PDA

View Full Version : Just arrived - new Macbook Pro

Noideanewbie
12th January 2011, 03:17 PM
As my username says - im a total newbie to macs - and my new macbook pro turned up today. Im also a self professed techno retard but im learning!

I bought the ilife/snow leopard/iwork bundle - but im trying to find out what is already on my computer as i was under the impression i had to load these things - yet i can access for eg Garage band already. What is pre-installed on my laptop? (Doesnt help when i ordered it it read to me that nothing was.)
thanks

~Coxy
12th January 2011, 04:05 PM
Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard (includes iTunes, Time Machine, Quick Look, Spaces, Spotlight, Dashboard, Mail, iChat, Safari, Address Book, QuickTime, iCal, DVD Player, Photo Booth, Front Row, Xcode Developer Tools)
iLife (includes iPhoto, iMovie, iDVD, iWeb, GarageBand)

Stez
12th January 2011, 05:04 PM
The only thing you don't have out of all that is iWork, so you wasted your money, go back to the store or ring apple if you ordered online and explain you were under the impression you needed the extra software. Also, if you're a ''techno retard'' you should've used the money on a Macbook Air instead to start off.

ExPC
12th January 2011, 05:43 PM
Gidday Noideanewbie. Welcome to the world of Mac. Better hardware, better software but still same old gherkins on forums. Give yourself a week. Feel your MBR and just explore. I'm an ex-20yr veteran of MS and bought my first MBP just 5 months ago. Best thing I ever did. Don't be put off by MACCIES, Fanboys and Steve Jobs wannabees. Enjoy the technology for what it is......for you!

Stez
12th January 2011, 06:33 PM