PDA

View Full Version : Mac Newbie - do I need AV and firewall software?

boxaman
20th February 2011, 07:06 PM
I have been working wit computers for almost 30 years but never used a mac!

So a simple question what free AV and firewall software do I use. I am used to AVG and MS Security Essentials on the PC.

If I use fusion or parallels, do I install AV in the VM?

Cheers

purana
20th February 2011, 07:46 PM
If I use fusion or parallels, do I install AV in the VM?

Cheers

Yes install AV into a windows guest.. The windows guest is like a windows physical. Prone to the exact same issues.

As to the OSX install, you should be right without both, but I do know people who do install them. I'll let you decide (and allow others to comment on this further)

nibbles
20th February 2011, 08:20 PM
Run Time Machine, in the event that something goes wrong you will have a full backup, useful for HDD failure, etc as well. I don't use antivirus and I don't see a need for it and if something is likely to infect a mac i'd imagine there will be a post about it on 9to5 mac or TUAW about it. The few viruses* that do exist require you to manually install them, they disguise themselves as programs such as an illegal iWork and if you illegally download it and it gets you well that'll teach you for being stingy. Having said that no computer is completely immune from viruses if it is dealing with data from the internet or other computer, a Mac is no exception but having no antivirus is a risk many mac users are willing to take. I'd recommend not wasting your money, buy a 1tb external drive and just backup.

tcimac
20th February 2011, 09:03 PM
Had my own Macs for 6 years now. Never have installed AV or a Firewall

Stez
20th February 2011, 09:20 PM