PDA

View Full Version : can ram module from new PB be used in an old PB?



guyb
26th October 2005, 09:08 AM
I'm selling my 3 month old 15inch pb to a friend, and getting myself one of the new ones. I'll be upgrading the ram in my new Powerbook, and wondered if anyone knows whether the pc-4200 RAM stick that comes in the new pb will work if I put it into my "old" pb... a 15inch 1.67.
if so, I'll throw in the 512 for my friend :)

any thoughts would be much appreciated.

psyke
26th October 2005, 09:20 AM
You could always go and look things up ... take Streetwise for a local example. They have a StreetWise memory selector (http://www.streetwise.com.au/memory.php) :

http://www.streetwise.com.au/memory.php

There you can check machines for the type of memory they take. There's plenty of other sites you could use as well. Even Apple's support pages will give you tech specs for recent machines.

In your example, I'm pretty sure the RAM was changed in the latest models so probably not.

Byrd
26th October 2005, 09:25 AM
No it won't work :) The new powerbooks use DDR2 RAM, whilst older models use DDR 333 RAM.

JB

guyb
26th October 2005, 09:58 AM
thanks - was thinking it probably wouldn't work, but thought I'd ask you guys :)
The streetwise selector was my first place to look! but it is not up to date enough.

Suppose I'll find someone to pass the 512 stick on to.

:D