PDA

View Full Version : Getting wireless internet advice needed



eni
6th August 2004, 11:53 AM
I'm not tech incompetent but when it comes to wireless and broadband I hit foreign areas.

I'm living with someone (mother) who won't move away from Telstra, though I think would be able to force going to optus. She wants wireless too however and we're splitting the cost so that's okay.

Here we have my powerbook, and two windows PC desktops. At least the powerbook and one of the desktops.

A few questions I'd really appreciate answers to.
1) While certainly not my choice, I'm getting pushes here for the 'BigPond ADSL Home Wireless' self install kit thing. Mainly because it's self install, could be done this weekend and wouldn't require switching to say optus phone to get the cheeper package deal. The problem (other than the speed), will it work with my powerbook? The website says it doesn't support mac, but can anyone verify this? Does anyone have this kit working with macs? I would assume considering wireless networks have standards it would be perhaps just the crappy usb receiver thing which wouldn't work on mac, which it wouldn't need to be as that would be used on the far less used PC(s).

Does anyone have experience with this kit? Does it work with a mac? I know bigponds cable has the heartbeat thing which seems to cause havoc.

2) Is there anyone or any site which could run through getting, say, optus cable getting working wirelessly? I'd need cable installation, wireless cards for the PCs, wireless router and stuff I guess. Networks confuse me, sorry! Optus 'unlimited' cable plan would be my personal preference.

3) Is there another option anyone can recommend? I know there are other providers and personally I'd look at them, but it isn't my house. Though if there really are much better deals elsewhere I'm sure I could work around that...

I think I've forgotten something but I haven't slept in a few days.
Thanks for any help you guys can offer!

eni
6th August 2004, 12:17 PM
Just adding I have searched the forums first, and did find this http://forums.appletalk.com.au/index.php?s...727&hl=wireless (http://forums.appletalk.com.au/index.php?showtopic=727&hl=wireless)
My questions still stand unanswered in my mind however

yinyang
6th August 2004, 01:47 PM
not sure where you're located but these people are an option if you're in sydney...

http://www.unwired.com.au/

i'm just waiting for coverage in brisbane, and by then hopefully they will have ironed out any implementation issues. it means for me that i never have to have a land line again :)

if you decide to go telstra adsl, even though they don't 'support' mac os x it works - i use the wired version on my powerbook (and also on my iMac) through the ethernet port and share with my bro-in-law who uses the usb to his pc.

eni
6th August 2004, 02:16 PM
That unwired service is interesting, but sadly doesn't seem to service my needs. Unless I read it wrong, you still need an external modem connected to your computer and external power which kind of defeats the usefulness for me... I see how it would be great for many commuters however.
Unfortunates too since it seems I have a transmitter 4 doors up...

I mean I could buy a wireless router and all (or whatever is needed) to go ontop of it probably but it's pointless when I can get both adsl and cable right now.

Telstra adsl does actually 'support' osx for their cabled connections, just not their wireless package. And there lies my conundrum...big word :P

eni
6th August 2004, 03:50 PM
Although I'd still like to hear from anyone who has used this bigpond kit with a mac (i'm guessing not...as I've done some research and it seem to really suck :P).

The plan I suppose I was looking at was a bit slow and expensive, and the setup kit seems massively overpriced (plus dubious Mac support). The bigbond kit comes with a SpeedTouch 570 http://shopping.kelkoo.co.uk/sitesearch/go...6fg1.TIG1uk&orw (http://shopping.kelkoo.co.uk/sitesearch/go.jsp?offerId=3982623110001uk3982623-SpeedTouch-SpeedTouch+570+Wireless+ADSL+Router&JServSessionIduk=n0k5ve6fg1.TIG1uk&orw) and for the price of the kit ($459) it seems ridiculously overpriced FOR such an outdated price of hardware.

Searching the forums, I found a couple of recommendations for the Internode ADSL service. They have this plan which looks great to me, for me:
PADSL-512-Unlimited-Red
$59.95 /Month
512k / 128k
12 GB Shaped

Combing that with a Wireless-G ADSL Gateway http://www.linksys.com/international/produ...oid=19&ipid=371 (http://www.linksys.com/international/product.asp?coid=19&ipid=371) would seem like a great solution (I realise I'd need another card for the PCs but I'll cross that bridge later).

I'd really appreciate those people with experience with Internode to give them your thumbs up/down here. Even (or especially) if you were people who recommended them earlier, I'd love to have their service and legitimacy today confirmed again.

===

I would GREATLY appreciate anyones advice, help or even just letting me bounce these ideas off them. I need to get broadband soon, without question. (Truly is a question of need rather than want) Until today I knew nothing about wireless and networking (remind me not to go NETS at uni next semester..), so I'm kind of flying blind here.

Squozen
6th August 2004, 10:46 PM
Telstra ADSL works fine with Macs.


BigPond is not extending wireless support services to Macintosh and older Microsoft operating systems at this point in time.

This just means their barely-trained helpdesk droids won't support you, not that it won't work. Hell, Optus won't support OS 8 and there's stuff-all difference between setting up an OS 8.6 and OS 9 Mac for dialup.

edit: I just joined aaNet this week, going well so far. Too early to recommend them tho.

mbd
7th August 2004, 02:27 AM
Originally posted by eni@Aug 6 2004, 03:50 PM
I'd really appreciate those people with experience with Internode to give them your thumbs up/down here. Even (or especially) if you were people who recommended them earlier, I'd love to have their service and legitimacy today confirmed again.
Two thumbs up for Internode here! I'm using them for a 512/512k link and the service has been reliable and stable since signing on about three months ago.

Currawong
7th August 2004, 10:22 AM
I'll strongly suggest Internode as well - to put it basically, their MD has a G5 and the place was all Macs + BSD when it started (though now they use PC's for some systems). Suffice to say, Mac support is probably the best in the country.

When I first got an Airport base station, I was completely confused, but really, it turned out to be quite simple. In basic terms, a computer connected to a wireless router, such as Airport just has the connection wireless instead of wired. The Airport base station just bridges the connection between the wired network and the wireless one.

The only extra things to learn about wireless networks involve security - that is, encryption method and network passwords (so that people can't easily get access to your network and steal your bandwidth).

decryption
7th August 2004, 10:22 AM
Originally posted by RocketFactory+Aug 7 2004, 02:27 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (RocketFactory @ Aug 7 2004, 02:27 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-eni@Aug 6 2004, 03:50 PM
I&#39;d really appreciate those people with experience with Internode to give them your thumbs up/down here. Even (or especially) if you were people who recommended them earlier, I&#39;d love to have their service and legitimacy today confirmed again.
Two thumbs up for Internode here&#33; I&#39;m using them for a 512/512k link and the service has been reliable and stable since signing on about three months ago. [/b][/quote]
Internode are excellent.
I had their FlatRate 512 ADSL account back at my parents house for over a year and it never missed a beat. I can throughly recommend Internode :)

sillydog701
7th August 2004, 11:36 AM
Seems like Internode does not have fixed IP address for personal plans :-(

Still very happy with my Swiftdsl.

Currawong
7th August 2004, 12:41 PM
Fixed IP isn&#39;t necessary. Connection dropouts are so low that one&#39;s IP virtually never changes anyway.

sillydog701
7th August 2004, 12:45 PM
Originally posted by Currawong@Aug 7 2004, 12:41 PM
Fixed IP isn&#39;t necessary.
No, not necessary, but useful.

eni
7th August 2004, 03:41 PM
I thank everyone here, this has been of great assistance.

I have decided to go with Internode but have two more questions.

1) Does anyone have experience with the Linksys WAG54G Wireless-G ADSL Gateway ( http://www.linksys.com/international/produ...oid=19&ipid=371 (http://www.linksys.com/international/product.asp?coid=19&ipid=371) )? This is the one internode recommends and even sells along with signup (...though I am yet to find a price), however searching the whirlpool forums showed quite a few people with bad experiences with it (well, around 6). Does anyone have a good experience with it? Can anyone offer more of an insight? It comes pre setup if you get it from internode and if it worked it would seem easiest and guaranteed to work and maybe other people who haven&#39;t had problems have just kept quiet about it.

2) Simply, for those who have signed up to internode recently how long did it take between signup to when you were &#39;up and running&#39;?

Currawong
7th August 2004, 10:13 PM
I wouldn&#39;t stress over getting a model of modem/router which Internode recomments. All it means is that they know right off the bat how to configure it and help you over the phone. There are only 4 or 5 primary settings in any modem that are important, the rest have defaults that are almost always fine.

Signup -> getting broadband depends on Telstra, so your milage may vary, as it&#39;s they who have to fix you up at the exchange. For me, it was about 5 days, with them also switching my phone number with someone elses, for which I was not amused.

elvis
8th August 2004, 12:04 AM
I&#39;ve set up a number of clients now using these two routers:

802.11b (11mbit/s):
http://www.netgear.com.au/products/prod_de...rodID=138&view= (http://www.netgear.com.au/products/prod_details.asp?prodID=138&view=)

802.11g (54mbit/s):
http://www.netgear.com.au/products/prod_de...rodID=220&view= (http://www.netgear.com.au/products/prod_details.asp?prodID=220&view=)

Ignore the prices on those pages. You can get them almost half price by shopping around at local computer resellers.

Both work with Telstra BPA login and heartbeat servers (good for Telstra Cable users), and work fine plugged into any standard etherned DSL or cable modem (Don&#39;t get USB-only modems&#33;&#33;&#33;&#33;). Both also include full SPI (Stateful Packet Inspection) firewalls for added security.