Welcome to MacTalk Australia

the largest Australian community for Apple discussions and topics

Join the discussions, Register Now!
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Camden NSW
    Posts
    816

    Default Bootcamp - Win7 cant reboot into OSX

    Hi All

    Im running snow leopard on a spare macbook and have installed bootcamp - windows 7.

    Windows 7 is surprisingly snappy (need it for my coffee roasting software)

    I cannot for the life of me get back to OSX. Im sure its a simple thing, but each time i restart and holf down alt/option i get a screen with a padlock symbol.

    I have tried my osx password, windows password to no avail, have also tried no password at all.

    If i hold down X to boot direct to OSX i get a black screen with windows options.......

    Anyone have any ideas before i try a full reinstall?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Try holding just the option key you should get a boot menu where you can select Mac or Windows
    Macs G4 DP450 Pismo 400 lombard 333 other stuff

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Camden NSW
    Posts
    816

    Default Bootcamp - Win7 cant reboot into OSX

    Thanks pismo but when I do that I get the padlock screen (which looks distinctly windows rather than osx to me)

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Looks like a reinstall the only other thing to try is your caps lock it may have on when set your password
    Macs G4 DP450 Pismo 400 lombard 333 other stuff

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    4,318

    Default Bootcamp - Win7 cant reboot into OSX

    Quote Originally Posted by lukemc View Post
    Thanks pismo but when I do that I get the padlock screen (which looks distinctly windows rather than osx to me)
    A dark grey padlock on a light grey screen? If it is, your computer has a firmware password you need to enter.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Camden NSW
    Posts
    816

    Default

    Thats exactly it peter wells.

    The next question is what is a firmware password and how do i find out what it is!!

    Is this apple related or windows related?


    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Wells View Post
    A dark grey padlock on a light grey screen? If it is, your computer has a firmware password you need to enter.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    4,318

    Default Bootcamp - Win7 cant reboot into OSX

    Quote Originally Posted by lukemc View Post
    Thats exactly it peter wells.

    The next question is what is a firmware password and how do i find out what it is!!

    Is this apple related or windows related?
    A firmware password is there to stop people from installing an os they shouldn't or rebooting into target disk mode and stealing your data. Most people would never set one, so I assume you bought this mac second hand from a business or school that uses firmware passwords.

    Resetting them is not trivial, but can be done.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0

    Failing that, if you installed the Bootcamp drivers in windows, you should have an option their to boot back into Osx without having to option boot.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Camden NSW
    Posts
    816

    Default

    i bought it second hand off a forum so unsure.

    Ill try the RAM removal........

    thanks for your help

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    178

    Default

    Try BootChamp Download BootChamp for Mac - Quickly boot into Windows via Boot Camp. MacUpdate.com
    Might make it easier. You can use it both ways OSX → Windows & Windows → OSX.
    Last edited by ibarnett; 24th March 2013 at 03:42 PM.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Camden NSW
    Posts
    816

    Default

    Ill grab bootchamp now that i finally got past the firmware issue, i went to grab it yesterday but realised i had to be in OSX to use it and i couldnt get there!!!

    ended up at the penrith genius bar this morning, had them stumped for a while as the PRAM reset keys werent doing anything. They ended up pulling one RAM module only and then trying a reboot with the PRAM keys for 3 chimes, worked a charm and its all back to normal.

    Thanks for all the advice guys
    Last edited by lukemc; 25th March 2013 at 12:49 PM.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Glad to see its solved here a link you may want to look at as has list of all the mac models with the downloads
    Download BootCamp Drivers for Macs to run Windows 7 or 8 | Chris F Carroll
    Macs G4 DP450 Pismo 400 lombard 333 other stuff

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •