Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!

Thread: which though?!

Default which though?!

Hello,

I am new to Apple laptops and I have a short question...

I am not sure which one to buy between these two laptops:

Apple MacBook Air 13" 256GB
    1.6 Dual-Core Intel Core i5
    4 GB RAM
    256 SSD

https://www.jbhifi.com.au/computers-...-256gb/697045/

and

Apple MacBook Pro 13" 2.5GHz
    2.5 Dual-Core i5
    4 GB RAM
    500 GB HDD

https://www.jbhifi.com.au/computers-...-2-5ghz/87407/

------------

Obviously I can see that the Air has better battery life (12 vs 7hr). Also I know 500 GB>256 GB.

What I do not know - will the difference in processor make the macbook pro a better choice or will the difference in SSD vs HDD make the Air a better choice? What I mean is will the SSD being faster compensate so much in speed that it will make up for benefit of extra space + processor speed that the pro has?

Also, can you replace the storage on these easily? aka will I be able to replace the HDD with an SSD easily if i get the pro? will i be able to replace the 256 SSD with a 500SSD easily if i get the air?

Quote Originally Posted by isro1 View Post
    Hello,

I am new to Apple laptops and I have a short question...

I am not sure which one to buy between these two laptops:

Apple MacBook Air 13" 256GB
    1.6 Dual-Core Intel Core i5
    4 GB RAM
    256 SSD

https://www.jbhifi.com.au/computers-...-256gb/697045/

and

Apple MacBook Pro 13" 2.5GHz
    2.5 Dual-Core i5
    4 GB RAM
    500 GB HDD

https://www.jbhifi.com.au/computers-...-2-5ghz/87407/

------------

Obviously I can see that the Air has better battery life (12 vs 7hr). Also I know 500 GB>256 GB.