Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: ADSL Modems

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Nambucca Heads NSW
    Posts
    891

    Thumbs up

    Good Morning

    Question 1 - I am about to embark on ADSL using a G4 Tower and Panther X.3.5. Do members have any opinions on the better performing modems.

    Question 2 - Anyone using an internal ADSL PCI Modem card suitable for the above machine and opinions please?

    Thanks in advance.

    Harry

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,050

    Default

    I'd not bother looking into PCI modems - as far as I know, none of them work with Macs.

    What you do want is, some form of ethernet modem, and avoid USB modems. Ethernet modems conform to standard networking protocols and can be configured via a web browser.

    A good suggestion would be getting a decent 4-port ethernet modem such as the Netcomm NB1300 +4 that I'm using here. This way, should you wish to share your connection with another computer, for whatever reason, you only have to plug it in and away you go.

    Once the modem has been configured, the default Mac OS X network settings will enable you to get onto the net without having to do anything further.
    The discussion has continued at AppleTalk Australia.

  3. #3

    Default

    At work i have a NB5500, i could'nt recommend it highly enough, worth every cent, serves the entire network as a router and hasn't missed a beat. Price has dropped a bit now too.

    At home i run a alcatel home hooked up to an airport extreme, drop outs but i think that's the isp ( internet that dies )

    I would'nt go with an internal adsl ( i don't even know if you can get 'em , never seen one ) get an external adsl/router with an inbuilt 5 port hub. Let it do the work, and keep your options for the future open as far as home network expandability is concerned.

  4. #4

    Default

    I strongly recommend the Billion 5100.
    I've installed about 10 of these and none has crapped out yet. At home I have the earlier model Billion 711CE and it's still going strong without a hitch.
    The 5100 is also pretty cheap, it's only $85 from Warcom: http://www.warcom.com.au/shop/flypage/adslmodems/1045

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Rockhampton, QLD
    Posts
    203

    Default

    I've got a Billion 5100W, as i wanted the wireless option. Must say I've never had a problem with it since i first plugged it in (going 6 months now).

    Only thing is, it seems you can't audio or video chat using iChat with it . Apparently its an issue with this line of Billion modems. So i'm stuck at home with an iSight but can't actually 'use it' :blink:

    Cheers,

    Thomas

  6. #6

    Default

    This works brilliantly ( http://www.netgear.com.au/products/prod_de....asp?prodID=223 ) with my:

    PC (yuck)
    iMac 800Mhz
    12" Powerbook
    and Dad's 17" powerbook

    iMac and PC are connected via Cat 5 and both powerbooks run wireless. I will tell you that Wirless is not the best for sending large files over the network (works just fine with my 512 connection), if I plug in a Cat 5 for network transfers it works great!

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    2,699

    Default

    I have also been using a Billion 5100 for nearly a year. They came out in December 2003 as the cheapest ADSL modem around with a 4 Port switch.

    No issues with it yet. Only reason why I wanted to get rid of it was because I wanted an all-in-one wifi/modem and the 5100W was not yet out.

    But I kinda prefer having them separate now.

    Anyway, the 5100 is great value. I got mine for $90, RRP is $99 I think.

    Steve
    WTF is Harmonytech? | The iBook Saga. | Successful Trades: Currawong, Byrd, xedos, Decryption, Greenie, Mivory
    sudo chmod 327 /etc/car/subaru

  8. #8

    Default

    Well I do have a modem for sale that works with mac's perfectly ;-)

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    883

    Default

    Back in March APC Magazine did a comparison of ADSL modem/routers. The online verson of this reviews is availabe at: Get Routed!

    The review compares:
    • Alcatel SpeedTouch 510
    • Alcatel SpeedTouch 570
    • Billion BIPAC-5100
    • Billion BIPAC-7500G
    • D-Link DSL-604+
    • D-Link DSL-504
    • DrayTek Vigor 2500We
    • Dynalink RTA300
    • Netcomm NB1300 Plus 4
    • Netgear DG824M
    • Netgear DG834
    • SMC ADSL Barricade g
    • Web Excel PT-3812
    At home I'm using a Netcomm NB1300. It has worked fine with my Mac, but as it only has one ethernet port I had to buy a switch as well to share my internet connection with my PC and my laptop. Consequently I would recommend getting a router with extra ports, like the NB1300 Plus 4.

    At any rate, you definitely want a modem with an ethernet connection, as opposed to one with just USB.

    Lastly, it may be worth doing some checking to ensure that whatever modem/router you get supports iChatAV. I've got a mate whose router caused us all sorts of grief when we tried to set up a video chat (I'm not sure what brand it was). In the end he was able to download some kind of workaround for it. But as thomas notes, he has also had trouble with his Billion modem.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Melbourne - Down Beach Way
    Posts
    489

    Default

    Netcomm NB1300 Plus 4

    I use the above ^^^^, its USB and Ethernet (you can use the two simultaneously)

    The Mac liked using Ethernet, my PC likes the USB. As people have said it has:

    4 X ethernet
    1x WAN
    1x USB

    They are really good modems, you get a 3 year warranty

    You could get one off eBay for $50 (2nd hand)
    Not sure how much they go for new.

    Very reliable i have never had a problem with the modem at all.

    I would go the eBay option as they havent been around all that long (maybe 1.5years max) so it could have 1.5years warranty remaining..???


  11. #11

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    285

    Default

    I have some simpler questions with regard to this topic.

    When you want to get broadband connected, you generally get a modem with it. Do you guys buy your own modem and therefore decline the ADSL provider's modem? Is that because the provided modems are crap?

    So rather than get the supplied modem, and then get a wireless router, I can get a wireless modem / router all in one?

    I am now a bit confused ?!?

    If anyone has any info or a links to help me understand this, I would appreciate it.


  12. #12

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    285

    Default

    Sorry about the previous post, I just started reading the above link to the "get routed" article.

    ......I must read before I type.....

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,050

    Default

    Benny, you did indeed hit the nail on the head

    Basically, ISP's box/bundle their own cheap modems for one reason: It will attract mom & dad customers who's needs are simple and lock them into a long contract. Those customers tend not to download very much, and will subsidise the customers that attempt to download the entire internet every day. This is how TPG works, for example.
    The discussion has continued at AppleTalk Australia.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    39

    Default

    I'm using D-link DSL-504G router at home to connect my two PCs and one Powerbook. It works fine. If you sign up with iinet, you can get it for $139, that's not too bad! Or you may find some cheaper deals somewhere else.

    http://www.staticice.com.au/
    Good site to compare price.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Rockhampton, QLD
    Posts
    203

    Default

    Anyone know of a good ADSL wireless modem that supports iChat and Video Chats with iChat. I've currently got a Billion 5100W and although its a great piece of hardware, and ver reliable, it seems to have problems with iChat. Sometimes I can't even log on. I've investigated in the Billion Forums and apparently this is a problem with this line of Billion modems.

    So my question is: Does anyone have a wireless modem that is a)stable and reliable, and B) lets you chat/audio chat/video chat using iChat.

    Thanks

    Thomas

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •