PDA

View Full Version : Question with iTunes library

fca182
21st January 2011, 09:08 AM
Hi guys, I'm new to mac, just got my 21" iMac a few weeks ago. Never used a mac before (always Windows), but I think I'm getting the hang of it pretty well...
So lemme tell you how I like my music files organized and then ask you my question...
In Windows I had a folder named "Music", inside were all the subfolders with the artists names, inside that I usually had 2 more folders, one called Videos where I kept music videos and another called Albums where I kept the albums... sometimes a third folder with a few pics from the artist.
The thing is, (I was using the Zune software as my library and player) I just had to add the main Music folder and Zune would automatically add everything and leave all the original files and folders in the exact same place.
Now my question is, is it possible to that with iTunes? Because from what I've tried until now, it either makes a copy of all my music to the iTunes folder (wasting HDD space) or, moves my files to the iTunes folder (which kinda makes a mess out of everything...
I would hate to re organize everything folder by folder just to keep it tidy (I have about 80gb of mp3s and music videos), so is there any solution?

thanks a bunch!

grfxninja
21st January 2011, 09:15 AM
Open iTunes, then go to iTunes Menu > Preferences
Choose the “Advanced” tab, then set the 3 options as follows:
https://img.skitch.com/20110121-ts3hmgqh1wryi2x653727ui87j.jpg

fca182
21st January 2011, 09:58 AM
Thanks ninja! That worked!

SyncMan
21st January 2011, 01:38 PM
Also to the music folder preference method, you can use the option key just after you launch iTunes to force it to ask you where your music library is.

tcimac
21st January 2011, 06:48 PM
Open iTunes, then go to iTunes Menu > Preferences
Choose the “Advanced” tab, then set the 3 options as follows:
https://img.skitch.com/20110121-ts3hmgqh1wryi2x653727ui87j.jpg

grfxninja,