Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

» Join the discussions, Register Now!
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 68
  1. #21

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, Queensland
    Posts
    686

    Default

    Who said anything about swapping for the ED?

    I think I'll just have to make do with what I have, missing those items is no big deal. Once I've got it all together, I may have to do an 'unboxing'. I am trying to get some of the stickers, the leaflet I'm not too worried about, but that power cord box sure would be nice.

    I think a Mac TV is the last 'oddball' Mac I don't yet have, would be nice to get one someday. For now, I'll just keep getting as many of mine working as possible, and let all of the surplus go. I've only been putting it off since Easter 2011...
    Boxed: Original 128K, SE, LC, Quadra 700, PM5500 DE, PM6100, G4 Cube, AppleCD 300e, Newtons *** Unboxed: //e, //c, IIGS, 128K, 512K, Beige ED, Platinum ED, Plus, SE FDHD, SE/30, Portable, II, IIx, IIfx, Performa 250, LC575, 2 x TAM, 2 x TechStep

  2. #22

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,410

    Default

    If you ever want to get rid of an SE, a Classic, or early PowerMacs .... Let me know
    Plus, IIci, IIsi, LC, LCII, LC III, CC, LC475, LC630, Centris650, 6100, 8100, 5260, 7220, 7600. PB: 100, 150, 160, 165, 540, 190, 5300, 1400. Lombard, iMacG3, iBookG3, iBookG4, PBG4, eMac, iMac G4, PMG4, MiniG4, iMacG5

  3. #23

    Default

    The right angled power cord came in a few shades of beige but if anyone's curious I took a couple of photos of an Australian cord on a 128k. This one is pretty close to the original color, you can see a patch on the far end of the 128k where a mouse adapter resided and the original color is behind. I took close ups of all the identification numbers for anyones' interest:


    Untitled by , on Flickr


    Untitled by , on Flickr


    Untitled by , on Flickr


    Untitled by , on Flickr


    Untitled by , on Flickr


    Untitled by , on Flickr


    Untitled by , on Flickr

  4. #24

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,410

    Default

    Thats the exact one I have

    So I would be correct in assuming this would be the original Macintosh Plus (AU) cord?
    Plus, IIci, IIsi, LC, LCII, LC III, CC, LC475, LC630, Centris650, 6100, 8100, 5260, 7220, 7600. PB: 100, 150, 160, 165, 540, 190, 5300, 1400. Lombard, iMacG3, iBookG3, iBookG4, PBG4, eMac, iMac G4, PMG4, MiniG4, iMacG5

  5. #25

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, Queensland
    Posts
    686

    Default

    Hmmm out of all the cords I have, I don't have one of those. Just finished packing up the 128K into the box, looks great.

  6. #26

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,410

    Default

    Would you be willing to post photos of your other original apple cords?
    Plus, IIci, IIsi, LC, LCII, LC III, CC, LC475, LC630, Centris650, 6100, 8100, 5260, 7220, 7600. PB: 100, 150, 160, 165, 540, 190, 5300, 1400. Lombard, iMacG3, iBookG3, iBookG4, PBG4, eMac, iMac G4, PMG4, MiniG4, iMacG5

  7. #27

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    259

    Default

    I know just the box for the 128 can sell for $500....

    A Mac Box Worth Weight in Gold
    iMac i5 retina 24GB, Macbook Air i7, iPad Air 2 128GB, iPad Air 2 64GB, iPhone 6s and lots of old stuff.

  8. #28

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, Queensland
    Posts
    686

    Default

    And that was 12 years ago, and in the US. Hmmm, suppose I did alright to get what I got plus a Mac Plus! Once I sell that, the box will have ended up costing me around $350 or so.

    I think if the seller had made a big deal about what he had, I wouldn't be owning it right now. My max bid was almost tapped out, so I was lucky in that regard. Sure is nice to pack away all of the bits and pieces into one box, a complete unit apart from a couple of minor additions. All the major stuff is there, so I'm very happy.
    Boxed: Original 128K, SE, LC, Quadra 700, PM5500 DE, PM6100, G4 Cube, AppleCD 300e, Newtons *** Unboxed: //e, //c, IIGS, 128K, 512K, Beige ED, Platinum ED, Plus, SE FDHD, SE/30, Portable, II, IIx, IIfx, Performa 250, LC575, 2 x TAM, 2 x TechStep

  9. #29

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    259

    Default

    You know you will have to provide pictures soon...
    iMac i5 retina 24GB, Macbook Air i7, iPad Air 2 128GB, iPad Air 2 64GB, iPhone 6s and lots of old stuff.

  10. #30

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, Queensland
    Posts
    686

    Default

    I suppose I'll do the 'great unboxing'. Ironic considering I finally put all of the pieces together and boxed it last night.

    The box has definitely seen better days, and has fading, but it's all there, which is surprising after 30 years. I guess for a person who appreciates boxed items, you can't really go past the original.

    My collection has been cost neutral so far, so I really can't complain at this stage of the game.

    I see you have a 128K for sale, what other goodies are you not telling us about?!
    Boxed: Original 128K, SE, LC, Quadra 700, PM5500 DE, PM6100, G4 Cube, AppleCD 300e, Newtons *** Unboxed: //e, //c, IIGS, 128K, 512K, Beige ED, Platinum ED, Plus, SE FDHD, SE/30, Portable, II, IIx, IIfx, Performa 250, LC575, 2 x TAM, 2 x TechStep

  11. #31

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    968

    Default

    Yeah Tim, what else?!?!?! *grabs pitch fork and/or flaming sticks*

    I've got a few of those power cords, always assumed they were original to the Apple printers and for some reason thought the Macs had more generic ones - doesn't make sense though really.

    I see your "Macintosh" is a US model, did you import it and convert to 240v? The only 120v Mac I have is my Performa 200, even my Macintosh TV is 120-250v. Stuck a label over the power socket on the P200 in fear of plugging it in one day without thinking. Should really just change the analogue board...!

    Does your Macintosh (or anyone else reading) have a RED battery compartment? Some do, some don't. Mine does. Weird. My "Macintosh 128k" just has a regular black battery compartment.

    That's as far off-track as I think I'll take this thread

  12. #32

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, Queensland
    Posts
    686

    Default

    Well, if you have a spare cord, shotgun!

    The two original macs I've got have the red compartment, the 128Ks have black. Must have been an early thing.

    Try a converter, that's how I use 110V machines.
    Boxed: Original 128K, SE, LC, Quadra 700, PM5500 DE, PM6100, G4 Cube, AppleCD 300e, Newtons *** Unboxed: //e, //c, IIGS, 128K, 512K, Beige ED, Platinum ED, Plus, SE FDHD, SE/30, Portable, II, IIx, IIfx, Performa 250, LC575, 2 x TAM, 2 x TechStep

  13. #33

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    968

    Default

    Hmmm well SHOTGUN ANYTHING SPARE you have too!!! Hahaha touché.

    I need to do a sort-out of all my cables, power and otherwise. I have a trunk full as well as two tubs out in the shed and another tub in the study... (how embarrassing, such a hoarder).

    Interesting to know your two originals have the red too. I think you're right, must just be an 'early' thing. I wonder what production dates all ours are? Might check if/when I remember. My original Mac is upgraded to 512k, my 128k is original (just for interest sake).

  14. #34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by macman142 View Post

    I see your "Macintosh" is a US model, did you import it and convert to 240v? The only 120v Mac I have is my Performa 200, even my Macintosh TV is 120-250v. Stuck a label over the power socket on the P200 in fear of plugging it in one day without thinking. Should really just change the analogue board...!

    Does your Macintosh (or anyone else reading) have a RED battery compartment? Some do, some don't. Mine does. Weird. My "Macintosh 128k" just has a regular black battery compartment.

    That's as far off-track as I think I'll take this thread
    I take it you're taking about my one? It's stock and still 120v. I use a step down transformer on the odd occasion I do fire it up. I leave the US plug plugged in so I don't have a brain-fart and plug it into 240v lol! Picked it up for a ridiculously cheap buy it now price because it booted to a sad mac, and paid 10x as much in shipping it over. In the end it was just one bad ram chip which was replaced with a matching model/part chip. These early macs were a dream for bad memory fault diagnosis. The error code had the grid reference to the bad chip

    It's a black battery compartment though I have seen the red one on some 512k machines and some 512k upgraded to plus machines also. The unit date code is the 42nd week of 84 so mid October. It would have been in the last production runs of the original 128k before they changed the name badge to distinguish the 128k and 512k models.

    I do have plenty of other Apple "logo" power cables, the grey straight ones were for the IIe line, there was a beige/off white straight for the IIc its all a bit of a mish mash I guess the only real way of identifying the exact part number for what machine is if anyone has packing lists for each model. Maybe i'll go on a hunt for some packing lists later today hmmmm..

  15. #35

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, Queensland
    Posts
    686

    Default

    Well, here's the weird part. My other original mac has the correct label and badge for an original mac, but the serial number is for the 36th week of 1985. This would have been a 128K badged machine, or so you would think, but the plastics are evenly coloured between bucket and front bezel, and it has a red battery compartment. I would think someone has swapped a badge, but the red compartment confuses me. It didn't appear to have been tampered with since it left the factory, so I'm confused.

    Anyway, my boxed one is a 37th week of 1984, and is loving its new home.
    Boxed: Original 128K, SE, LC, Quadra 700, PM5500 DE, PM6100, G4 Cube, AppleCD 300e, Newtons *** Unboxed: //e, //c, IIGS, 128K, 512K, Beige ED, Platinum ED, Plus, SE FDHD, SE/30, Portable, II, IIx, IIfx, Performa 250, LC575, 2 x TAM, 2 x TechStep

  16. #36

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    968

    Default

    Probably just Apple using up surplus stock of remaining parts at the end of a model change-over like Ford did!

    Bloody hell, there's three Macintosh TV's on ebay US, none under $1000! That's insane! One of them is actually the seller I purchased mine from.

  17. #37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jsarchibald View Post
    Well, here's the weird part. My other original mac has the correct label and badge for an original mac, but the serial number is for the 36th week of 1985. This would have been a 128K badged machine, or so you would think, but the plastics are evenly coloured between bucket and front bezel, and it has a red battery compartment. I would think someone has swapped a badge, but the red compartment confuses me. It didn't appear to have been tampered with since it left the factory, so I'm confused.

    Anyway, my boxed one is a 37th week of 1984, and is loving its new home.
    Where was it made? Perhaps that could have the answer:

    F: Fremont, California, USA
    CK or C: Cork, Ireland
    SG or E: Singapore
    FC: Fountain, Colorado, USA

  18. #38

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, Queensland
    Posts
    686

    Default

    All Fremont, odd.
    Boxed: Original 128K, SE, LC, Quadra 700, PM5500 DE, PM6100, G4 Cube, AppleCD 300e, Newtons *** Unboxed: //e, //c, IIGS, 128K, 512K, Beige ED, Platinum ED, Plus, SE FDHD, SE/30, Portable, II, IIx, IIfx, Performa 250, LC575, 2 x TAM, 2 x TechStep

  19. #39

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dee Why, Sydney
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    I think Fremont was the only factory they had back then...
    Good. Fast. Cheap. Pick two...

  20. #40

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, Queensland
    Posts
    686

    Default

    Just saw dantheapplemacman listed a boxed original Mac, don't really want to show pics after seeing how pristine his is!

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •