PDA

View Full Version : Airport Express and Bigpond Cable



dworld
2nd August 2004, 03:45 PM
Anyone out there got the New Airport Express up and running with Bigpond Cable?

When ever I log on it works fine for a couple of minutes then web page rendering slows to a stop. If I leave it long enough the page will eventually load.

My .Mac email account works fine as does my iDisk so I'm guessing it's a problem with the Heartbeat.

I've followed the instructions bellow which was written for the Airport Base station, but no happiness.

I'm useing Jamie Curmi's Launch

http://homepage.mac.com/kevinvh/

&

http://www.ozcableguy.com/airport.html#launch

dworld
2nd August 2004, 05:46 PM
Well if it helps, this is what I'm getting from the console..

The thing that I find intersting is the listening port is set as 5051 wich shows up on the first line

Auth host = 61.9.192.13:5050
Listening on port 5051

however all following lines show as..

Auth host = 61.9.192.13:5050
Listening on port 0

Anyone know why the listening port has changed to 0 ????



Aug 2 16:34:56 localhost set-hostname[1830]: setting hostname to Dav-Computer.local
Aug 2 16:35:03 localhost bpalogin[1752]: Using local address 10.0.1.201
Aug 2 16:35:03 localhost bpalogin[1752]: Auth host = 61.9.192.13:5050
Aug 2 16:35:03 localhost bpalogin[1752]: Listening on port 5051
Aug 2 16:35:04 localhost bpalogin[1835]: BPALogin v2.0 - lightweight portable BIDS2 login client
Aug 2 16:35:04 localhost bpalogin[1835]: Using local address 10.0.1.201
Aug 2 16:35:04 localhost bpalogin[1835]: Auth host = 61.9.192.13:5050
Aug 2 16:35:04 localhost bpalogin[1835]: Listening on port 0
Aug 2 16:35:04 localhost bpalogin[1752]: Logged on - successful at Mon Aug 2 16:35:04 2004
Aug 2 16:35:05 localhost bpalogin[1835]: Logged on - successful at Mon Aug 2 16:35:05 2004
Aug 2 16:42:05 localhost bpalogin[1835]: Timed out waiting for heartbeat - logging on
Aug 2 16:42:05 localhost bpalogin[1835]: Logged on - successful at Mon Aug 2 16:42:05 2004
Aug 2 16:42:38 localhost kernel: AirPort: Link DOWN
Aug 2 16:42:41 localhost kernel: AirPort: Link UP: "Dav" - ******* - chan 10
Aug 2 16:47:36 localhost bpalogin[1752]: Timed out waiting for heartbeat - logging on
Aug 2 16:47:38 localhost bpalogin[1752]: Logged on - successful at Mon Aug 2 16:47:38 2004
Aug 2 16:49:05 localhost bpalogin[1835]: Timed out waiting for heartbeat - logging on
Aug 2 16:49:05 localhost bpalogin[1835]: Logged on - successful at Mon Aug 2 16:49:05 2004
Aug 2 16:54:38 localhost bpalogin[1752]: Timed out waiting for heartbeat - logging on
Aug 2 16:54:38 localhost bpalogin[1752]: Logged on - successful at Mon Aug 2 16:54:38 2004
Aug 2 16:56:05 localhost bpalogin[1835]: Timed out waiting for heartbeat - logging on
Aug 2 16:56:05 localhost bpalogin[1835]: Logged on - successful at Mon Aug 2 16:56:05 2004

Husq
2nd August 2004, 07:49 PM
Thought telstra dropped the heartbeat about a year ago. Anyway, maybe you can try telstras updated client - link (http://www.bigpond.com/broadband/support/downloads/cableclientupdate/default.asp)

I got a router to handle the bigpond client connection - worthwhile if you have a spare $100 - saves you logging in

Catacaustic
28th October 2004, 03:09 PM
Originally posted by Husq@Aug 2 2004, 07:49 PM
I got a router to handle the bigpond client connection - worthwhile if you have a spare $100 - saves you logging in
What sort of router did you get?? I'm tyrin got find out how ot get BP Cable working through the airort at home. At the moment I've got to have it running through the other PC here, then to the WAN port on the base station to my Powerbook. Sounds good, and works for internet access, but because it's hooked up through the WAN port I can't see the home network :(

I tried to hook up the airport to the cable modem to the PC, but the damned thing just wouldn't find the modem. I'm still looking for a solution that can work for me too.

iain
6th November 2004, 09:20 AM
I have BP cable, and two Airport expresses.

My iMac upstairs is connected to the modem, and my PowerBook downstairs is wireless.

I noticed that I have to be using channel 6 in order for my PowerBook to connect.

I am using the BigPond software to login.

Husq
6th November 2004, 11:14 AM
My router is a Netgear RP614 (bought it from auscableguy). I got it because it has a built in bigpond cable login (which means you don't need to have any bigpond client software on your computer), and I know a few people who also have one and have had no problems.
Note that this router is not wireless (I have an airport connected to it); Netgear do have a wireless version as well.