PDA

View Full Version : iWork or Office

bobsuncle2
3rd February 2011, 12:16 PM
Hi, getting a Mac soon and trying to figure out whether to get iWork or Office

I'm a uni student and all our assignments on submitted online as .doc format with specific formatting requirements (you seriously lose marks if your margins aren't right or it's the wrong font type), and I also have make to make in class presentations using powerpoint on a windows pc.

Am I better off getting Office (though I would very much like to get iWork for the whole 'mac' experience) or can I use iWork? I've read things about formatting going wrong especially converting pages to word docs and am concerned about this mainly. Is there a way you can check your converted files for any formatting errors?

Also, if I need to get Office should I get the 2008 or the 2011 version? I currently use Office 2007 for windows and love it. Is there any bugs or lags associated with any of the mac versions?

Thanks!

Jacko30
3rd February 2011, 12:19 PM
If your formatting needs to be EXACTLY the same then go for Office. I am running 2011 and it is quite nice.

glacierdave
3rd February 2011, 12:49 PM
What Jacko30 said.

If you need Office apps with all that implies (100% compatibility, VBA, etc) then get Office.

If you don't need that level of compatibility and can accept that loading a Word .doc may change formatting and that you won't have macros and other stuff then save some money and get iWork instead.

Either package is very capable in it's own right.

David

gehenna
3rd February 2011, 12:57 PM
In addition to both replies, LibreOffice (http://www.libreoffice.org/) is a great alternative now too, given it's free and pretty mature :)

johnq
3rd February 2011, 01:30 PM