Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Kernel Panic

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Portland, VIC
    Posts
    4

    Default Kernel Panic

    Hey Guys,

    First time poster, long time reader.

    Got this on my 2011 MBPro the other day, and hasn't worked since. Obviously will take to Apple for fixing but nearest shop is 5 hours away so would like to have an idea of what I'm up against before I go. Any ideas?

    RAM issue?
    Hard Drive?

    [IMG][/IMG]
    Last edited by Hoges64; 20th May 2015 at 11:55 AM.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Nambucca Heads NSW
    Posts
    891

    Default

    Tried booting is Safe Mode?

  3. #3
    JimWOz's Avatar JimWOz is offline 56 no. ...and still seeing it big as a footy

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    829

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by harryb2448 View Post
    Tried booting is Safe Mode?
    Like Harry says, try starting up with the shift key down.
    Extensions do not load and some caches are cleaned.
    If you can log in OK, then restart normally to see if the MBP is healthy again.
    MBP15 i7 2.2 16G/1TB/120SSD, MB C2D2.4 Black, MB2.0 Black, PBG4/15/1.5, PMG4 MDD, iMacG3/333, Epson1410, HPLJ5200DN, HP ML115 Ubuntu Server, Airport Extreme+Express N. In the closet: HP DC7600 PC, PBG4/12/867, PBG3/333, PM6200, PB5300C, SE30, SE.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Portland, VIC
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for the replies gents.

    Unfortunately the shift key does nothing.

    In fact, now the progress bar gets to about 40% and the machine shuts down. No option to login or anything.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Lane Cove North, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    162

    Default

    Your logic board is probably faulty. Thats what mine looked like when it failed. I think Apple are fixing them for free as it is a known fault with 2011 Macbook Pros.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mick132 View Post
    Your logic board is probably faulty. Thats what mine looked like when it failed. I think Apple are fixing them for free as it is a known fault with 2011 Macbook Pros.
    Looks like this:
    https://www.apple.com/support/macbookpro-videoissues/

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Lane Cove North, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    162

    Default

    No mine looked like the picture and it was the logic board.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Portland, VIC
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Sorry, should've updated this.

    Hard Drive shot. Now onto my 3rd one in 4 years. Not happy.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •