.

    www.macmate.com.au

    Leader of: Apple General, Help! & iPods, iTMS & Accessories

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    176

    Default

    i have had this trouble with usb hardrive not showing up on my G4DP 450 it happens if i use a long cable for some reason if use a short on straight in to the usb 2 Pci card dont have any probs some thing do do with long cables, maybe dont really know but its a work around for me
    Macs G4 DP450 Pismo 400 lombard 333 other stuff

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wagga Wagga NSW
    Posts
    1,181

    Default

    Originally posted by macmate@Feb 28 2006, 08:23 AM
    do you have Diskwarrior? it sounds like directory problems.

    Ric
    Yep, sure do. On my backup on the 'invisible' USB hard drive
    I'm not compatible with Windows

  11. #11
    JimWOz's Avatar JimWOz is offline 56 no. ...and still seeing it big as a footy

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    829

    Default

    Froggy,
    What happens in Disk Utility when you select the drive and hit the Mount button ?
    MBP15 i7 2.2 16G/1TB/120SSD, MB C2D2.4 Black, MB2.0 Black, PBG4/15/1.5, PMG4 MDD, iMacG3/333, Epson1410, HPLJ5200DN, HP ML115 Ubuntu Server, Airport Extreme+Express N. In the closet: HP DC7600 PC, PBG4/12/867, PBG3/333, PM6200, PB5300C, SE30, SE.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wagga Wagga NSW
    Posts
    1,181

    Default

    This is interesting! I think.

    When the volume is selected in Disk Utility, Mount is greyed out. Unmount and Eject are available. I can Unmount and then Mount but the disk still doesn't appear on the desktop.

    Cheers,
    Andrew
    I'm not compatible with Windows

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wagga Wagga NSW
    Posts
    1,181

    Default

    Originally posted by froggy@Feb 28 2006, 12:46 PM
    Yep, sure do. On my backup on the 'invisible' USB hard drive
    Having looked at DW's website, it seems that I don't. DW comes in a box with a CD? The file repair programme that I have/had came as a free download. I can't recall what it was.

    Cheers,
    Andrew
    I'm not compatible with Windows

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wagga Wagga NSW
    Posts
    1,181

    Default

    More interesting stuff.

    Using Installer, I can select a install a programme to this 'invisible' disk!

    Still can't see the disk on the desktop, though

    Cheers,
    Andrew
    I'm not compatible with Windows

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NE Vic
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    Just out of interest: What happens if you go to an open Finder window, hit Command+Shift+G and type "/volumes/" (without the quotes) in the text box? Does the volume appear there?

    What about trying another user account - perhaps your Finder prefs are unclean and need to be sanctified?

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Bris Vegas
    Posts
    2,233

    Default

    An obvious question, but just in case:

    Check your Finder preferences to make sure they're set to show removable disks on the Desktop and/or Sidebar.

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Brisvegas
    Posts
    31

    Default

    This happened to one of the machines at work today only it was a hard drive mounted over the network. The drive icon disappeared from the desktop but was still connected - I could still access and save files as it still appeared in the list in the sidebar. I don't know if it fixed itself, we just ignored it until knock-off time!

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wagga Wagga NSW
    Posts
    1,181

    Default

    Originally posted by soulman@Feb 28 2006, 06:44 PM
    Just out of interest: What happens if you go to an open Finder window, hit Command+Shift+G and type "/volumes/" (without the quotes) in the text box? Does the volume appear there?
    My missing disk appears! Looks like a network alias. And I can access files!

    Thanks!!!!!!!!&#33 ;!

    Cheers,
    Andrew
    I'm not compatible with Windows

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NE Vic
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    Cool - glad it was useful. More of a workaround than a solution though. My hunch is that some Finder preference is not well or something - everybody knows the volume is there except the Finder. Hate to think what they will all be saying about it at the pub tonight.

    Did you try another user account or JA's suggestion of ensuring that ejectable disks are set to show up? Sometimes just resetting these things can clear up mysterious ailments. If all else fails, blame the pixies. Tell them I sent you.

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,156

    Default

    diskwarrior will fix this problem. also deleting the right preference file will fix it too. sorry i am not at home so i can't figure out which one.
    ________________________________________________

    There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand binary and those who don't.

    www.macmate.com.au

    Leader of: Apple General, Help! & iPods, iTMS & Accessories

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •